We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am a flight crew member who regularly stays at this hotel (not by choice) and it is nothing short of awful.
The hotel is extremely dated and in a sketchy neighborhood (shares a parking lot with a pawn shop and gas station). When you walk down the halls, you will also smell a very unusual smell which I am unable to describe.
Although the hotel is a quick 10-15 minute drive to the hotel, the van service is highly unreliable and customer service is nil. I had to go back down to the service desk twice because my room keys didn't work and another time because I was given a room that was not cleaned.
If you decide to stay here, please remember to bring a backup alarm clock if needed because although there are two phones are in the room, they are for decoration only....neither worked.
I would highly suggest paying a couple extra dollars for a much better upgrade as this place is just plain awful.

Room Tip: GO to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services in regards to the room keys and phones not working. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    60
    68
    75
    69
See reviews for
101
96
19
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I must say I was excited to stay at a radisson, but this was a radisson in name only. The room was fairly nice but the building itself was dated and in need of some repairs. Continental breakfast was pitiful and the train behind the hotel sounded like a tornado. The night staff was excellent in their service and that is the best thing I can say. Overall, color me seriously disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We thank you for posting feedback about your recent stay!
We cannot apologize enough if the train disturbed you during your stay, and we certainly regret to hear about your disappointment with the breakfast. We will absolutely address your comments with our team to ensure our guests aren't met with a similar situation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The people at the hotel could not have been nicer. They had a complimentary app buffet at dinner with beer and wine. The property was a bit out of date, but the it was hard to beat for the price. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I booked the room for $59 a night on Hotwire. It was worth that, but my initial joy at having booked a Radisson for that rate was misplaced.

Like other reviewers, I have to say that there was a horrible smell permeating the property. It was unfortunately the strongest in my room. If I had paid full price for the room, I would have been very upset.

There is no longer a free breakfast at this location. I attempted to use in-room dining the last morning of my stay. I had to call the front desk 3 times and never did reach anyone who understood how to accept the order. I had to wait for a return call from the kitchen and I don't think that the person who called fully understood what she was supposed to do either.

Basically, the hotel has a fatal smell and the staff at times seemed very confused. It's not a great location for visiting Charleston either. But...it was only $59 a night and wasn't unsafe or dirty (apart from the odor of course). It was worth what I paid but I will look elsewhere for my next foray to Charleston.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked on Hotwire for $60. It was a $60 hotel. If I paid more I would have been disappointed. The room was clean but had an awful stale-air, stinky feet smell. The bathtub and toilet were old and had some chips out of them but I felt like they were clean. The towels and sheets smelled like bleached laundry so I feel they were clean as well. I think it is just an older hotel and needs updating. They have sleep number beds but it was broken in my room so the bed was stuck on a very firm setting which wasn't particularly comfortable to me. Overall though, it was a good room in a convenient location for the price.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Radisson Hotel for the Cooper Bridge Run. The only complaint I have which is partly mine I guess. I thought the hotel offered shuttle service for the bridge run. But you had to book it thru a certain company which I was unaware of. I had booked thru a third party company and by doing this I wasn't eligible for the shuttle service. So this was the only downfall but it was my fault I should have checked more into that. Otherwise the hotel was great!! The rooms were very nice and spacious, and was very clean. Would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Let me begin by saying I'm a stickler when it comes to Hotels…. I don't stay at just any property. I needed to find a room in North Charleston's airport area on short notice, so I turned to HotWire to help me out. Ended up getting a king room for $64 a night! Upon arriving at the hotel, I was a little worried because the main entrance to the hotel is between a gas station and a title pawn shop… Not exactly ideal. Check in was a breeze; Friendly staff, nice lobby, etc. Got a room on the 8th floor and when I walked in, I was impressed! Nice, large room with a great view! My room was extremely clean and maintained. Updated furnishings, nice flat screen TV, spacious desk area, and comfortable sitting area with a sleeper sofa. The bed was extremely comfortable! The bathroom was a little on the small side, but very nice. The granite countertop and bowl sink were a nice touch.The only problem that I had with this stay was that the A/C wasn't great at cooling my room. I was ironing my pants for the next day and had to crack the door to let some of the hot air escape. I spoke with the front desk about this issue and they were more than accommodating, even offering to bring me a fan.

They were in the midst of a renovation during my stay, but were very courteous about the noise and such.

Overall, I wouldn't think twice about staying at this property again! Great stay for the value!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 810
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Well thank you for the wonderful comments and high praise of the hotel and our team. Guests like you, who appreciate what we do and share their comments for others to benefit, are simply awesome and truthfully it's us that appreciates you! Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport

Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 11:00 am and dinner 4:30 pm to 11 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Radisson North Charleston Airport features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: a complimentary USA Today and local paper weekdays, same day laundry, complimentary laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Charleston Airport
Radisson North Charleston
North Charleston Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.