We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Decatur, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here in Sept. of 2012 when we were taking a cruise. It was great! The room was very nice and the breakfast was fantastic!. The van shuttle to the cruise ship was right on time and we were able to leave our veh. parked in their parking lot while we were gone at no extra charge. We returned to Charleston in July of 2013 just to sight see so we did not stay here because it was not the location we needed. We booked a room at LaQuinta that turned out terrible so we canceled our room and went to the radisson to see if they had a room. They were all booked up but the lady at the front desk went out of her way to help us find another Hotel. She told us to go to the Shearton that had just been remodeled and the price was good. We did and had a great week in charleston. Our trip started out terrible when we got to LaQuinta, but with the great help from the people at Radisson our trip was great!!! Thank you Radisson for going above and beyond what you were hired to do!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay...thank you for sharing your comments. Clean, quiet, convenient, good food, and excellent service...it sounds like it was an all around great experience. We know you have a lot of choices and we really appreciate you choosing our hotel. Thanks for the business and the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    67
    74
    69
See reviews for
101
94
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel has to be the worst in Charleston and does not deserve the right to carry the Radisson's name. When we arrived my first opinion was this is an old hotel but everything in Charleston is pretty old and historic looking. Check in took 20 mins. We got to our room which was very dated. The toilet was stained and the ironing board had falling off the wall. The sleep number beds in the room was broken and stuck on 05 which is unbearable. We requested to change room and got to the other room and realize the sink was backing up. Overall the this hotel was terrible. It truly needs to be torn down.

Sincerely

Ms. Davis

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Also, we are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room, including dirty bathroom and nonworking sleep number bed. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were going on a cruise leaving out of Charleston S. C. We were looking for a hotel with a park and cruise. (free parking for 7 days). We booked this hotel thru "stay123.com". We use them anytime we need to park and fly or park and cruise. Even the hotels themselves will not give you prices as good as stay123.com does. The staff at the reception desk were very friendly nice people. The hotel itself is VERY run down, looks as if no money has been put back into it for years. We were only staying for 1 night with the main feature being the free 7 day parking. There were lots of workman everywhere in the hotel doing repairs. I have a feeling they're going to be there for a long time. We got our hint of what was to be when we were staying at another hotel in Charleston and mentioned we were going to be staying at the Radisson. The receptionist told us, " I think they pulled the Radisson name because the hotel has fallen below Radisson standards." Well it was still called the Radisson, but I'm guessing they were told to fix up or loose the name. Again I'm only guessing this based on what we were told and the poor condition of the hotel. We were on the 8th floor with only 1 elevator working. When the elevator door opened on the 8th floor there was a heavy bad smell, kind of smelled like a heavy calking smell. I feel strongly it was because of the construction going on. The smell was in the entire hallway, but thankfully didn't come in the room. The room itself seemed to be clean and we did get a good night's sleep. There were many things in the room that needed fixing/updating. Bottom line, would I have stayed there again if I had it to do over again. The answer is yes. After all, I was only staying there for 1 night and it was ALL about the free 7 days parking. We were also given a free shuttle ride to and from the cruise port. When the cruise was over we had to wait for about 1 hour for the shuttle ride back to the hotel. We were told one of their vans had broken down. While waiting for this return van some people were getting pretty upset. One guy hired a private van for his family and was yelling that he was going to give the bill to the hotel and make them pay. My wife and I are pretty easy going, no big deal. Stuff happens. At this point I must mention Michael, one of the van drivers, he was a really nice guy with a great since of humor. It was the staff that made me give this hotel a poor rating instead of a terrible rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My bestfriend and i traveled to the this hotel to only discover the best customer service as of yet! Both of the Ashley's who worked the desk were sweet as can be! Andre had the best ideas of where to go on both nights, and was REALLY down to earth! The bartender ashley was very friendly! Jerome was very humerous as well! I can honestly say this is our new location whenever we come back!

Room Tip: Great people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the rave review and for taking the time to share your comments. We're especially pleased to hear that you experienced great service throughout your visit. When we talk about guest satisfaction with our team we talk about ensuring our guests are nothing less than "extremely" satisfied. We appreciate you choosing our hotel. Please come back and visit the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. Working in a hotel myself for 10 years,it was a pleasure receiving great customer service. The hotel staff here is great.....Andre was a gem. He made me feel at home with each encounter. He is very professional and personable. Both Ashley's at the front desk were very professional and went above and beyond to make sure we were well informed. Nick, you have a great staff!!! Me and my friend Quincy felt very at home. We will return only to this property when visiting Charleston. My new home away from home. My birthday weekend was great because of the front desk staff. Can't forget to include Jerome, Ashley in the bar ( i think is her name), and the gentlemen that worked the bar Saturday evening. They were also great!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for sharing such kind comments about the hotel and our team. It's certainly good news that we were able to accommodate your every request. It's very nice of you to acknowledge the service throughout the hotel. We will certainly share your comments with the staff and celebrate the successes with the entire team. We'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We only stayed one night here and it was worth what we paid. Very friendly staff, large clean roon, comfortable bed with large aoft pillows. Free wifi was nice. Wifi is a must in this day and age. We did not use the shuttle so no comments on that. The location is great.

The only complaint we had was:

1. There was a large flat screen HD tv in the room which was nice but the cable was AWEFUL. The was really grainy on every channel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Douglasville, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I just returned from 5 nights at the Radisson. We had a reunion for over 50 shipmates from our ship, the U.S.S. Towers DDG-9. The hotel was under some remodeling and some services were lacking. The lobby restrooms were out of service so the closest ones were across the atrium near the pool. The elevators were in somewhat shoddy repair. Of two, one was known to strand riders mid floor for up to 30 minutes. Plumbing seemed to leak nearly everywhere. We heard of toilets not connected and showers not draining. Our room had a sink leak but it wasn't terrible. Our room phone was out of service the whole time we were there. We had to use our cells to call into the hotel to speak to anyone at the desk. The bright spots were the staff and catering departments. The staff was always pleasant and eager to resolve the issues as best they could. Our last night banquet was very good and well attended. Hopefully when the remodeling is complete this will be a nice hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport

Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 11:00 am and dinner 4:30 pm to 11 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Radisson North Charleston Airport features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: a complimentary USA Today and local paper weekdays, same day laundry, complimentary laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Charleston Airport
Radisson North Charleston
North Charleston Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.