We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My family and I arrived late Wednesday, but the clerk, Sue Ann, was very curteous and accommodating. Sue Ann was expecting our arrival, and got us in our room in time for the kids to take a swim. We enjoyed the night and breakfast.

Room Tip: Try the rooms away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan A, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our excellent staff member SUE ANN! We appreciate your business and hope that you return to our hotel the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    67
    74
    69
See reviews for
101
94
19
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

i've been in and out of charleston for 3yrs. stayed here at the radisson off and on. each trip has been good. my most recent trip that started in April. i was greeted by nick. he took care of my needs when i checked in and has been my go guy ever since. 3 cheers for Nick.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan A, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff of the Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport we thank you for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. I have shared your review with Nick and we appreciate your business and hope that you return to our hotel the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night of a three night stay in North Charleston last month. The experience was absolutely horrible. The friendly and helpful staff is all this hotel has in its favor. The lobby is old and in severe need of renovation. The common areas were consistently dirty and in bad condition. The staff was running a fan and using chemicals to try and mask the unmistakeable smell of mold. I believe they were doing their best to fight a losing battle with their outworn facility. We stayed on the club floor with a king bed. Normally we'd experienced much better quality from Radissons. Having had a wonderful stay at the Radisson in Melbourne, FL a few months ago our expectations were high. This hotel and our room was tatty and dirty - a total disappointment. The bathroom sink was cracked and the caulking everywhere needed to be replaced. The bathroom itself was extremely small and difficult to move around in. The room had the same unpleasant chemical odor as the hallways. The Sleep Number bed did not work and was like sleeping on a rock so we got zero sleep (completely the opposite of our experience in Melbourne, FL).
Due to our observation of the lack of cleanliness and sanitation we elected not to eat in the hotel restaurant for breakfast. Neither did we use the pool as we'd overheard a complaint from a guest who found feces in it.
We think the management/property owners of this hotel need to vastly improve their facility. We'll not stay there again. Fortunately, the front desk staff was very good and the cost of our stay was refunded to us without any problem.
We regretted not having spent our last night in the Marriott Fairfield Inn (also in N. Charleston) where we'd stayed the previous two nights. The Marriott was a much better run property - in a better location, in very good condition. It was a nicer, cleaner and overall more pleasant and comfortable place to stay - a much better value.
Since we've stayed in some very, very good Radisson Hotels, this is not an indictment against this chain entirely. Our overall experience is that Radisson's are much more inconsistent in quality than most - regardless of the level of hotel within the group. We really think also that if they stay with the Sleep Number beds they need to make sure they are in good working order - or get rid of them entirely.
We'd give this hotel a negative rating if TripAdvisor would allow it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for your business! We will be updating our public spaces and guest rooms starting in July 2012. We look forwarded to having you return in the future to experience our updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I wanted to point out that upon arriving I was greeted by Sue Ann at the front desk . She is very professional and friendly . Knows how to do her job and does it well . Every hotel needs a Sue Ann who treats the guest well .
I have stayed here many times and must say that the hotel is improving.
Keep up the good work.
Managers reception is also a great addition . The staff running it is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan A, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our TripAdvisor celebrity Sue Ann she is a tremendous asset to our operation. Also, thank you for joining us for our evening Managers Reception I hope that you return to our hotel the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Constanta, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

First of all , I must mention that I'm coming for the 3rd time and the first thing I would like to see entering the lobby is the smile of Sue Anne. Very kind person, she is doing always her best to help solving our wishes. My words are not enough describing her hospitality.
She is one of the most pleasant persons I ever met around the world Radisson hotel's network.

I'll be happy to come back anytime, any season to spend my time in this place.

Succes!

Chelmambet Dogan,
Universal Marine,
The Netherlands

Room Tip: rooms to the spa and swimming pool are more quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan A, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Sue Ann is one of our most valued hotel family members and it’s a pleasure to work with her. We appreciate your business and hope that you return to our hotel the next time you are in the area. I will let Sue Ann know about your awesome comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I just spent the weekend at this hotel, the accomodations were clean and comfortable, the pool and spa were great, but the front desk clerk who checked us in was by far the most pleasant and helpful young lady we have ever encountered. If first impressions mean anything, she nailed it. Although the counter was busy, she was never flustered, never lost her smile, and had us checked in within minutes. Although the first room didn't have a sleep number bed, as soon as we asked we were moved to one which did. We had never been to Charleston, and we asked for directions, and again, Sue Anne was on the spot with directions and a local point of view of which beach was more "family" oriented and more "party" oriented. When we returned she greeted us, still smiling, by name. We contacted the manager on duty, and told him how pleased we were, and when we came out for supper later, it turned out he was also the chef on duty, he not only was pleased to hear his employees had done a good job, he cooked an excellent chicken breast to top our ceasar salad, which had a distinctive southwest type flavor. We are already planning a return trip in two weeks, and would not even consider staying at another establishment. Wait for afternoon /early evening to check in though, Sue Anne will make it worth the wait with her true southern hospitatlity. Cant say enough good about her or her manager. Bill and Anna Gray, Atlantic Beach FL

Room Tip: we were next to pool on bottom floor, no excessive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan A, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Sue Ann is one of our most recent additions to our hotel family and It’s a pleasure to work with her on a daily bases. Her attitude and southern hospitality is part of her amazing charm! Thank you for your review of Carlos our Chef he is an asset to our staff not only as an awesome Chef but as a manager. We appreciate your business and hope that you return to our hotel the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, nc
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of the Radisson Big Night giveaway since we were eager to visit Charleston. Unfortunately, we experienced most of the other reviewers commented on. They have a great staff, friendly & professional, yet the hotel itself needs a major renovation. All of the carpets are stained - hallways and room, multiple large stains throughout. The sleep number remotes didn't work. We were in a room with 2 double beds and neither remote worked, but the beds were broken at the 'cement hard' number. It was also very distasteful seeing the amount of crud that was around those remote buttons also, as I desperately tried to get them to work. Those things that drape the end of the beds were stained, and I had to pull those right off so not to be reminded how low this place had gotten. And yes, as others have mentioned, Housekeeping starts knocking on every door at 8:30-9:00 am, completely ignoring the 'Do Not Disturb' signs on the door (on a Sunday morning). It's not one room at a time, but every single room on the floor, so it's already disturbed you by the 3rd room and we could hear her as she marched down the hallway until she reached us at the end. There are tons of hotels around the airport and the outlet mall one exit down - stay away from this place. Am giving 1 extra star ONLY for the points we got for enduring the stay and for the staff (except the housekeeping lady who should be fired)

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan A, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your business! We will be updating our public spaces and guest rooms starting in July 2012. We look forwarded to having you return in the future to experience our updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport

Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 11:00 am and dinner 4:30 pm to 11 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Radisson North Charleston Airport features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: a complimentary USA Today and local paper weekdays, same day laundry, complimentary laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Charleston Airport
Radisson North Charleston
North Charleston Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.