We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Stepping Into Ireland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madra Rua

Madra Rua
1034 E Montague Ave, North Charleston, SC
843.554.2522
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Like Stepping Into Ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a small, low-key bachelor party here in January 2013 because it is the grooms favorite bar. Very cool place – like stepping right into Ireland. The place just feels authentic with dark woods and low ceilings, bench seating in some areas. We took over a small back room themed around soccer (football) and asked if the staff could turn on the BCS Bowl Game (I’d expected them to say no because it was a soccer room, but the staff changed it for us).

Our group sampled a wide array of beers along with baskets of appetizers – mostly of the fried variety. Food was good pub food and portions were generous. I see why the bachelor likes this place so much. I would certainly be a regular if I lived in the area

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charleston, sc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dark and unaccommodating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had lunch here after reading the hype about their fabulous rare burgers. Come to find out they would not cook burgers to order during lunch because they are too busy. The place is dark, hard to find a decent place to sit. Service? We felt like we weren't anyone special, or even there most of the time. Not going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Still a great bargain.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I visited the Madra again. I go there often for after office relaxation, but this time we ate supper. My, what a nice experience. I had the fish and chips. Great portions, cooked perfectly, and not overloaded with dipping (the outer covering). The fish was well seasoned, and was piping hot. My partner had the lamb stew, and was most delighted. Well seasoned, full of stuff, and the lamb was not overcooked. They must put the meat in just before serving it, as it was tender. Overcooked lamb is difficult even for a tiger to chew. We had a few beers, Guiness at the end, and they were cold and refreshing. The folks down there are always nice and courteous, even when overloaded. I hope the non smoking side grows to be the entire place. The one in Summerville has a better divider from Smokers to Non Smokers, and I think that is great. Summerville is about to make smoking inside totally prohibited. I'll be happy with that. Visit Madra whenever you want a good meal at a reasonable price. Happy Hours are packed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Want to feel like you are in Ireland?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If this were downtown, there would be a line out of the door constantly.
'Great for sitting with your favorite person/people, drinking, eating, in an atmosphere that makes you feel like you are definetly in Ireland. The Shepherd's Pie is dangerous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely live the Irish Eggs Benedict
And 2 egg breakfast was excellent.

But the SCONES are the only reason one needs to make eating at Madre Rua a must.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madra Rua also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Madra Rua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madra Rua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.