We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beer and Pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evo Pizza

Evo Pizza
1075 E Montague Ave, North Charleston, SC 29405-4825
843-225-1796
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Pizza, Vegetarian, Bar, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer and Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

EVO and the area around it is a treasure in otherwise sketchy North Charleston. Room is limited, but if you can clinch a spot, it's an intimate and fun experience. Very local, very personal, very good! Pizza and beer seems so basic, but it's great if someone does it very well. Great craft brew selection (local beers too) and delicious pizza where you don't feel disgusting afterwards. Customize the limited menu items to your liking. Been there twice now and would go again. It's off the beaten path, but if you are staying in the North Charleston area, skip Fatz Cafe, Red Lobster and Co. and support this local treasure. It won't cost you and arm and a leg and you can actually create some unique memories of Charleston. If the line is too long, go to Jim'n Nick's or Sesame next door.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    76
    27
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pretty Good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Walking around the revitalized North Charleston area, and found EVO. Fairly small layout...maybe 50 people max. Limited wait area, but the bar is as good a place as any.

Menu was pretty good with a good selection of apps, salads, and pizzas. Beer selection was also top notch with local offerings and farther away bottle selections. Had a few wine selections as well.

Can highly recommend the mac and cheese app...really, really good! Warm, all kinds of awesome cheeses, and breadcrumbs for some crunch. An excellent find. Also went with the pork trifecta pizza. Overall, a pretty good pie. Tons of toppings, and the cheeses they used were great. We thought the dough was maybe a little too thin. Not horrible, but for a thin crust, this was thin of the thin. Not far from a toasted pita or something similar. It also seemed to take forever for the pizza to come out. Granted they were a bit busy, it still seemed to take a long time...~30 minutes or so.

Overall, a pretty cool little pizza place. Have had better stone fired pizzas, but for a quick bite and good beer EVO fits the bill. Will certainly visit again to try more of the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always so delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Although the pizzas are fabulous, our favorite items at EVO are the salads and whatever is on the specials menu. Last time, we had roasted sweet potatoes with candied nuts and kale - YUM. The salads always taste like they came straight of the garden (which is basically the truth) and ruins you for any other salad except those of 5 star restaurants. The only downside is if you're looking for a traditional pizza loaded with cheese. EVO's pizzas are super thin crust with fresh toppings, but not a lot of cheese or typical red sauce options.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Knock you socks off pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

WOW! A great find. We are from out of town and I found this place due to their great reviews and they deserved all of them. Reasonable, great atmosphere and really good food. For dessert we had their Goat Milk Fudge. We went back and got more and before leaving town went back again and got some for family back home. It is a little hard to find. The area is not lit as well as it could be. We had their special. All ingredients from local growers and farms. It was really a knock your socks off pizza. I ask for dipping sauce for the crust. It was fresh and oh so good. We will go again when in Charleston!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“MY NEW FAVORITE PIZZA SPOT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wow! i read about this place and had to try it! i had really high expectations because of reviews and pictures but wow it was so much better then i thought i had the Pork Trifecta it was amazing i literally looked over to my wife and told her " I feel like im eating pizza for the first time !" my wife had the pistachio pizza and it was amazing as well. They also have an amazing craft beer selection which is perfect because who doesn't love pizza and beer!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evo Pizza also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina

Been to Evo Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evo Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.