We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall the Doubletree Hotel was very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7401 Northwoods Boulevard, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall the Doubletree Hotel was very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The furnishings and condition of the Doubletree room surpassed most others in similar class. The flat screen tv's that were mounted on the wall are a great touch. I had a little glitch upon arrival. The first room had beer bottles under the table and a dirty bathroom I was immediately switched to a clean room. It was very nice. I didn't encounter any other issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are glad to that your stayed turn out to be what you expected. We do apologize that the first room your were checked in to was not up to your or DoubleTree by Hilton standards. We have addressed the issue cleanliness with our housekeeping staff, so we do not have that situation again. Thanks again for the pleasant words. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport
843-518-6200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    84
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
104
78
10
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Between the entire staff being incredibly friendly and efficient and the hotel's beauty and cleanliness, our stay couldn't have been more enjoyable. Despite being at a hotel during the holidays, the staff provided top notch service whenever and wherever needed. The clean and roomy fitness center was generously stocked with the latest of exercise equipment and amenities. The buffet breakfast had lots of yummy and healthy foods yet the wait staff was always willing to have the chef make a favorite to order. I will highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We really appreciate the kind review about the DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport. Our staff has trained and works very hard to reach the service that Hilton properties have been known for. We also agree that our menu has a nice variety for all types of pallets. We love all recommendations, and really enjoy reading kinds words like yours.

Sincerely,

Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport
843-518-6200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nathan at the Front Desk is awesome. We have stayed here twice and the second time we were upgraded to a suite that was really nice. I agree the area is not the best but the parking lot is very well lit. My major gripe is why a hotel of this class would provide guests with such cheap toilet paper? I don't think I have ever stayed at a hotel that uses the quality of toilet paper that we had in our suite. Breakfast was ok, the staff was neither friendly or helpful. But I would still recommend this hotel, just take your own toilet paper!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I were in Charleston to attend a wedding at Runnymeade plantation. Since we are not Kanye and Kim, we didn't want to stay downtown and spend $400 for a so-so hotel. Since we were renting a car, we decided we didn't mind staying further away and getting a nicer hotel.

I am so glad we choose DoubleTree for a few reasons:
1. Location - I know there are some complaints about the blah area, but unless you came to Charleston to do extensive sightseeing then who cares. The area is sort of industrial and drab but once you are inside the hotel you forget about all that. Which leads me to...

2. Decor - lobby was clean and actually kind of beautiful. Someone took some extra time to make this place look very modern and elegant. A big screen is in front with some cozy chairs, nice little bar/restaurant area, and some other amenities.

3. Service - EXCELLENT. Reggie helped us the entire stay and not only was he attentive and awesome (when we were eating at the bar, the bartender told us a round of drinks was on Reggie!) but he upgraded us to a suite for no apparent reason other than he is awesome. Our bartender was friendly, helpful, and courteous. Every person I encountered during our stay went above and beyond the call of duty.

4. The room - great suite. New furniture and appliances. The bathroom had plenty of room for two people and the bed was very comfortable. No complaints about the room whatsoever. Any time we needed anything, we called down and were promptly helped.

5. The pool! - Yeah, the pool does back up to the freeway but I SWEAR you forget about this as soon are you relaxing. I went down to the pool for a few hours to read a magazine and hang out and it was great. I even tried out the pool and it was clean and well kept. There are these cute cabanas with cozy couches and chairs - a nice touch. Also - there is a firepit and chairs outside near the pool area which was a nice addition to this area. Very cozy but still large enough to have a bunch of people out there at one time.

6. Food - the food at the bar was actually pretty good! I was pleasantly surprised. Not a 5 star restaurant by any means but definitely better than a local chili's.

What else is there to say? This hotel is affordable, clean, easy on the eyes and has GREAT service. As I mentioned earlier, I quickly forgot about the surrounding area once I was inside the hotel because they treated us like we were royalty. I don't know about you, but I'd rather stay somewhere that treats me well, that is clean and kept up than stay at a place that costs triple and I am treated like some annoying tourist.

Two thumbs up all the way. Thanks, Reggie, for making our Charleston trip extra amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Mrs. Dana B,
Thanks so much for the thoughtful review about the DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport. We love the design of our new property, especially the new décor. Our pool and fire pit area have been a big hit with our guest. We agree with you %100 about Reggie, he is very helpful and cares about each and everyone of our guest. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport
843-518-6200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel staff was great. The layout of the hotel was very appealing because my kids really enjoyed the fire pit outside. It had a great bar and dining area. It was very conveniently located for the activities that we were involved in during our stay. Easy to get into parking lot from interstate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Mr. Walter P,
Thanks so much for the positive feedback. The DoubleTree by Hilton ensures that we upheld the standards that they set for us. We think the fire pit was an awesome feature to the fantastic pool area. The next time you come visit us the children would love Frankie’s fun park, which is located right down the street from us. It has putt-putt, batting cages, and an arcade. We deeply appreciate the great review.


Best Regards,
Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This property is still brand new, mordern, and very chik. I appreciated the 5 star service from the front desk manager, Nathan, who was very down to earth and quick to make you feel at home! They give you free out of this world Double Chocolate Chip Cookies with nuts. The bar area is the perfect place to watch a football game and just hang out with friends. I liked the fact it is central area of North Charleston, SC and right next to the interstate/very convenient. I really liked the crystal kryptonite decor in the breakfast area. I thought, I was on the set of "Superman". The breakfast buffet was delicious especially the southern grits and oatmeal. I will definitely be back to this Double Tree and tell all my colleagues. I suggest you check out this awesome new property...

Room Tip: The corner suite on the third floor is heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for the very kind review about the DoubleTree By Hilton Charleston Airport.
Most every guest is in agreement with you about how wonderful the warm chocolate chip and walnut cookie. We work really hard on giving the best customer service that is possible. Thanks so much for the great review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,

Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This property appears to be a remodel of an older hotel. However, they have spent extensive time and care to make an excellent property. I have no complaints with our suite. Spacious room, great TV's, comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom. No problem recommending the DoubleTree, N. Charleston!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review about the DoubleTree By Hilton Charleston Airport. Our property is a new remodel; we have only been open for a little under a year. We have had a lot of complements about the design and layout of our hotel. Thanks again for the thoughts.

Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport

Address: 7401 Northwoods Boulevard, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new DoubleTree by Hilton full service hotel, located right off I-26. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.