We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7401 Northwoods Boulevard, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, United States
1 review
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I would recommend this hotel and Doubletree hotels in particular. Very professional and clean everything. I would most certainly stay there again whenever I head down to Charleston, South Carolina. I really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherylakluge, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review on your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport.
The entire staff strives to deliver excellent guest service and we are glad you were pleased with our efforts.
Your review will be shared with the entire staff.
We look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again.
Sincerely
Sheryl Kluge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    97
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
119
95
13
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel does not look all that great on the outside, but the rooms are very nicely decorated and the bathroom was very spacious. The lack of housekeeping service was extremely disappointing since most people like hotels for this reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherylakluge, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport. I sincerely apologize that our housekeeping department did not fulfill their part in making your stay enjoyable. Your concerns have been addressed with the department.
We are working on improving the outside appearance of the hotel and by the end of the year there will be many improvements. With the landscaping so new it all still looks bare which also takes away from the overall appearance.
We invite you to try us again and I am sure we will exceed your expectations; in the meantime I again offer our sincerest apologies.
Sincerely
Sheryl Kluge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were really impressed with the quality, cleaness and very large suites, the largest we have ever stayed in. The Aviation motif was really pleasing. The hotel manager and all his staff were extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. When you have a stay in Charleston don't pass up this hotel. We moved here from a Marriott Residence Inn in downtown Charleston that was much higher in price and very small and not so clean. We stayed nine nights at this Double Tree Inn and enjoyed every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherylakluge, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport.
The entire staff is dedicated to providing excellent service and is proud of our Award winning hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt at home here. Your review will be shared with the entire staff.
We look forward to seeing you when you visit Charleston again.
Sincerely
Sheryl Kluge
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Have to say that the location of this hotel is strange (between tire places etc), but the overall quality of hotel was very very nice. Very clean and updated. Our room did NOT face the interstate and faced the parking lot - which I would recommend. We never heard any airplanes or other outside noise. We had a suite and it was fabulous - very large, beautiful attention to detail, fabulous bathroom with large walk-in shower (no tub), cool lighting etc. My only complaint was the very loud a/c unit in the room. Maybe it was designed that way to drown out the cars/plane noise? Certainly didn't keep us up and kept the room very cool. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room facing AWAY from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherylakluge, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport.
We are pleased you found our spacious suites to be of your liking. We are proud of our new hotel and have just been awarded the Hilton Design of the Year Award.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area.
Sincerely
Sheryl Kluge
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed @ this hotel for one night before checking into another hotel... Mistake. The only reason we choose this hotel was for the nice pool/area. Only after we changed and checked in were we informed via sign that the pool was closed. 3 employee's watched us walk down to the pool with a smirk on thier faces. Not a great area, but hotel was ok. Breakfast was awful.. A Super 8 motel experience. Not a Hilton one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherylakluge, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport. We take all reviews seriously and use them as training tools and ways to improve our hotel.
Unfortunately our pool was broken by a guest and needed to be repaired as the missing piece of step was a danger to our guests. We did have arrangements with the Hampton that allowed our guests to use their pool and we shuttled our guests there. I am sorry you were not informed of the closed pool and the option to enjoy the Hampton’s pool. I am sure it was frustrating and the staff has been addressed about your experience.
We are disappointed to hear you found our full breakfast buffet to be not up to expectations and this has also been addressed.
We are sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay and would like you to give us another try when you visit Charleston again so you can see our improvements.

Sincerely
Sheryl Kluge
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Yes, this is a nice, updated hotel. However, I would recommend you check that your room does not face the Interstate. It was beyond noisy. I live in a city and can handle noise, but if you don't enjoy the sound of idiots zooming buy at 90mph at 2AM just outside your window, then call ahead and request a room on the opposite side of I-26.

Also, when we were there (late June) the pool was not open, which was a real let down. Management told us that "someone broke it." I'm not really sure how someone can break a hotel pool, but OK. Charleston in the summertime is steamy, so a pool would have been nice.

Otherwise the beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and it is only about a 10-15 minute drive to downtown Charleston.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing I-26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherylakluge, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport.
Our convenient location right off Interstate 26 makes us ideal for easily exploring all Charleston attractions and unfortunately may also cause noise issues for some of our guests. Our staff is trained to offer the option of moving to a different location if the guest is not comfortable.
Unfortunately our pool did end up with a piece broken off the step which was a safety hazard so we had no option but to close it down and although we made arrangements with the Hampton for our guests to use their pool I am sure it was frustrating as it warm here. I apologize that you were unable to enjoy our pool during your visit.

We invite you to give us another try when you are in this area again.
Sincerely
Sheryl Kluge
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

When arriving at the doubletree, the outside of the hotel looks dated (it was recently converted from an older hotel to a doubletree). However, once we got inside, we found the decor very modern and comfortable. Our room was very clean with good amenities. However, that is not why I'm writing this review...

During our stay, we brought food with us. The hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need. For example, we brought cold packs with us for lunchboxes, and while our hotel room fridge did not have a freezer, the staff allowed us to put our cold packs in the freezer in their pantry which was a huge blessing. EVEN more helpful, one evening we brought back some food which we realized needed to be pan fried before being eaten. The staff was willing to cook our food in the restaurant kitchen as long as things weren't too busy. They did a great job, and it made our evening. We just wanted to let everyone know how the staff went above and beyond to exceed our expectations.

If the exterior hotel structure was more modern, we would have given it five stars...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherylakluge, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review on your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport.
The entire staff of the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport is committed to the Doubletree promise that: We provide the special comforts and acts of kindness that make the traveler feel human again.” We also believe “The little things mean everything “and your comments give our staff the knowledge that their efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Sheryl Kluge
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport

Address: 7401 Northwoods Boulevard, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new DoubleTree by Hilton full service hotel, located right off I-26. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.