We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Bet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2470 Prospect Street, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #27 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Good Bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Definitely worth a repeat stay. Hotel is near the hotel and family dining options, but tucked around the corner in a cul de sac. Indoor pool, better than expected breakfast and apparent newer room furnishings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    21
    18
    19
See reviews for
57
37
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on August 25, mainly to take advantage of the free airport shuttle. The facility appeared clean and fairly nice. The TV did not work and a maintenance staff fixed the issue very quickly. Before I went to sleep, I found a small bug crawling on the bed. I killed it and didn't think much of it. Later, I looked up pictures of bed bugs and positively identified the bug I found as a bed bug. I reported this to Best Western today.
Other issues included limited airport shuttle. Since my flight was at 7:35, I was not able to use the free shuttle which was a big disappointment. The hotel staff reserved a cab the night before but the cab was half an hour late the next morning. Hotel staff seemed unconcerned that I was very close to missing my flight. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greta P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your patronage and thank you for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor members.

On the hotel shuttle issue, it would have been gracious if you had also mentioned that the hotel not only arranged for alternate transportation due to our shuttle’s unavailability that morning but also paid for that transportation to the airport. We fully understand the needs of our many airport guests and do everything within our power to ensure that this hotel benefit is delivered one way or the other.

As for the live bed bug that you claim to have found in your room, it is helpful to know that our hotel has a very aggressive policy when it comes to this most serious issue, which is a major dilemma affecting many hotels nationwide. We have been under a substantive contract with one of the leading companies in the industry in ensuring that our hotel is and remains free of these harmful nuisances. The local climate and environment of Charleston (warm, humid and natural) produces its share of pests and insects. Sand fleas are a common pest throughout the region, especially in the sandy coastal areas, and are often mistaken for bed bugs because of their very small size. They also bite a little (no fun), but are nowhere near the issue indoors that bed bugs can create.

We’re pleased to know that you suffered no ill effects from any pest issue, and in the end it does sound like you made your flight on time. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide our usual outstanding guest service the next time that you are in the area.

Thank you.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The property is clean and well kept. Our 1st room was clean and beautiful. The second room was nice but had some wierd smells. I reserved a excutive suite with a second room. We arrived at the hotel road wary from hours of travel. We were met with much confusion, our room was ocupied. This set the tone for the entire weekend. We were given a double queen with a pull out and it was lovely. The next day we were informed we had to move to the original reservation and we did after several other mishaps. The 2nd room was dark and smelly. The pull out was badly strained, we were afraid to have my grandson sleep there. Our bedroom was nice and roomy. Not a bad hotel
However, the manager and the staff (except one we named Evil Lena) went out of their way to return us to a state of satisfaction. I would stay here again just to give them another chance to get it right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

As Best Western properties go, this one isn't bad. It is clean and appears to have been recently updated (although there still are insuficient power outlets near the desk and bedside) Rooms feature a microwave and a refrigerator. Staff is friendly and there are restaurants adjacent so it is easy to find food.

The down side, sadly, is the most important piece of furniture in a hotel. The bed. While comparible brands (Hampton, Holiday Inn Express) have all gone to extremely high quality, pillow top mattresses... this BW has gone the Fred Flintstone route instead. The mattress was extremely firm... like sleeping on a piece of stone. Linens were thin as well. Or, more accurately, trying to sleep on a piece of stone. I had a terrible time getting to sleep, woke up tossing and turning in the middle of the night, and woke with a terrible back ache.

So just be aware that if you like firm mattresses you will probably be happy here, otherwise you may want to look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Compared to all the other comparable hotels in North Charleston, this hotel had the best rates. The staff is friendly, the hotel is clean, and the breakfast is ample and varied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel calls itself the airport inn & suites. Folks, this place is nowhere near the airport! We were flying in from CA for a family wedding. We arrived after 11:30 PM. I had picked this hotel because they had a shuttle. Plan was to spend the night then return to airport in the AM for car rental and drive to Aiken. Well, the shuttle only runs until 11 PM. The taxi to the hotel cost us $40. It would have been more but the cab driver got hopelesssly lost trying to find the place and did not charge us the entire fee.

Next morning, after perusing the breakfast bar, we decided that the Cracker Barrel next door would be a better deal. Really crummy food, even if it's free, is still crummy. At least CB had fresh fruit!

Otherwise this hotel is just a generic hotel. It's clean. It's reasonably quiet. That's about all that can be said about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was a new, great hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was large. It is in a great location, only 15 minutes to Charleston, without the Charleston price. Close to eating establishments and easy to find! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Address: 2470 Prospect Street, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Airport Inn and Suites is conveniently located just off Interstate-26 at Exit 209,Ashley Phosphate Road, only six miles away from Charleston International Airport. The Best Western Airport Inn and Suites in North Charleston offers guests many comforts such as free wired and wireless Internet, in room refrigerators and microwaves, 32-inch flat screen LCD television, coffee makers, iron and ironing board and offers different types of rooms and suites to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel North Charleston
Best Western North Charleston
North Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.