We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hit some snags” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2470 Prospect Street, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We hit some snags”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The property is clean and well kept. Our 1st room was clean and beautiful. The second room was nice but had some wierd smells. I reserved a excutive suite with a second room. We arrived at the hotel road wary from hours of travel. We were met with much confusion, our room was ocupied. This set the tone for the entire weekend. We were given a double queen with a pull out and it was lovely. The next day we were informed we had to move to the original reservation and we did after several other mishaps. The 2nd room was dark and smelly. The pull out was badly strained, we were afraid to have my grandson sleep there. Our bedroom was nice and roomy. Not a bad hotel
However, the manager and the staff (except one we named Evil Lena) went out of their way to return us to a state of satisfaction. I would stay here again just to give them another chance to get it right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    14
    15
    17
See reviews for
41
30
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

As Best Western properties go, this one isn't bad. It is clean and appears to have been recently updated (although there still are insuficient power outlets near the desk and bedside) Rooms feature a microwave and a refrigerator. Staff is friendly and there are restaurants adjacent so it is easy to find food.

The down side, sadly, is the most important piece of furniture in a hotel. The bed. While comparible brands (Hampton, Holiday Inn Express) have all gone to extremely high quality, pillow top mattresses... this BW has gone the Fred Flintstone route instead. The mattress was extremely firm... like sleeping on a piece of stone. Linens were thin as well. Or, more accurately, trying to sleep on a piece of stone. I had a terrible time getting to sleep, woke up tossing and turning in the middle of the night, and woke with a terrible back ache.

So just be aware that if you like firm mattresses you will probably be happy here, otherwise you may want to look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Compared to all the other comparable hotels in North Charleston, this hotel had the best rates. The staff is friendly, the hotel is clean, and the breakfast is ample and varied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel calls itself the airport inn & suites. Folks, this place is nowhere near the airport! We were flying in from CA for a family wedding. We arrived after 11:30 PM. I had picked this hotel because they had a shuttle. Plan was to spend the night then return to airport in the AM for car rental and drive to Aiken. Well, the shuttle only runs until 11 PM. The taxi to the hotel cost us $40. It would have been more but the cab driver got hopelesssly lost trying to find the place and did not charge us the entire fee.

Next morning, after perusing the breakfast bar, we decided that the Cracker Barrel next door would be a better deal. Really crummy food, even if it's free, is still crummy. At least CB had fresh fruit!

Otherwise this hotel is just a generic hotel. It's clean. It's reasonably quiet. That's about all that can be said about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was a new, great hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was large. It is in a great location, only 15 minutes to Charleston, without the Charleston price. Close to eating establishments and easy to find! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

On the 2nd leg of our trip from the Great Garden State to Hilton Head, SC, we spent a night at the Best Western Airport Motel in North Charleston. It was a 7 ½ hour drive from our previous location in Williamsburg, VA and we arrived late in the day. We booked the reservation online through Orbitz and received an email confirmation of our reservation. Upon plugging the address on our confirmation into the vehicle navigation system, we learned that the street didn’t exist. My guess is that the street didn’t exist in 2008 when my navigator software was installed. (Guess I should have spent the $150 for the updated maps Honda offers.) Anyhow, I called the hotel and was given an alternate address which was close to the motel. The specific directions were “We’re located just behind the Cracker Barrel restaurant.” Given all these hints, we found the motel nestled in a little cul-de-sac with 2 other motels. The lobby was very small. Our first disappointment was that there were none of the usual amenities – no coffee urn, no tea, no newspapers, no cookies. I guess you’d call it bare bones. Upon checking in we had our 2nd disappointment. I was informed that my “Best Western” motel club card was not valid because my reservation was not booked directly. LESSON LEARNED - Apparently if you book through Orbitz, or Expedia or any other similar online service, you cannot accumulate Best Western club points.

The room was clean but had the odor of cleaning materials - kind of a bleach smell. The air conditioning unit seemed to have some kind of governor on it. It was very warm when we arrived. We set the thermostat to 68 degrees to cool the room. Every 10 minutes the unit would shut down and then just as spontaneously, it would turn on a few minutes later. You would think with the thermostat set so low, that it would work continuously. We left it set very low and went out for dinner. Our thinking was that if the room didn’t cool off, we’d ask for a change when we returned from dinner. Upon returning from dinner the room temp was tolerable…but still not down to the setting. We were tired from the long day of driving, and decided it was “good enough.” The next morning we had another “surprise.” The wall mounted hair dryer didn’t work. I went down to the front desk to report the problem and ask for a portable dryer. Good News, Bad News! Yes they had a portable dryer, but we’d have to wait till 8:30 for the housekeeping staff to arrive. They had sole possession of the locked cabinet in which it was kept. Of course that didn’t mesh well with our scheduled early departure. My wife skipped her hair washing and we entered the dining area for our complimentary buffet breakfast. In a word, I would characterize the offering as adequate. There was nothing special about it. The scrambled eggs were cooked dry, there was no yogurt and the fruit salad came from a large can. The most popular item was the make-it-yourself waffle iron. Many people were partaking of that.

In summary, I would not recommend this motel. Though the staff is friendly, they are not particularly accommodating or empowered. (The manager can’t even open the housekeeping cabinet) The amenities were quite sparse and certainly well below those offered by competing motels in the same price range. If you ever happen to find yourself in Room 306 at this motel, send me an email and let me know if the hair dryer was fixed!

For dinner we drove into the tourist area of Charleston. It was about 11 miles and a 20 minute drive from the motel. Upon arriving in Charleston we found a parking lot ($2.00 per hour seems to be the going rate all over town). We walked through the Market Street vending area which is set up like an indoor flea market with numerous interesting vendors selling clothing, jewelry, handicrafts, puzzles, food, etc. Unfortunately we didn’t get there until 4 PM and many of the venders were closing down for the day. Upon the recommendation of one of the vendors, we decided to try a local favorite for dinner. Located on Meeting Street just 2 blocks north of Market Street, Hyman’s restaurant was a short walk from the shopping area. It’s a very popular informal dining establishment with a sterling reputation as one of Charleston’s gems. Its walls are adorned with photos and plaques of the many celebrities they have hosted. I saw a plate signed by Jimmy Buffett and we sat a table that once hosted Yitzhak Pearlman. Hyman’s has been recognized 9-times by Southern Living as one of Charleston’s best. I would characterize it as affordable, informal, down-home, low-country cooking at its finest. With a coupon we received a ½-price dish of exceptionally good, home-made crab dip as an appetizer. This came with a complimentary plate of delicious hush puppies. For entrees, I had their signature fried flounder served with Cole Slaw, French Fries, and more hush puppies. The flounder is scored with a knife, the head removed and the body deep fried (skin and all). Because of the score marks, the fish falls apart with a little nudging from a fork. After you eat one side you turn it over and eat the other. It was an unusual preparation method, a very large and tasty meal. My wife enjoyed some well-made, meaty crab cakes as well as a healthy portion of my flounder. The dinner was delicious. Our server, Ellen, was both attentive and helpful in guiding us through the menu choices. If you’re ever in Charleston, I highly recommend you give Hyman’s a try. I think you’ll find it to be a great value, and a memorable dining experience.

Room Tip: If you're assigned room 306...check to see the air conditioning and the hair dryer are working b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My flight was leaving very early, missing the morning breakfast. The front desk agent, Tierra McIntosh brought a assorted tray of breakfast food, beverages, condiments to our room at the end of her shift at 11pm! This service went well beyond her call of duty..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel North Charleston
Best Western North Charleston
North Charleston Best Western
Address: 2470 Prospect Street, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 59 hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Airport Inn and Suites is conveniently located just off Interstate-26 at Exit 209,Ashley Phosphate Road, only six miles away from Charleston International Airport. The Best Western Airport Inn and Suites in North Charleston offers guests many comforts such as free wired and wireless Internet, in room refrigerators and microwaves, 32-inch flat screen LCD television, coffee makers, iron and ironing board and offers different types of rooms and suites to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.