We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deer park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2435 Elms Center Road, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
RUSKIN
1 review
“deer park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed at your hotel for about a month to five weeks. While occupying the room I recieved excellent service. The rooms where clean, whenever I needed help there were very friendly people to assist me, the snacks at night and beverages were very satisifying and well appreciated. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay, and special thanks to Tonya at breakfast and Kristina at the front desk, they went above and beyond to make it a wonderful stay. Thank you again for the extrodinary service!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    27
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
37
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

In town for an Irish dance competition at the N. Charleston Convention Center. This is a very nice hotel for the price. The condition of the hotel was excellent, and the room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was good - rare to find cheese omelets in the standard fare. Fresh cinnamon rolls are always a treat at HI Express. We did not encounter any of the noise issues noted by another reviewer, but the hotel was not very crowded for a Friday night.

Room Tip: Check pillow cases - they were stitched with "firm" or "soft", corresponding wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Rooms are large and clean. Breakfast has a lot of variety, and was good. Front desk and breakfast room staff very attentive to make certain we had coupons to sights and restaurants in downtown Charleston. Hotel is difficult to find on GPS. Spacious bathrooms and ADA equipped if needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston North, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed our Express Start complimentary breakfast. Our staff truly enjoys sharing our beautiful city and all our historic sites. Our hotel is newer and can be difficult to locate on GPS. If this is a problem for other guests please call the hotel (843.569.3200) and we can give another address to get you here. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went to a great concert and stayed at this hotel
It was very nice...the people there are very helpfull and polite.
The room was very clean, had everything in it you need.
The breakfast was very good and had good choices of food
The rooms are large and very roomy
The price was a little bit high but you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel has issues. I stayed here for 4 nights while traveling for business and in the first 24 hours was transferred to five additional rooms. For starters, they have little to no sound proofing in the floors or walls. This is worse in the rooms with an adjoining door between them. On the first night (after 9 hours of travel) I had someone above me who was pacing back and forth across his floor all night and would occasionally drop things. I called the front desk 3 times after midnight. On the 3rd call they sent security up to speak with him. He quieted down at 1:20 AM and started again at 4:30 AM. The following evening when I returned to the room I had a noisy group of guys in the room next to me (continual coughing, laughing and a very loud television) and another noise maker above me. I asked the front desk to move me to another room. I was moved to the top floor next to a room with a couple with a small child. The child kept screaming and giggling (on the encouragement of his father) well after 10:00 PM. I was moved again several times at this point:

The third room had a broken thermostat; the room was incredibly warm and humid.

The fourth room was full of housekeeping equipment.

The fifth room had a door that did not latch completely.

At this point I was preparing to check out but agreed to try one more. I was able to stay in the sixth room.

Housekeeping had some issues as well. When I returned to my room one evening the thermostat was turned down to 65 degrees and running continually. The room was freezing. Amenities were not replenished (cups, shower cap, etc.). The blankets were pulled back on the bed but the sheets were a mess.

Every noise in the hall was amplified enough that it was like having others in the room with you.

The redeeming quality of this hotel was the evening desk clerk, William. He went above and beyond to help me and he didn’t give up until I was comfortable. I was impressed with his professionalism; customer service like this is rare. However, other aspects of this hotel need improvement such as sound proofing, maintenance and housekeeping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times this year. It is always clean and neat. The hotel is updated and in great condition. Thanks for the breakfast and coffee at any time. I would like to give a special thanks to Elizabeth and Kristina, when I asked for directions to the beach at the front desk, they made sure I had everything I needed to get there with no problem, even gave me a construction update. And that saved me a lot of time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is very modern. Clean lines and contemporary furniture abound. The Breakfast menu is good and free and the wifi works. Reading lamps swing down from each side of the bed. I've used this hotel twice in the last month. Once to catch a plane at the Charleston airport next door and once to stay overnight before a hospital appointment early the next day.

You cannot go wrong booking this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston North

Address: 2435 Elms Center Road, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gracious Hotel in North Charleston, SC Welcomes You The Holiday Inn Express Hotel North Charleston, SC welcomes you to the 'friendliest city in the nation'. Charleston is the ideal South Carolina vacation destination because it has everything, from deep-sea fishing, world-class golf and tennis, to museums and Spoleto. Leisure travelers appreciate our North Charleston hotel's convenient location and access to the city via I-26. Museum Mile, Fort Sumter, Rainbow Row and the historic district are only 18 miles away. Charleston Southern University is almost next-door. And while lodging in Charleston, SC at our hotel, you can step back in time by visiting nearby plantations. Our low-country hotel in North Charleston means business travelers are close to the Charleston Airport (CHS). The North Charleston Coliseum, Summerville, Goose Creek and Moncks Corner are convenient too. There's also a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access. Charleston, SC is a gracious city and your stay at our smoke free hotel in North Charleston will be equally gracious. We offer the amenities you deserve from the original snapshots of the low-country to the scrumptious, hot breakfast buffet. You can enjoy a seasonal, outdoor pool and spacious rooms, some with Jacuzzis. This is the perfect lodging for everyone from families to groups. Stay Smart on your next visit to Charleston, South Carolina and enjoy great Charleston hotel deals today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North Hotel North Charleston
Holiday Inn North Charleston
North Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.