We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible front desk service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2435 Elms Center Road, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Terrible front desk service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Crappy service from staff. It not worth paying more to live somewhere if the staff mistreat you. Reference mainly to weekend staff. Did not allow us to do things that others were allowed to, and was reluctant to offer help. Claimed the pool was closed when others were in there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston North, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear AN1212,

Thank you for your honest feedback following your recent stay here. We are pleased that you gave us an excellent score on Cleanliness. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    32
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
42
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel during my Grandmother's sickness and funeral. They were so very accomodating and gave us a block of rooms for more family that came to town at a reduced price. The breakfast was always wonderful and stocked well. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly (actually the entire staff was) and the common areas were very clean. The rooms were also very clean and modern.
It was a very tough time for our family, and it was very comforting to not have to worry about our accomodations, and to have friendly faces and a nice room to come back to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hallways are larger - 336 and 436 are the ones that I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here two nights. Big room (king suite). Very clean. It's about 5 years old. Everything kept up well. No stains on the wall, missing paint, etc., everything including the remote for the TV worked. Even though there was some teens from sports team, the rooms were quiet. The breakfast was nice- typical. They kept it well stocked so even the fresh fruit and other popular items were always available. Also Mon - Thursday they have a reception for guests with free beer and wine. We would definitely stay here again.

Couple of issues:
We pulled back bedding on our arrival(we are picky) and saw two hairs. One of the pillow cases didn't smell fresh. But the pillow did. We called front desk. Housekeeping was gone but within a few minutes, the front desk ran up some clean linen. We changed it out no problem. The bedding and towels were nice and soft.

The GPS address is different from actual address. Apparently, there was recent construction around the area. The city changed the address/street of the hotel. The listed street address is different from the one you need to put into you GPS. The listed street address will not show up on many GPS. Our iPhone with google maps did find it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great hotel, awesome staff, especially the managers reception! Won't stay anywhere else while in Charleston :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here June 22nd. The staff were very friendly. The hotel was very very clean and my room was spotless. The breakfast was nice as well. I am on the OCD side so for me to rate this hotel high is saying something. We are taking a cruise out of Charleston in December and are planning on staying here the night prior to our departure, They are number one on Tripadvisor for a reason.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for a little over 2 weeks for business in late June/early July. All of the staff (front desk, breakfast, housekeeping) were friendly and proactively greeted me whether I was walking in the front door, or down the hall. Rooms were kept very clean. The bed was very comfortable and sheets were crisp, white, smelled fresh and changed every other day (even the duvet cover). Particularly helpful for a long stay was that the refrigerator in the room was large and had a freezer section. Although I did not have the complimentary breakfast every day, I thought the food quality was good and everything I saw was fresh. I did experience one time with watery juice, and when I mentioned it to the attendant, she immediately replaced the section in the dispenser. Looking forward to my next stay there!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a little bit larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston North, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank You for the Great Review. We do look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for letting the breakfast host know about the juice so we could refill it right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I love staying at Holiday Inn Express due to their continental breakfast; however, the breakfast here was extremely disappointing. Several of the bagels had visible mold on them. After eating half of a bagel without visible mold, I got sick, resulting in my trip being postponed. Also, the juice was watery. For the number of people at the breakfast, there wasn't enough food as they kept running out of biscuits.
The rooms were average in terms of cleanliness and the hotel was quiet, but the moldy bagel experience really ruined the trip for me!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston North, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you got sick during your trip. We offer regular, wheat, cinnamon raisin and blueberry bagels fresh daily. It has been brought to our attention that the blueberry bagel could appear to have mold due to the blueberry coloring. We have strict quality requirements for our food production and its storage. We would never want to serve an inferior product. Our full hotel breakfast which is included with your stay is very popular and we make all products based on demand. I am very sorry for your wait time for our biscuits. You can be assured they are fresh. Again thank you for your review and we would love to serve you again in the future and show you the high standards we demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston North

Address: 2435 Elms Center Road, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gracious Hotel in North Charleston, SC Welcomes You The Holiday Inn Express Hotel North Charleston, SC welcomes you to the 'friendliest city in the nation'. Charleston is the ideal South Carolina vacation destination because it has everything, from deep-sea fishing, world-class golf and tennis, to museums and Spoleto. Leisure travelers appreciate our North Charleston hotel's convenient location and access to the city via I-26. Museum Mile, Fort Sumter, Rainbow Row and the historic district are only 18 miles away. Charleston Southern University is almost next-door. And while lodging in Charleston, SC at our hotel, you can step back in time by visiting nearby plantations. Our low-country hotel in North Charleston means business travelers are close to the Charleston Airport (CHS). The North Charleston Coliseum, Summerville, Goose Creek and Moncks Corner are convenient too. There's also a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access. Charleston, SC is a gracious city and your stay at our smoke free hotel in North Charleston will be equally gracious. We offer the amenities you deserve from the original snapshots of the low-country to the scrumptious, hot breakfast buffet. You can enjoy a seasonal, outdoor pool and spacious rooms, some with Jacuzzis. This is the perfect lodging for everyone from families to groups. Stay Smart on your next visit to Charleston, South Carolina and enjoy great Charleston hotel deals today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North Hotel North Charleston
Holiday Inn North Charleston
North Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.