We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H.L. Hunley Submarine

H.L. Hunley Submarine
1250 Supply Street, Building 255, Warren Lasch Conservation Center, North Charleston, SC 29405
877 448 6539
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Alachua, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hunley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the reason we came to Charleston,my Husband is a civil war major. This was a great exhibit. They should not push you through and let the tours be a little bit longer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    78
    21
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Indiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Neat part of Civil War history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I read about The Hunley the first time in Clive Cussler's book where he discussed locating in in the mid 90's. When they raised it in 2000 I read more about it. As soon as I knew I was going to be in Charleston for work I knew this would be one of my stops. It is only open on the weekend for tours. It is out in the middle of nowhere and not that easy to find. Hopefully whe the conservation is complete and it goes on permanent display it will be more easily accessible. They have a small museum in the front and you get to see how small the inside really was. The tour guide I had really seems to love what he's doing and was very interesting to listen to. You get to spend a few minutes on the observation deck where you can observe the sub in the tank. If you are interested in Civil War history this is a stop you need to make.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

An incredible piece of history a must see for anyone interested in maritime and the Civil War. Staffed by volunteers who are knowledgeable and interested.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Really a neat visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I really enjoyed the visit to the Hunley Museum at the old Charleston Navy Base. The acoustics in the building are pretty poor, but the tour guide obviously enjoyed his work. The work done on the submarine has been scientifically superb. It is really a visit that is worth seeing and I certainly could return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor sound makes for a poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are going to have a tour guide, then by all means make it so everyone can hear. I did not understand a word. It was lousy. The tour guide warned of the poor acoustics and he was right. Once the tour started, I didn't hear a thing. Why have a tour if the paying customers can't hear? They need to fix the problem before charging money.

The museum was interesting, but overpriced. Not a place for handicapped people, only access is by stairs.

The road to the museum was terrible, with a poor location.

I would not recommend visiting this place. Buy a book or watch a DVD about it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H.L. Hunley Submarine also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to H.L. Hunley Submarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H.L. Hunley Submarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.