We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUNLEY, a Piece of History” 3 of 5 stars
Review of H.L. Hunley Submarine

H.L. Hunley Submarine
1250 Supply Street, Building 255, Warren Lasch Conservation Center, North Charleston, SC 29405
877 448 6539
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Military Museums, Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“HUNLEY, a Piece of History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Interesting visit to see a real relic from the past, a submarine from the civil war. Quite moving to see however it is still undergoing restoration in a large water tank to remove salt/chemicals. To appreciate recommend seeing the National Geographic movie on its recovery or the movie describing how it was engineered and the men who were on its maiden voyage and died in it. Access for those with limited mobility is not available. Fun visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    59
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wait to see the Hunley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The civil war submarine is a must see, however it is undergoing restoration for the next two years. Once the restoration is complete it will be moved to a perminate display in Charleston. I suggest you study the story of the Hunley and it's recovery and wait for the perminate display.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a side trip from the old town area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This civil war submarine successfully sank a Union warship, a feat that was not repeated for another 50 years. The actual submarine is on display on weekends only. If you're a Civil War buff, this is a must see exhibit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Historic CSS HUNLEY Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Its only open SAT and SUN and its in an out of the way waterfront area. But finding it was fairly easy by following the signs. This is a great time to see history. They do tours that not only let you view the Hunley but detail the history and the crew. It's absolutely amazing to see its condition and the artifacts. The staff are all wonderful, we have a special thanks to Pappy and Brenda.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved the exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I'm not one to spend hours reading the fine print by every exhibit or visit every museum in every city we travel to, but I did really enjoy this one. My husband has followed the story behind the Hunley for years and really wanted to see it in person. The retired military gentlemen who give the tours are very informative and a pleasure to listen to. It's a dose of reality to see just what the men inside that little sub went thru in order to take our military tactics a step further down the road and lost their lives doing it. A salute to all our military!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H.L. Hunley Submarine also viewed

 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to H.L. Hunley Submarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H.L. Hunley Submarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.