We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait to see the Hunley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H.L. Hunley Submarine

H.L. Hunley Submarine
1250 Supply Street, Building 255, Warren Lasch Conservation Center, North Charleston, SC 29405
877 448 6539
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Military Museums, Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wait to see the Hunley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The civil war submarine is a must see, however it is undergoing restoration for the next two years. Once the restoration is complete it will be moved to a perminate display in Charleston. I suggest you study the story of the Hunley and it's recovery and wait for the perminate display.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    64
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Va.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well worth a side trip from the old town area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This civil war submarine successfully sank a Union warship, a feat that was not repeated for another 50 years. The actual submarine is on display on weekends only. If you're a Civil War buff, this is a must see exhibit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Historic CSS HUNLEY Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Its only open SAT and SUN and its in an out of the way waterfront area. But finding it was fairly easy by following the signs. This is a great time to see history. They do tours that not only let you view the Hunley but detail the history and the crew. It's absolutely amazing to see its condition and the artifacts. The staff are all wonderful, we have a special thanks to Pappy and Brenda.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved the exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I'm not one to spend hours reading the fine print by every exhibit or visit every museum in every city we travel to, but I did really enjoy this one. My husband has followed the story behind the Hunley for years and really wanted to see it in person. The retired military gentlemen who give the tours are very informative and a pleasure to listen to. It's a dose of reality to see just what the men inside that little sub went thru in order to take our military tactics a step further down the road and lost their lives doing it. A salute to all our military!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Exhibiy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was a great historic stop on our visit to Charleston but it was sort of uninviting with all of the confederate flags obviously. They have done a great job restoring the Hunley and it is amazing to see a sub of that size that took down something like the Houstatonic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H.L. Hunley Submarine also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to H.L. Hunley Submarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H.L. Hunley Submarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added H.L. Hunley Submarine to your Saves list