We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal midrange motel, some limitations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2540 North Forest Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420 (Formerly Comfort Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Normal midrange motel, some limitations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Location in N Charleston is a plus with easy access into downtown and surrounding area. There are quite a few of this scale of motel in the area and this Fairfield really didn't motivate me to seek out this particular property gain. A single slow elevator the the entire hotel which meant frequent wits and rides with the cleaning crew. They need away to communicate between front desk and housekeeping. When we checked the room we were given was not ready yet. On Sunday morning at 0800, housekeepers were hoping door to door on our floor knocking loudly and calling out ' housekeeping', including our room which we were due to vacate
Later in the day. Surely front desk knows who is checking out and can inform housekeeping when that happens ?

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
I apologize that you had a less than spectacular stay at our hotel. It's our goal to offer all of our guests a top notch experience and I certainly hate that we feel short in any way.I would love to discuss your experience further. Feel free to give me a call directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
22
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Visiting our son who is in military. The staff at this hotel are remarkable. Allowed early check in, very personable and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. Beds are comfortable, microwave & fridge were very useful. Free breakfast was great with a daily variety and helpful staff. Hotel is clean and cared for. Upon our departure our flight out of Myrtle Beach was delayed until midnight. Front desk contacted Fairfield Inn at MB to see if they would accommodate our needs until we could depart at midnight. Exceptional service! Thank you! We can't wait to come back and stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

When I used to travel extensively on business, I always tried to stay at a Marriott property since I knew that I would find consistent quality. Although Fairfield Inns are not as upscale as the higher end Marriott's and some Courtyards, they still offer quality at reasonable prices. This Fairfield Inn and Suites which was formerly a Comfort Inn and Suites more than met my needs for a one night stay in the Charleston area. We had a very spacious comfortable 4th level room, the breakfast choices were more than sufficient, the staff were all very pleasant and the hotel was very conveniently located close to I-26 with many restaurants within a mile distant. My only issue was that the bed was softer than I like but not a deal breaker. I do plan to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a 2 night stay here in Charleston and got to the place and walked in. I loved the back wall were the front desk blue glass with light. The fairfield was a new place so it was so clean. We did have some issues at nigh two young guest were talking so loud in the hallways at 11pm. my mom went out to tell them people are sleeping. They did not care and told my mom "go back to sleep B**** then they banged on the door. We call the front desk and they said they will taking care of it.
Later that night we did not hear them any more. Thank you Fairfield for taking care of the issue.
Breakfast was ok the first day cold eggs and other hot food was not hot. The next day the food was hot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Absolutely loved it! Very clean, very modern, well equipped rooms (we loved the two TVs), trendy lobby area, friendly staff, excellent location.... overall, excellent value! (Oh yeah... the beds were extremely comfortable too)

As some mentioned the complimentary breakfast was just decent... but it was 'complimentary' and hot... no complaints there!

Just minutes from downtown Charleston, and right off of the interstate. Tons of restaurants around to choose from. Make sure to stay here.

Room Tip: Top floor was great. Very quiet and has good view of parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We gave this hotel a try instead of the other competitor we regularly stay. This is a new hotel that opened in April 2013.

We had a suite with two double beds and a sofa bed for our family of 4 to stretch out a bit. We had two flat screen TVs that we could have both on two different channels and neither interfered with those watch the other TV.

The breakfast spread was very average for breakfast offered by this class of hotels and not as good as compared to the other competitor we regularly stay.

Location is great being just 12 minutes to downtown Charleston but quite a few dollars cheaper. Being one mile from the Tanger outlet mall was an additional plus for some evening shopping after dinner.

Room Tip: Suites with two TVs are very big for 4-6 people to not feel crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from a fall trip stopping in Charleston SC for visit. If you are looking to save on expenses stay in North Charleston and save $50-$100 a night by staying only 15 miles from downtown Charleston. This hotel was recently remodeled and the decor is very fresh, clean and bright and right off I-26 with easy access. This exit is very busy between 5:30 & 6:30 due to normal traffic. Mornings was not a problem from 8:30 on. Staff was attentive, helpful, and friendly. The free breakfast is very good with eggs, bacon or saugage, waffles, and then the normal muffins, sweet rolls, cereal, yogurt, and beverages. The breakfast area is good size and well maintained. The rooms are good size, clean and well kept.

Room Tip: I always ask for a high floor when I make my reservation to prevent any problems with noise in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Address: 2540 North Forest Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Charleston Hotel North Charleston
North Charleston Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.