We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tender Beef Jerky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
5041 International Blvd., North Charleston, SC 29418
(843) 747-7735
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tender Beef Jerky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went with another couple for a special occasion for them. The service was mediocre - more on it later. We started off with the 'bang bang shrimp', which were really good, and I wish we had quit there. But no, we ordered salads and entrees. When we were about done with the salads, the entrees were brought out without clearing the full-sized salad plates. We didn't have room on the table, so one person had to scrape her salad onto her entrée. The young woman who came with my entrée was carrying a stack of small plates and saw that I was holding two salad plates. She made as if she were going to let me sit there with them until she came back, but I think she saw just how rude that would be and she took them. The entrees: the other couple ordered sea bass (hers), which she raved about, he had the trout, which he could eat only one-third of and didn't want to take the rest home. My wife ordered a burger with pickles on the side and no cheese - of course the pickles were on it as well as a slab of melted cheese. I ordered the small filet mignon, which I have already described. It was difficult to cut even with the steak knife. So two bad dinners, one incorrect order, and one just right. Maybe one out of four there isn't bad. Once again, management has fallen on its backside with lack of wait-staff training and oversight of meals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Does Not Disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was our second visit to this particular Bonefish Grill. Though it was Friday night and very crowded, we were seated fairly close to our reservation time. Service was friendly and paced well, despite the crowd. Both of the dishes my wife and I ordered were excellent. We will be returning to this Bonefish Grill again without hesitation, though perhaps not on a weekend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Kentucky
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First time to Bonefish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

While we were in Charleston, South Carolina, we had decided to try Bonefish. It was a culinary delight! We had the bang bang shrimp as an appetizer and the potstickers. The shrimp wasn't terribly spicy which I loved. I have never eaten a potsticker that I actually liked but I did like these alot. For dinner, my SO ordered the durado ( Mahi Mahi) and it had a lemon quinoa and a garbazo bean, tomato, etc relish with it. I ordered the strawberry salad because I am a light eater and wanted to try the quinoa and Mahi mahi also. All of the food was just fabulous! I don't know if all the bonefish locations will be this good, but my first visit was a BIG hit! Thank you!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Less than average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had reservations, but had to wait for about 15 minutes. Tuna special was a strange looking cut and tasted like it had been in the fridge for a week - one bite and that was it for me. We were in a rush for a concert so didn't ask for a credit, but no suggestion from the waitress. Huge crowd, busy as all get out. I'll pass on future visits.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Shared the filet Mignon, lobster and ahi tuna. All were so tasty and tender, it is hard to choose the best one. Bang bang shrimp appetizer was yum! I was surprised at the consistency of good food, being that this is not a downtown Charleston renowned restaurant. I will definitely come back here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.