We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"25 Smiling Faces!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nigel's Good Food

Nigel's Good Food
3760 Ashley Phosphate Rd, Just Kidding, North Charleston, SC
843-552-0079
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"25 Smiling Faces!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Came to North Charleston for a volleyball tournament. My daughter's coach likes them to eat a meal together. I found Nigel's on travel advisor site. Everyone...I mean all 25 people who came with the team left happy. My son had the gumbo and would have gone back for dinner if we let him. Nigel and Louise came around to our tables for a visit. This is well worth the trip, even if you are staying in downtown Charleston. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    35
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charleston, sc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful suprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went for lunch and all ordered the fish & chips. We can't wait to go back and try other items on their menu. Service was very attentive, food really incredibly delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best meal in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When you go to Charleston, you tend to spend a ton on food, and 75% of the time it's worth it. Nigel's was not expensive in the least, and was AMAZING. Best hush puppies and collards I've ever had. You can't really miss with the food, so try it all. They also do live music on Wednesdays (I think).

The best part, the service. All of the wait staff is about as friendly as can be, as is the owner Nigel.

Check this place out, especially if you're doing day trips from Charleston as it's off of a few main highways.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nigel's is a diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a trip to North Charleston. Went to Nigel's based on Trip Advisor reviews. To say that Nigel's exceeded my expectations would be a gross understatement. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The background music was pleasant and appropriate to the setting. The waitstaff was helpful and recommended the shrimp and crab ravioli as the number one selection on the menu, which I chose. I was not disapointed. The dish was prefectly prepared with a generous portion of succulent shrimp and crabmeat. The sauce was reminiscent of a creamy newburg sauce, only lighter, with the slightest hint of heat, a perfect contrast to the rich sauce. I can't wait to go back to Charleston if only to dine at Nigel's again. Yes the service was a little slow, but the kitchen obviously takes care to prepare food from scratch. I would rather wait for the excellent food while enjoying the atmosphere than have the food served quickly without the care and attention to excellence. One more thing - at $13.95 my dish would have been a bargain at twice the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit and will not be or last. Good food. Great service. Excellent selection of food. Great music. This place is a must visit.

Kenneth and Angela Frazier

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nigel's Good Food also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nigel's Good Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nigel's Good Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.