We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5265 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is new, fresh, and clean. Check in was efficient and fast. The room was of very good size, not a suite, but very comfortable with a padded reading chair with foot stool, a desk, chair, cabinet, small frig, micro, and bathroom with granite counter tops. The bed was very comfortable. As a Gold member, I received water at check in and a coupon for their great breakfast. The laundry room was clean with two washers and two dryers-- $2.00 to wash or dry. It is about a 15 minute walk over to the mall and lots of restaurants. It about a 25 minute walk to the far end of the mall strip and Walmart (open 24 hours). During normal business hours, they have a van that leaves every hour to the airport, so you can take it over to the mall if you do not want to walk. Overall, it was a great stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You want an even numbered room so your view is of a forest area. Nice and quiet. If you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Simply stated, we are thrilled that your were so pleased with your stay. It is such a gratifying experience for our staff to represent a hotel that is so well received by guests like you! As an airport hotel, we understand the importance of flexibility as a great majority of our guests have very important places to be, and they depend on us to get them there. Thus, we offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle that will take you not only to the airport but also to the Tanger Outlets (an area full of great shopping and conveniences), as you so fittingly mentioned.

While we are pleased that you had such a great stay, we have no plans of slowing down our service. We hope that you will come back and experience the Hilton Garden Inn again when you return to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    71
    19
    7
    13
See reviews for
42
33
15
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were provided a clean room. Bed was very comfortable. Staff could not have been nicer. Later in the evening husband went down and ordered food. I had the shrimp and grits and he had the steak and cheese sub. HIGHLY recommend both. We would gladly stay here again. It was very easy to get into the city and very easy to get back on the highway when it was time to head home. Liked getting cookies too :o)

Room Tip: Trust me - the restaurant is good, not your typical hotel chain restaurant food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, thank you very for your positive comments. Every member of our staff works daily to make sure that our guests want for nothing during their stay. The Great American Grill, as you experienced, has a dedicated team working to produce delectable cuisine that will leave your palate lingering over our Charleston fare, 7 days a week!

We hope that you will be back to visit us very soon. We'll work to make sure that your stay is just as memorable as the last, guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 and found the property to be clean and secure. The good the property appears to be fairly new so the room we stayed in and all the common areas are in great condition. The staff were friendly and helpful. Needs improvement price seemed a little high as compared to other hotels in the area. Breakfast was good and had a lot to offer however the $30.00 seemed a bit high. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are glad that you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable, we wouldn't have it any other way. We also sincerely appreciate your compliments of the staff, nothing means more to our team than to know our guests are satisfied!

Beginning now, the comforts of our hotel are being amplified through Project Grow, which is designed to give our guest all of their desired modern conveniences without sacrificing the Hilton Garden Inn amenities and comforts our guests have grown to love.

We hope that if ever you are in the Charleston area again that you will stop in and visit. We'll be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this Hilton Garden during day three of a grueling business trip. I arrived exhausted and hungry. Morgan, at the front desk, had my group of 12 settled with rooms in less than 10 minutes. (This included a warm chocolate cookie for everyone) I opened my room door to reveal a full two room remodeled suite at no extra charge. The room was spacious and very new. Granite countertops were present on the dry sink and bathrooms. The shower was wall to wall ceramic tile, and the bed was very comfortable. There were also two 40" HD flat screen televisions, one for each room. After settling into my room, I went back downstairs to the lobby to inquire about transportation to the downtown, so I could enjoy some local quinine. Before I could inquire at the desk I caught a glimpse of the hotel restaurant menu, and was assured by both the hostess and sense of smell that there would be no need to venture further from in house restaurant. The two waitresses and hostess were very concerned that I should have a very authentic southern style dinner, and offerred opinions on menu items. I enjoyed a great dinner that was true to it's southern style authenticity and was very reasonably priced for a hotel meal. I had a great night's sleep and enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which featured more southern style breakfast treats. If you're looking for a good rest and a good meal, look no further than Hilton Garden Inn Airport S.C.!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

At the Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport, there is nothing more important than our guests. As a team, we have worked to design an experience that will not only meet, but exceed our guests expectations. We are thrilled that you left feeling as though our staff went above and beyond for your and your guests during your stay.

If ever you are in the Charleston area again, we guarantee to have a plentiful breakfast, one-of- a-kind low country cuisine, and most importantly warm, freshly made cookies to welcome you back.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you and your guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak City, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here for about a week in July and Couldn't be happier with my experience. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel was in a convenient location. The hotel has a boardwalk on the property that provides quick access to the convention center. Fresh baked cookies are provided for free at the front desk, and the restaurant is first class. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport during your most recent visit to Charleston. We take great pride in our property, and we are so glad that your stay with us met your expectations. We are also so pleased that you took the opportunity to share your thoughts, not only with us, but with the Trip Advisor community!

We hope that if ever you are in the area again, you will choose to stay with us. You will always be able to count on us for "clean, comfortable" accommodations.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked at this hotel because of great experiences at other Hilton Garden Inns; however, we will not be returning to this one. We had been traveling and simply expected a clean, quiet, functional room for the night. Instead, the entrance light in the rooms are not lit (my parents also booked a room here and there's didn't work either). This made it difficult to see by the bathroom, closet, full mirror, and coffee areas. If they want to save money, change the bulbs to low energy ones. Next, the air unit didn't take the humidity away causing the room to feel muggy all night. Those things we could have lived with if not for the wedding party reception that the hotel hosted. The music was so loud it actually caused our ROOM to VIBRATE and went on late into the night. If the hotel is going to host receptions, invest in soundproofing or limit the volume of music. We could clearly hear the words. Again, not conducive to sleeping. My husband called the desk, the person apologized but could only move us to a room in the same area (which would be no help) or to a room with a king bed (which doesn't help when there are 2 adults and two teens). At checkout, we were asked about our stay and again stated our disappointment only to receive an apology - empty words without action to back them up. This is the only bad review we've ever give. The room was clean. The staff polite but BEWARE that guests wanting to sleep don't seem to be a priority.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We at the Hilton Garden Inn value your opinion and would like to offer your our sincerest apologies on the less then satisfactory service you received. Customer Service is our number one priority and the experience you received is not the standard way we do business and certainly now how we treat our guests. If you would like to discuss this matter further please call the hotel directly at 843-308-9330 and ask to speak with Marcus Rogers our General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Interestingly enough, when we first arrived (it was pouring from Tropical Storm Debby), the whole area STANK! Luckily, as our two-day stay continued, the smell subsided - at least around the hotel. But, about 5 miles down the road, WHEW! The hotel was nice enough. While my silver HHonors got me comp breakfast in PA, that was not the case here. So, we opted to skip the pricey breakfast and grab some Starbucks coffee/pastries instead. The common areas and rooms were clean, and the housekeeping staff was very friendly. They spoke everytime we entered the hallway. The furnishings are a bit dated, however, so if you're expecting a new HGI, you might want to look elsewhere. Overall, a decent to average hotel that's only about 15 minutes from downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Hilton Garden Inn North Charleston
Hilton North Charleston
North Charleston Hilton
Address: 5265 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.