We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, tasty food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Billys Burger Joint

Big Billys Burger Joint
5070 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-6006
+1 843-747-4949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Big Billy's Burger Joint is a locally owned and operated restaurant committed to providing fresh ingredients, great service and delicious food.
1 review
“Fresh, tasty food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Great, great food!! Wonderful service. Ask for Jonathan. He was awesome!! Burgers were amazing and homemade shakes just topped off a great meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    97
    30
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Customer service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The customer was amazing, if you go Jonathan is who you ask for. The food is VERY fresh and with a great taste! There was nothing about our visit that we didn't like.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Service issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A group of us visiting the Charleston area for work decided to head over to Big Billy's for dinner as it is currently ranked as the #1 place to eat in North Charleston (Starbucks is #7, but let's forget that). Overall the experience was kind of average, which was a little disappointing for the best rated place in town.

I will say that the pimento cheese dip was incredible and if you're visiting I would highly recommend it. We ran out of the accompanying tortilla chips about half way through the dip, but our waitress brought us more upon request.

As for the burgers, there was nothing wrong with them - they were exactly what you might imagine a burger to be. Three of the four of us ordered the breakfast burger that comes with egg, ham, bacon and tater tots, but we all ordered it a little differently and in the end, they got all three wrong. One of us didn't want tots or ham, so none of us got the tots or ham. One person wanted their egg soft, one medium, and one hard and those were all switched around too, on burgers with the incorrect side dishes. For four burgers, it also seemed to take an abnormally long time for our food to come out. I'm guessing maybe 30-35 minutes.

All in all the food wasn't bad, it just wasn't to the level that I expected after seeing its ranking on tripadvisor. If you're going to an event at the nearby Coliseum and you're in the mood for a burger before you go, then this place will do.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my second time here, and the experience was great. The first time I sat at the bar killing time before going to the airport and the bartender was friendly and attentive. This time I went with family and friends and our server Greg couldn't have been better! He brought us anything we needed, quickly, and had a great attitude. The food was also good - sweet potato fries were delicious and the mahi taco (more like a burrito) was surprisingly good as well. Think I will try the burger next time I'm over that way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Christi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent service-both the manager and the server, Ryan, were great! Both were so very kind, gracious and fun. The food was awesome; we are actually vegetarians but since we were shopping in the area we decided to check it out and see if they had a veggie or black bean burger. Big Billy's definitely did and the salads were tremendous with every topping imaginable available. We were so impressed we came back a few days later with our son. He of course, loved it as well--topping his real burger off with a over-the-top milkshake.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Billys Burger Joint also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Billys Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Billys Burger Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.