We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Billys Burger Joint

Big Billys Burger Joint
5070 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-6006
+1 843-747-4949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Big Billy's Burger Joint is a locally owned and operated restaurant committed to providing fresh ingredients, great service and delicious food.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I'm told the breakfast burger is amazing. I had the nachos, they were huge. There is a decent beer selection, some local craft brews.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    95
    30
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Try the Milk Shakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The best feature of this restaurant is the milk shakes with at least 20 varieties. At our table, we had the Cookie Monster, Almond Joy and Pumpkin Pie shakes. All were very good. Burgers were not memorable. The special sauces (Billy Sauce, Bahamnian Mustard and 5-Spice Ketchup) were bland. Would stop again if in the area but I would not go out of my way to get here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Billy May Be Big, But the Burgers Are Not...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

That said, the burgers definitely came with big taste. BBBJ is owned by the same folks that own the Noisy Oyster downtown.

I went with 6 coworkers and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. We started with onion rings and fried pickles. Each came with its own homemade sauce. Both were excellent. Among the 7 guests we tried 6 different burgers and all of the sides. Nobody left hungry or unhappy. The Saturday lunch crowd was bustling. There were no empty tables. The bottom line was we had a good lunch at a decent price. I'd go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What happened? Off night?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After finding this gem on our last trip - we were very excited to go back and take friends. What a mistake. Service seemed lacking, several of the drinks were "out" of ingredients and then the food just was not up to expectations. We were actually embarrassed since we had bragged and talked about the food and drinks. Not sure if they got too big, too fast or just an off night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good But Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After reading all the comments before my trip I had already decided to try BBBJ. It was a good hamburger but I was actually expecting more. The burger didn't even fill the entire bun (which I did find very tasteful and soft). The ff were good but again not very many. For the reviews this place gets I was expecting more, I guess.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Billys Burger Joint also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Billys Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Billys Burger Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.