We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston - Airport Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charleston - Airport Hotel
Save
You added Charleston - Airport Hotel to your Saves list
5219 N. Arco Ln., North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Stayed at the Wingate in North Charleston for one night. First room we were given, walked into the bathroom and noticed that there was standing water and rusty cracks at the bottom of the bathtub. Asked to be moved to a different room. The second room was a little better. However, seems like this hotel might have been remodeled within the last couple of years but they didn't do a very good job. Wall paper in the bathroom was peeling, carpets looked a little worn, and room just had a musty kind of feel to it like it wasn't really clean. Tried to workout in the exercise room..one treadmill was broken and the other one worked but I it was very slow and I don't think it was accurate as far as pace/speed displayed on the monitor. For a discounted rate for $120/night with AAA didn't really seem like a bargain. I've stayed at other Wingates and I don't think this one stands up to their good reputation.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
2
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

I stay there often. If I get there at 9 am, I am always allowed to check in. The rooms are great. It's safe. Wireless has never been a problem. I've stayed there numerous times. They are very accomodating! Nice breakfast bar. Homemade waffles. I don't drink, but there is a happy hour.

  • Liked — The room size, cleanliness, and the breakfast.
  • Disliked — Nothing! Loved everything.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2006

This was a nice, and reasonably priced hotel in North Charoleston. For us, it was $94 a night in early March (the 11th). The rooms were clean, nice, and functional - although not overly impressive in grandeur (which I wasn't expecting). The bathroom's shower was most lovely though, and actually had a good stream going unlike most hotel showers. In addition to a king size bed, the room also had: a couch, comfy matching chair, coffee table, desk with chair, a microwave, and a refrigerator.

It is near the airport so there was some airplane noise but not anything annoying in its noise or frequency. The hotel itself was a little noisy, but that had more to do with our room being right beside the laundry facilities where the staff was in and out of all early morning long.

The business center was nice and featured two computers with high speed internet access. One computer was a dream, but the other you'd have better luck with if you were to just find two rocks and beat them together instead. There was a printer hooked up to the computers.

The free continental breakfast (open until 9am on weekdays, and 10am on weekends) was good featuring waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, toast, and other such foods.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

Stayed there in january, and i have only good things to say about the hotel. Very clean, friendly staff, and in a great location, close to the airport, restaurants and walmart

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

We have stayed here several times during the last few years and always enjoyed it. Our last visit was even better as the hotel had purchased Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses for all the beds. It was the best nights sleep we ever had. The older you get the more you appreciate a good mattress. They have also replaced the carpet, sofas, and have new coverletts for the beds. The staff is always very friendly and courteous. We also enjoy the breakfast, it is free and is more plentiful than others.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2005

We had to find a hotel near the Coliseum Apr. 1 and 2 and were panicked to find every place we checked was booked. We were lucky to find a vacancy at the Wingate Inn, not knowing what to expect. What a nice surprise! The hotel is clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room had a refrig, microwave and coffee maker. There is a continental breakfast with delicious make-them-yourself waffles and, Mon-Fri 5-7PM, free mixed drinks and snacks.
Not very convenient to the historic Charleston area, but close to the airport, mall and Coliseum.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2004

The Managers reception at the Wingate Inn Charleston is the best of all the free happy hours in this city. Now cheap bottom of the barrel drinks. They use good brands (Dewers, G. Dickle, Smirnoff) and serve premium beers. Also snacks. Plus the place is the cleanest best run hotel I've found in town. Rates are reasonable, not cheap, but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston - Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston - Airport Hotel

Address: 5219 N. Arco Ln., North Charleston, SC 29418
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Wingate Inn - Charleston - Airport Hotel North Charleston
Wingate North Charleston
Wingate Charleston Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston - Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.