We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Charleston Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bel air
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not as advertised”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for convenience, updated and clean rooms, friendly staff and organization....look elsewhere. You will not find it here. This hotel is located near the airport, not within walking distance of anything. If you don't have a car, you are stuck.
The hotel says they offer shuttle service, but there are all kinds of conditions depending on where you want to go. It only runs downtown at 10 am, 2 pm, 6 pm and 9 pm. You have to book the shuttle and even when you do, there is no guarantee that you will leave on time or be picked up on time. We were left standing on a street corner downtown for over 45 minutes waiting to be picked up to come back to the hotel.
They have two shuttle vans, but only one driver. There is a supervisor
who is supposed to fill in when needed, but I personally heard her tell the one shuttle driver that she did not want to go pick up people from the airport....and she didn't go.

The rooms are shabby, worn carpet, torn wallpaper, mold on the tile in the bathroom, old worn out furniture. We had to call the front desk just about every day to request something that was not left by housekeeping....coffee, wash cloths, toilet paper, shampoo, etc.
and I had to fix the lock on our door, so you might want to bring a screwdriver.

The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner...no lunch. The food is pricey and just okay. The restaurant manager is a bully. He would walk up when our waitress was taking our order and make some comment about what she was doing, downgrading his staff in front of the customers. She was a fantastic waitress and in my opinion did not deserve to be treated like that.

The staff at the front desk seems to have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. There is obviously no communication between management and the staff. If you ask a question from two different people you get two different answers.

I will never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Betty S for your recent stay and taking the time to share your observations from your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. I was very disappointed to hear that my staff was not attentive to your needs and did not provide the level of service and hospitality they have been trained to deliver. I have taken all of your concerns to the team and we are taking corrective actions to ensure we do not allow them to repeat.

We are an airport hotel and make several runs to the airport an hour so we are limited to the areas we can travel. In addition to the scheduled downtown shuttle runs we provide transportation to the Tanger Outlets that offer a wonderful shopping experience and several restaurants that are on our way to the airport. We also provide transportation to the lovely Park Circle Area that has been revitalized in Old North Charleston. It has amazing charm and wonderful dining options.

Currently, we are not the most up to date hotel and we are in the process of finalizing all the plans to start a full renovation which will include sleeping rooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Once it is complete, we will have a lovely hotel to be proud of and hope you might give us the opportunity to host you again.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    23
    13
    10
See reviews for
12
27
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tried to check-in at this hotel (which I had prepaid) but was told that they had oversold. They arranged for us to stay across the highway at the Charleston Plaza hotel, apparently their sister property, which is a dive (stains on the carpets, outdated rooms, dubious washroom) - why I mention the quality of the other hotel in this review is because aside from an apology, nothing was done to rectify this situation. Bottom line - we paid for the Crowne Plaza and had to change our plans and check into a hotel which was a grade below what we had purchased. The least that the Crowne Plaza could have done was to give us a refund on our night.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Julia L for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. We value your comments and utilize these as training tools for our improvement. We are thankful we had the opportunity to provide your accommodations when the Crowne Plaza was unable to meet your needs. I am terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations in regards to the current physical condition of our property. We are very excited to be in the process of finalizing a full renovation of our hotel and hope that you will give us another chance if your travel plans bring you back to the Charleston area.

Thank you again
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When you walk in, the hotel is very inviting. You can tell they have done remodeling. Room was very spacious and very clean. Small bathroom. They have a fabulous shuttle van and driver (Percy) that will pick you up from airport and drive you to other local restaurants and stores. The hotel is nice, it's just that if you look close, it needs some deep cleaning. The floors are stained and the chair with ottoman in our room could use some cleaning/vacuuming. There was a lot of hair on it. But I would stay here again. It's close to the airport and outlet malls - not close to historic downtown.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good day apr68,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel and sharing your comments online. It was pleasing to read that you were satisfied with your accommodation, clean rooms and facilities. I am also happy to know that you liked our shuttle service and I will pass on your comments to Percy. Please accept my and our housekeeping staff's sincere apologies for having cleanliness issues with your room during your stay. We are very passionate about providing our guests with the most clean facilities and we will look into where we failed in providing this to you. We will make changes where needed so that this type of issue does not happen again to any of our guests. Thank you for your candid feedback as it will only help us to improve and become better. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

After reading reviews of this property I was somewhat skeptical when our Navy ship's reunion group decided to book our four day stay there. We did not personally encounter any of the various problems mentioned in reviews we have read. The room we received was older, but clean, and had a reasonably sized bathroom. We were high enough in the building that outside noise was not a problem. We had requested "Late Arrival" since we knew we would not get to the hotel before 10 PM, and everything worked properly. They were expecting us and had a room ready. The included breakfast was by ticket, and again, seemed to work properly. The lobby and public areas seem to have been updated, and are quite presentable. It is true that the hotel seems to cater to group business (There were at least three other groups meeting there while we were at the hotel.) All in all, the hotel met our needs, and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Good Day OTCarter1,

Thank you for choosing the Charleston Plaza Hotel for the recent Navy reunion and I am delighted to hear that your group's needs were met and all the attendees were taken care of. It is always pleasing for a General Manager to read that a guest was very satisfied with their accommodations, clean rooms, facilities and everything we have to offer. Our Housekeeping staff strive to do an excellent job in keeping our facilities clean and fresh daily. I will share your comments with them and thank them for their continued great service.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your group again and thank you again for sharing your comments online for others to read that might be considering our facilities for their group's needs.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed for three days and were extremely disappointed. We booked on priceline and was 100% NOT a 3 star hotel. The only nice part, was the lobby, and even that had a leak in the ceiling. Our first room had chips out of the wall, patch marks left over that needed to be painted, a broken mirror, marks from where suitcases hit over and over and the worst part, there were things smeared on the wall that were really disgusting. The bathroom was filthy and the sheets were dirty. I complained to the front desk and the manager said that there were no available clean rooms to move us into and that she needed to see the room, to see what we were talking about. She came up, with the head of house keeping - who told me that the room would need to be repainted and that she couldn't do anything about the walls. I told the manager that this was not acceptable and it wasn't what we were used to staying in a 3 star hotel. They then magically found a room for us, right down the hall. WHICH was better, they did upgrade us to a suite, but it was still subpar. There was a 2 inch gap at the bottom of the door, you could literally fit your foot under. The furniture had disgusting crusty stains on it, so we avoided that at all costs. When we checked out, we were not asked how our stay was. They really did try to make it right, but really, what it boils down to, is that it is a really old hotel that is in dire need of upgrades. We will never go back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you Brandy S. for sharing your candid feedback for our growth and improvement. We appreciate you staying with us at the Charleston Plaza and want to offer our sincerely apologies for falling short in making your stay exceptional. Our staff takes pride in offering clean and comfortable rooms to our guests and on nights when we are at capacity it is often a challenge to find that perfect room. I am happy to hear that the staff offered and upgrade you to a suite, as there were no standard rooms available. You have a very valid point in regards to our hotel needing upgrades and I am pleased to say that we are finalizing our renovation and refresh plans for next year. We are currently upgrading all HVAC in the public and meeting spaces and I am excited to also report that the lobby roof has been replaced and the ceiling repaired. The Charleston Plaza team is thrilled to have a beautiful, fresh, modernized hotel in our near future and hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide your accommodations in our new renovated facility if your travel plans bring you back to Charleston.

Thank you
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

A shout out to our very personable Shuttle driver, Percy. He was excellent. Almost always
had a smile and was quick to help us out if we ever needed it. My wife had suffered a
broken ankle prior to our booking, so we needed it. We had other shuttle drivers, but Percy
was the main man.

Couple of problems with housekeeping (failed to clean up our room the second day and failed
to give us a 2nd working phone, but otherwise good service.

Someone charged a bar tab to our room, but it was taken off, after we pointed out we weren't even in town at the time of the charges.

Beautiful lobby. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Good Day astrohorn,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Percy has passion for great service and I will share your kind words with him and acknowledge his efforts during our staff meeting. Please accept my and our housekeeping staff's sincere apologies for having cleanliness issues with your room. We are very passionate about providing our guests with the most clean facilities and we will look into where we failed in providing this to you. We will make changes where needed so that this type of issue does not happen again to any of our guests. Thank you for your candid feedback as it will only help us to improve and become better. I will share your wonderful comments with my staff and thank them for their hard work they put in daily. I do hope you have a chance to return back and experience our newly renovated and up dated facilities soon.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The bathtub was covered in what I can only hope were beard clippings. Really gross. After that, I can't really care about anything else. The baseboard molding literally fell off the wall, too. At least the airport shuttle was prompt. Will never stay here again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Good Day Smstreit,

Please accept my and our housekeeping staff's sincere apologies for having cleanliness issues with your room during your stay. We are very passionate about providing our guests with the cleanest facilities and we will look into where we failed in providing this to you. We will make changes where needed so that this type of issue does not happen again to any of our guests. Thank you for your candid feedback as it will only help us to improve and become better. We do hope you give us another chance and stay with us again when you return to the North Charleston area.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charleston Plaza Hotel features the area's only indoor/outdoor pool, with adjoining fitness center. Enjoy championship golf or take a short ride to the area's unique beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel North Charleston
Sheraton Charleston
Charleston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.