We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Conventions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charleston Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Brownstown, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good for Conventions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good location-close to shopping and restaurants.Hotel was a little dated looking in some areas ,but staff was friendly and helpful.Computers in lobby were constantly shut down-technical issues-very frustrating-glad I had my own laptops to use in room-but no printer. Nice pools and workout area,but rates too high. No free breakfast or snacks or in-room microwaves or refrigerators like many competing hotels offer( LaQuinta and Holiday Inn Express are nicer). Nice place to stay-just way overpriced for my money.

Room Tip: Very noisy A/C units-they worked ok -just very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback online. I appreciate your positive comments about our location and staff and I do apologize for the issues you had with the computers during your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for our Family Reunion in July. We had over 200 people family members at our reunion. I think there were 2 other reunions booked at the same time. The hotel was packed and maybe the staff was somewhat overwhelmed. Check in took a while and they ran out of room keys. The rooms were average with some areas in the bathroom needing some extra updating and cleaning. The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean however towels were not as plentiful as they should have been. The common areas, pool and gym were clean with plenty of towels and water. The restaurant had a wonderful breakfast. The staff and manager were outstanding and were very helpful to 1 family member who had a special breakfast request. They were able to accommodate her with a smile and some friendly conversation. Kudos to all staff who were as helpful and attentive as possible despite the amount of guests staying there over the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to give us your feedback I am very pleased to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you so much for recognizing our highly trained staff. We take the word “hospitality” to heart as you experienced during your stay and so kindly noted in your review. We trust we will see you again when your travels bring you back the Charleston area again.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a Wonderful Hotel. Everything I expected and more. Location Location Location. I will stay there when I return to Charleston. We had a Jr. suite that was very nice. Room service is expensive but the food was good.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our rooms and location. We are happy to hear your stay with us was comfortable and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The lobby is beautiful and the pool area is very nice. The front desk staff was pleasant. The hotel had a musty smell throughout the whole building. There were many updated things through out the hotel but many things still in need of upgrading. The bathtub was nasty. In the pictures it shows a granite bathroom counter top, that is on the outside of the bathroom, the shower and toilet area is in need of remodeling and not cleaned well. The housekeeping department could use improvement. Razor cap and hair behind the door in bathroom and bobby pins on floor by bed. They had too small of pillow cases on the pillows and the dirty pillow hung out the end of the pillow case. The carpet had holes in it. The room really needs a fridge and microwave. It was disappointing that there was no continental when they advertised they had breakfast but that is in the restaurant and you had to pay for it. We left out room at 1130 and ask front desk to let housekeeping know we would be gone the rest of day and would like our room cleaned. We returned at 10 pm and room had not been cleaned. They brought us up clean towels. The hotel is on the outskirts of town. With the amount of other hotels in the area I would suggest that the manager improve things if they plan to compete for business with the other hotels. I was overall disappointed with this hotel. I thought I was getting a good last minute deal on Expedia but I really did not this hotel is over priced.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. It was disheartening to read your review regarding issues with our Housekeeping. We strive to provide clean facilities for all our guests and seems we fell short of this during your stay. We did have a meeting with our Housekeeping department to see where we went wrong as we do double check each of our rooms prior to the next guest arriving.

Again, we are sorry for this unpleasant experience during your stay and would love to be able to redeem ourselves by welcoming you back and providing excellent service at our fresh new facilities.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was ok!! However the bathroom was nasty like it had never been cleaned!! I took pictures to show front desk... You should never feel dirty after taking a shower let alone while in the shower!! Coffee is not complimentary like most hotels so plan on spending $2.50 for a coffee that's just ok!!

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your observations. We appreciate your comments, negative or positive, to improve upon and expand our services. Please accept my apologies for the service issues with your room. We aim to exceed all our guest expectations - especially cleanliness of our facility and I am sorry that this was not your experience.  I have made changes to our current Housekeeping policies so that we do not repeat what you experienced in the future. We do hope you give us another chance and stay with us again when you return to the North Charleston area.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was perfect for a night on the outskirts of Charleston when driving in late. The room was clean and quiet and had everything we needed. We left early to get to the beach and then we stayed in the downtown area the rest of the weekend. No complaints and the location was close to the outlet mall and a few restarants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with other online viewers. I was so pleased to read your review and glad you enjoyed your recent trip to the Charleston area. We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As other reviewers have said, you get what you pay for. Nothing in this hotel is particularly bad, it's clean, the room we got (a suite) was spacious and the bed comfortable. However, it really lacks in attention to the little things - stains on the rugs, a tub spout that leaks profusely (the water it wastes probably costs more than what it would cost them to repair it), dirty tile grout in the bathroom, very noisy A/C, etc. I can't recommend it, but I suppose that if you're on a tight budget it's not all that bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. I appreciate your feedback and would like to share that we are in the final stages of our hotel's renovation arrangements. We would love for you to return and enjoy our newly refreshed hotel. Thank you again and hope to see you back soon!

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charleston Plaza Hotel features the area's only indoor/outdoor pool, with adjoining fitness center. Enjoy championship golf or take a short ride to the area's unique beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel North Charleston
Sheraton Charleston
Charleston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.