We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by hotel lobby!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charleston Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by hotel lobby!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My room was ok!! However the bathroom was nasty like it had never been cleaned!! I took pictures to show front desk... You should never feel dirty after taking a shower let alone while in the shower!! Coffee is not complimentary like most hotels so plan on spending $2.50 for a coffee that's just ok!!

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your observations. We appreciate your comments, negative or positive, to improve upon and expand our services. Please accept my apologies for the service issues with your room. We aim to exceed all our guest expectations - especially cleanliness of our facility and I am sorry that this was not your experience.  I have made changes to our current Housekeeping policies so that we do not repeat what you experienced in the future. We do hope you give us another chance and stay with us again when you return to the North Charleston area.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
8
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was perfect for a night on the outskirts of Charleston when driving in late. The room was clean and quiet and had everything we needed. We left early to get to the beach and then we stayed in the downtown area the rest of the weekend. No complaints and the location was close to the outlet mall and a few restarants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with other online viewers. I was so pleased to read your review and glad you enjoyed your recent trip to the Charleston area. We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As other reviewers have said, you get what you pay for. Nothing in this hotel is particularly bad, it's clean, the room we got (a suite) was spacious and the bed comfortable. However, it really lacks in attention to the little things - stains on the rugs, a tub spout that leaks profusely (the water it wastes probably costs more than what it would cost them to repair it), dirty tile grout in the bathroom, very noisy A/C, etc. I can't recommend it, but I suppose that if you're on a tight budget it's not all that bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. I appreciate your feedback and would like to share that we are in the final stages of our hotel's renovation arrangements. We would love for you to return and enjoy our newly refreshed hotel. Thank you again and hope to see you back soon!

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although we knew this hotel was a bit aged it was neat and clean. I think that it's interesting that we love old world charm and looks but we don't let anything get older anymore. Anyway, the staff was very nice and welcoming from the phone call to make the reservation until we left. I thought that there was something wrong with the AC until I told the staff and they informed me that the unit is controlled from a thermostat on the wall. Not on the unit as I assumed. Getting downtown was a snap off 26 to Meeting Street. Eight to ten minutes. There is also a nice strip of stores and restaurants closer to the hotel on E. Montague St. just four or five minutes away. There are no pet fees but they take a $150.00 pet deposit and you have to sign a pretty severe damage waiver which I don't object to. At any rate they basically have a laissez faire approach to pets. Doris (the same woman who took our reservation) called every day to check on us. And when she found out that it was my wife's birthday they sent cake up to our room.
I don't think you could expect any better for the money. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Plaza for your recent stay and for giving us your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay and am proud of my staff, especially Doris, who took care of your needs. We try to make everyone feel like family. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here just before going on the Carnival Fantasy. The hotel is an average 3 star hotel, clean and neat. Our room was nice, but the bathroom needed some TLC.
This is a nice one night hotel on the way somewhere, nothing more nothing less.
But the Staff were amazing, from our driver that picked us up at the airport, who was chatty and told us all about Charleston and the history. The Reception staff were super friendly and smiley, they look you in the eye and smile, like a TV ad. So all thumbs up for them all. Great staff makes a big difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I will share your wonderful comments with my staff and thank them for their hard work they put in daily. I do hope you have a chance to return back and experience our newly renovated and up dated facilities soon.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was so happy to have gotten a 3 star hotel for $85. However, only one part of that statement is actually true. I did pay $85 before taxes. OLD, OLD, OLD. Wall paper coming apart at the seams, literally. My room had a big white patch that had not been painted. Carpets in the room were really stained and in some places, the paint was ooops'd onto the carpet. Walls, ceilings, carpets, furniture and about everything is stained. In the hallways, the trim has spills all over it, again, the wall paper is coming apart.

On the plus side, the main lobby is very nice, however, they refuse to work past that area.

The room was clean and in decent shape, I would rate it a 1.5 - 2 star, but 3 stars is a lie.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. I agree with you regarding your observation of our facility needing a revamping and updating. I am happy to share that we are in our final stages of design and renovation plans and will be starting the process really soon. I would love for you to be able to experience firsthand the finished product and enjoy the refreshed facilities in the near future. Please let my office know of your plans as I would like to see to your reservation details. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My mom booked this hotel through the name your price on Priceline for $90 (which by the way I would never recommend doing). Anyways I was presently surprised... My bedspread was a little dirty and the AC had one freezing setting, but other than that the beds were comfortable and the rest of the room was clean.
I would definitely only stay here if you have a car. The shuttle to the city is $10 a person. However, parking in Charleston was surprisingly easy and inexpensive ($12 for the whole day).
So if you're looking for an inexpensive and comfortable place to stay outside the city I would recommend this place, but don't expect anything more than that!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for choosing the Charleston Plaza Hotel for your most recent stay in the North Charleston area. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to a new refreshed hotel in the near future.

Thank you again,
Victoria Facemire
General Manager
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charleston Plaza Hotel features the area's only indoor/outdoor pool, with adjoining fitness center. Enjoy championship golf or take a short ride to the area's unique beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel North Charleston
Sheraton Charleston
Charleston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;