We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2688 Fernwood Drive, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

To begin with I have stay here many times, very clean place, great front desk people to check you in. Great breakfast with many choices, very cold milk, love that Cookies out at night. Internet service was a little slow, but better then most Hampton Inn. You were to get online and stay on line, very important for business travelers, but most important thing was telling them they were a few problems. They jump on the problem right away, fix it, and even call my room to make sure I was 100% satisfied, what more can you ask for. Love this hotel, another one of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmb71, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay here with us earlier this month. We value your comments and apreciate the time that you took to share them with us...thank you! We also appreciate you bring the issue regarding the Internet connection to our attention. And in doing so, you allowed us the opportunity to correct the issue quickly and to your satisfaction. We look forward to your safe return and wish you all the very best in the meantime...
"We love having you here..."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    67
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
96
94
13
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I and our 17 month old son stayed at this hotel while visiting Charleston. The room was very clean and staff were friendly. The breakfast was great with a variety of choices. The breakfast are spacious. Parking was great. The only con that we had was the noisy air conditioner. The air conditioner will not prevent us from visiting this hotel again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmb71, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments regarding your very recent stay here at our hotel. We greatly appreciate that you chose to stay at our hotel instead of one of the many others you have to choose from. We value the choice you made to stay here and we are very grateful. Thank you! Our goal here is to make sure your stay and everyone else's stay here with us is as perfect and pleasant as humanly possible. So please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you had with the in-room air conditioner. We certainly want to make sure we get that one looked at and fixed ASAP. If you would please be so kind to contact me here at the hotel (phone or email is fine) and let me know which room you were in so we can make sure it gets taken care of right away. Thank you again for staying here with us and we look forward to seeing you return again in the very near future. Remember…"We love having you here..."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay there. 20 minutes to Downtown, right off Route 26. Room was great and the staff was even better. They went out of their way to accommodate requests. You are able to walk to local eateries for a quick bite. Pool and breakfast also great. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you Tom Brinkerhoff and Donna (serving breakfast)!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmb71, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your very kind words and expression of gratitude. We appreciate them more than you know. Thank you! We consider our hotel here to be like a 115 bedroom house...and that we company here every day. So with that kind of business philosophy, it helps us all to understand that if you simply take good and proper care of your guests (your company), they will want to come back and stay with us again and again and again. We greatly appreciate your business and we take great pride in your comments. We’re glad to have made this one particular week here with us in Charleston, enjoyable and that much more memorable. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon... “we love having you here…”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk - England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was a reasonable price and becasue it had easy access to downtown Charleston, Mount Pleasant and everywhere else we wanted to visit. The room was large with big comfy beds and quiet. Breakfast were OK, nothing special. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmb71, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments and share your experience while staying here at our hotel. Equally important is that we appreciate your business and that you chose to stay here with us while visiting the Charleston area. Our goal here is to meet and exceed everyone’s expectations and it sounds as though we met yours as well. We here are the newest Hampton Brand Hotel in the greater Charleston area, having been open now for just over 3 years. The hotel and its interior was designed to reflect the Charleston lifestyle here and the amenities are designed by Hampton Hotels throughout in order to maintain brand standard. And with the many new additions to the breakfast menu recently, the Waffle Makers, the Hot Oatmeal with all the fixings and the hard boiled eggs…our hope is that there is something there for everyone. But if you have any suggestions…we know that the Hampton Brand Family of Hotels is always listening... So we thank you once again and please know that “we love having you here…”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The title of my review sums it up. The structure is definitely not new considering the heat/cooling units under the windows that make more noise than anybody would prefer but even understaffed, all inquires to those that worked at this hotel wre very helpful. I don't know that I'd stay here again b /c there are newer hotels less than 5 minutes away but if it's all that is available, which was the case this time around, this place will do.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebewaing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Beautiful room with microwave and fridge. King bed. Clean and spacious; plenty of lounging room. Easy access to freeway into Charleston. Restaurants nearby. Desk personnel very helpful on restaurants in Historic Charleston. Large walk-in shower with glass shower door; no tub...nice feature. Wide counter top; room for two. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Charleston.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked two rooms for our stay. Our friend had an upgrade the the biggest room i've ever seen in a hotel. The hotel was also the cleanest I have ever been in. You can smell the freshpaint on the stairwells, and the rooms smell clean, look clean, and have very comfortable beds. I felt like a queen. Thank you Hampton for making our first visit to SC the best.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd

Address: 2688 Fernwood Drive, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd. hotel is located near Charleston Southern University and Trident Medical Center. Our hotel is convenient to local businesses such as Boeing, Force Protection, DuPont, and Joint Base Charleston - Air Force Base. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.