We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & new but not quiet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place North Charleston

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place North Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place North Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7331 Mazyck Road, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Golf Package
Ranked #13 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean & new but not quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is easy to access. The rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. There is only a shower so if you have small children no way to bathe. You can hear everything; noise in the hall, shower & toilet above. I turned on bathroom light/fan for white noise to help with all the noise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place North Charleston, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Pshahb,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a four star review about our hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for your recent trip to Charleston, South Carolina. We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms and comfortable beds. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and that you did not have any problems finding our hotel. However, we are disappointed to hear that various noises disrupted your stay. We strive to offer a pleasant, quiet atmosphere for each and every one of our guests and we are sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced. If you or any of our guests have problems with noise in the future, please contact our front desk team immediately so that we can do our best to assist you. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you will visit us again soon at the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    51
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
49
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Getting back to the hotel at night was a bit confusing at first but I knew the route it wasn't bad. I'd never stayed at a Hyatt Place and was unaccustomed to the self checkin since there weren't any front desk staff at night. I eventually figured it out though and got to my room.

The rooms themselves were a good size and clean. Furnishings were nice and internet worked well. The breakfast in the mornings was above par but if you want a really good meal there's a Cracker Barrel across the parking lot and plenty of other eating options in the area for lunch and dinner.

While there wasn't anything especially spectacular about staying here it was above average for most places that I've stayed while traveling and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place North Charleston, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear RichieUT,

Welcome to the Hyatt Place family! We are so glad that you decided to give Hyatt Place a try in North Charleston, South Carolina. First, we would like to help by explaining our check in process. While we do have a self check-in option available, our gallery hosts are always available to assist guests during check in. If you prefer to check in with someone in person, we encourage you to reach out to our team and ask for assistance. It is a great way for us to meet all of our guests and we are happy to help any time day or night! We also encourage travelers to give us a call if they have any problems finding our hotel. We are very close to the interstate, so we are always happy to help our guests with those last few turns – especially after a long day of travel! Thanks for bringing both of these issues to our attention. We hope that this clears up some of the confusion!
We are truly grateful for the kind words about our spacious guest rooms, nice furnishings, and free wireless internet access. In addition, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our free, hot breakfast buffet as well as the Cracker Barrel across the street!
Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that you can have an even better experience at the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful hotel and great staff!! Stayed there for a soccer tournament and although breakfast is not normally open until 7 am on Saturdays & Sundays, they opened up at 6 for the teams. The hotel was clean and spacious! It was a great hotel!! Wonderful staff!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place North Charleston, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Lynn L,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel. We are so glad that you and your family chose to stay with us for your recent soccer tournament in Charleston, South Carolina. We were happy to open breakfast a little bit early for your team so that everyone had a chance to eat before the big tournament! We truly appreciate the kind words about our wonderful staff members and our clean hotel. Please visit us again soon at the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel. Best of luck as you finish out the 2013 soccer season!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this place last year during Memorial Day weekend. I am very cautious about hotels that I book and I research each hotel as much as possible before booking. Out of about 5 hotels, I finally chose this one because of the price and reviews. We had a great experience. They ended up giving us a corner room too, so we had nobody any side of us, except for the where the bathroom and entrance where, so we slept great and had a noiseless stay. My only two problems with this place was that the breakfast was about par. It was free so I won't complain, but it could have been a little better. Also, the pool was pretty small. But no one really uses hotel pools much so I shouldn't complain there either. This was place so good that My wife and I are taking her brother and sister and staying her at the beginning of April for a few days of Spring Vacation. Looking forward to the visit again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place North Charleston, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jmelton06,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us over Memorial Day Weekend. We understand how important it is to find a hotel that meets your travel needs, and we are happy to hear that after a lot of research, Hyatt Place proved to be your best option! We cannot thank you enough for the kind words about our quiet atmosphere and the excellent ratings for our value and service. While we appreciate all of your compliments, we are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We strive to offer a variety of options on our free breakfast buffet to meet the needs of all of our travelers. We offer a variety of hot items throughout the week including eggs, waffles, pancakes, French toast, and breakfast sandwiches. Our hot items vary each day and go along side a variety of sweet treats and healthy side options including fruit, pastries, oatmeal, coffee, and more. We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast buffet, as it is information like this that allows us to improve and better serve our future guests! Finally, we are sorry to hear that the pool was a little bit smaller than you would have liked. Our pool meets Hyatt brand standards to ensure the comfort and safety of guests of all ages. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. The highest compliment you could give to our team is to come back and visit us again, so we look forward to seeing you and your family again in April! Hopefully you will be able to visit Charleston’s beautiful beaches while you are in town!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is my first time at a Hyatt Place and I have to say that I am delightfully satisfied. The hotel is conveniently located, not far from CHS airport and close to I-26. Check-in was very smooth, and I was even offered a quick tour of the amenities. Front desk receptionist SarahD was very professional and courteous, keep up the good work! Bathrooms were clean, but lacks amenities such as hand/body lotion. The only compliant I had is that the tv remote did not work very well so had to do everything manually. Overall this is a good hotel, I recommend it and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place North Charleston, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear jb_ta,

Thank you very much for the four star review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your first experience with Hyatt Place and would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to business travelers. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to Charleston Airport and Interstate 26. Hopefully you were able to explore favorite Charleston attractions nearby! We truly appreciate the kind words about our professional staff members and clean bathrooms. Sarah and the rest of our team will be absolutely delighted to hear your positive feedback! While we are grateful for your compliments, we are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. In the future, please contact our front desk team if you encounter any problems during your stay. Whether it is a broken remote or a missing amenity, we will do our best to fix the problem right away! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALABASH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Superb hotel, great service, SUPER CLEAN and spacious. The very helpful Adrienne Jones set up our golf crew. (Ask about the Wescott golf deal) We all had separate rooms and each guy commented on how nice their room was.

Breakfast was great—plenty of variety and we were all full and ready to play 27 holes! I would stay here again in a New York minute!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place North Charleston, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Lawrence M,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel. We are so glad that you and your friends chose to book our Golf Package. We encourage all golfers to ask about the Hyatt Golf Package which features a spacious suite, free breakfast, 1 round of golf, the green fee, cart, range balls, and bag tag. We are truly grateful for the kind words about our clean rooms, excellent service, and plentiful breakfast buffet. Adrienne will be delighted to hear your positive feedback! We hope that you had a wonderful time playing golf and that you will visit us again soon at the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable. My husband really enjoyed the large screen tv and lounging area. The bed is comfortable, but a little stiff. Pillows are not too soft and just right. The front desk staff are great and offer super suggestions and recommendations. The breakfast is also fantastic and the morning crew are very efficient.

They didn't get a "five" because over the course of a two night stay, our rooms (ours and our other friends we traveled with) didn't have our rooms cleaned or the beds made. It wasn't a huge issue, but when we came back from sight seeing we would have appreciated clean towels, refreshed bathroom soap and beds made. My husband called the housekeepers who said they were bringing it up, but never did. So he ended up going down to the front desk after waiting 35 minutes. Also, ladies, note, pack your lotion. Apparently this Hyatt brand does not supply lotion and the air in the winter in SC is very dry. Good thing I had a partial sample bottle in my purse.

Just a note for those wanting to swim and keep in shape. The picture of the pool is very deceptive. When we went down to do our workout, the pool is about 3.5 deep and not long enough to do five strokes. You could never do a turnover without hitting your head on the bottom. The gym on the other hand looked great and the equipment new.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place North Charleston, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear TriedandTrue2,

Thank you very much for the four star review! We are so glad that you and your husband chose to stay with us during your recent trip to Charleston, South Carolina. We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean hotel, comfortable beds, flat screen TV, and friendly desk agents. Plus, we are very glad to hear that you were able to join us for our complimentary breakfast buffet! While we are grateful for your compliments, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. It is our goal to provide excellent housekeeping services to each and every one of our guests, and we are sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. We like to remind visitors that the housekeeping team will not enter a room if it has the ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign on the door. This is simply out of respect for our hotel guests and the privacy that they have requested. However, if the ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign is not on the door, guests should receive housekeeping services every day of their stay. For future visits, please contact our front desk team if you are experiencing any difficulties during your stay. Just give them a call and they will contact the correct department to ensure that all of your travel needs are met. Finally, we would like to thank you for your feedback about the pool. It sounds like swimming is one of your favorite workouts and we are sorry that the pool was not quite as deep as you would have liked. To ensure the safety of our guests, our pool was designed to meet the needs of travelers of all ages. Thank you for understanding! We hope that you will take advantage of our gym equipment in the future. Thanks again for all of your feedback. It is information like this that allows us to improve and better serve our future guests. We appreciate your time and hope that you will visit us again soon at the Hyatt Place North Charleston hotel.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place North Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place North Charleston

Address: 7331 Mazyck Road, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place North Charleston 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place North Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place North Charleston Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place North Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.