We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3234 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My family of five, plus my mom stayed in a double with sofa bed room this past weekend for a short trip. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean and spacious the room was. We have two little ones that require some space for movement. We liked the fact that we weren't on top of each other. The continental breakfast was the best that I have had at a hotel thus far. If you stay here, be sure to get up in time to take advantage. The hotel is about 10 minutes from downtown Charleston and 1 minute from the Tanger Outlets, so for us the location was great. The value of the hotel for the price cannot be beat! We will be staying here again for our family Charleston trips.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Aries80,

We are so glad that you and your family chose to stay with us at the Hyatt Place Airport hotel for a weekend getaway in Charleston, South Carolina. We truly appreciate your five star review and the kind words about our spacious guest rooms, breakfast buffet, and convenient location. We are pleased to hear that you were able to visit popular Charleston attractions such as historic downtown and the Tanger Outlets. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon at the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    56
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
61
63
12
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed during a short trip before going on a cruise. We enjoyed our time at the hotel. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean, and the hotel was 15 minutes from downtown. It was also close by Tanger Outlets and a very good barbecue restaurant: Jim 'N Nick's. We will definitely go back and recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Eleomorsa,

Thank you very much for the four star review about the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel. We are so glad that you and your family chose to stay with us before going on a cruise. We strive to offer excellent accommodations to each and every one of our guests, so our team was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and clean rooms. We are also pleased to hear that you were able to explore popular Charleston attractions including historic downtown and the Tanger Outlets. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our hotel to friends. Thanks again for all of your time! We hope that you had a wonderful time on your cruise and that you will be back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

this hyatt is very nice. if you come to charleston this is a great place to stay it is located close to everthing. and is on slow street. free breakfast, free parking. sleeping here is a must. and if your driving the welcome center at sc will get you a great deal. the staff is great.

Room Tip: king beds are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear letsgetfoodnow,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel. We are so glad to hear that you we are your hotel of choice in Charleston, South Carolina. We truly appreciate the kind words about our convenient location, free breakfast, and free parking. We hope that you and your significant other will visit us again soon at the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Staff was helpful and courteous, hotel is beautifully kept, rooms are large and well appointed and breakfast was ample. The location is convenient-a couple minutes off I-26, but not close enough to get traffic noise. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear sclawyer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a five star review about the Hyatt Place North Charleston Airport hotel! We truly appreciate the kind words about our helpful staff members, beautifully kept hotel, spacious guest rooms, and ample breakfast buffet. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to Interstate 26. We hope that you and your family were able to explore favorite Charleston attractions including historic downtown, Charleston beaches, Charleston plantations, and more! Thanks again for all of your time and feedback! We hope to see you again very soon at the Hyatt Place North Charleston Airport hotel!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms with very nice sofa and 42" flat screen. Bedroom is separated by a partition but not a door. Dry bar with fridge. Very clean, the entire place looks brand new. Small indoor pool and gym. Beds are very comfortable. Within walking distance to the performing arts center and several restaurants/shopping centers.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear R S,

Thank you very much for the four star review about the Hyatt Place Airport hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the cozy corner sleeper sofas, 42” flat screen TVs, and comfortable beds which are featured in each of our spacious guest rooms. We are also excited to hear that you enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the fitness center located on site. We hope that you had an excellent time visiting the North Charleston Performing Arts Center as well as the shopping centers / restaurants nearby! Please come back and visit us again soon at the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place North Charleston Airport / Convention Center Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I am a Hyatt Place regular, and this property is the quintessential Hyatt Place. The facilities are very well kept, everything is where it should be, but the differentiator is the people. The staff is very knowledgeable, outgoing, and really care about the job and your experience. This location is very convenient to the airport and the convention center (hence the name....) but there is a ton of shopping and dining that is a stone's throw away. If you are looking for the Starbucks/Panera triangle, it's a couple blocks away, and a 10 minute drive gets you into downtown Charleston and all the color and culture you want.

This is a great business stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear David S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a five star review about the Hyatt Place Airport hotel! We truly appreciate the kind words about our well kept hotel and our knowledgeable, outgoing staff members. We strive to offer excellent customer service to each and every one of our guests, so our entire team will be very excited to hear your positive feedback! We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and southern culture that downtown Charleston has to offer. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for your recent Charleston business trip and we hope that you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

People at the counter were super friendly and accomodating! Even the shuttle driver from the airport was super personable and seemed happy to be doing his job and generally interested in why I was in town!
Well done Hyatt Place...the only reason I didn't rate higher was because my room kind of had a funky smell.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear pmjennissen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a four star review about the Hyatt Place Airport Hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our friendly, accommodating staff members. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle! Our front desk agents, shuttle drivers, and the rest of our team will be absolutely delighted to hear your positive feedback! While we appreciate all of the compliments, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are very sorry about the funky smell that you experienced in your guest room. We have sent you a private message to collect a few more details about your stay so that we can double check to make sure this problem has been taken care of. Thank you in advance for any comments that you can share with us! We truly appreciate all of your time and we hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we can ensure you are completely satisfied with your next visit!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center

Address: 3234 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.