We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3234 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #9 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I am such a fan of southern hospitality! The Hyatt Place in Charleston is a pleasant surprise, plenty of smiles and great service. I am in town for a business presentation and looked for quality accommodations for a reasonable rate! Hyatt Place far exceeded my expectations. The rooms are fresh and clean, the people are friendly and twice a week, the wine is free! :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear HarborLivingOrg,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for your recent business trip in the Charleston area. It is our goal to offer each and every guest superior service and Southern hospitality, so we are very pleased to hear that we have met and exceeded your expectations. We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms, friendly staff members, and the complimentary receptions held on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings from 5:30 – 7:30PM. We hope to see you again soon at the Hyatt Place Airport hotel.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport / Convention Center Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    44
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
50
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Our group booked a reservation at the Hyatt Place Airport this past weekend. The hotel was fantastic with a great free breakfast, beautiful lobby, comfortable rooms with beautiful linens and a great indoor salt water pool. Jennifer helped us tremendously setting up our group reservation. The location is right off I-26, the main thoroughfare, about 15 mins to downtown Charleston and plenty of good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

I've stayed at Hyatt Place before and always loved it! Great hotel at a great price!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Grapequeen,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Convention Center Hotel. We are so glad that you and your group decided to stay with us during your recent trip to Charleston, South Carolina. We truly appreciate the kind words about our free breakfast, modern lobby, comfortable rooms, and indoor pool. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to historic downtown and various local restaurants. Jennifer and the rest of our team are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a positive experience at our hotel. We encourage all group travelers to contact our sales team about the unique amenities and services that we have to offer our guests. We appreciate your commitment to the Hyatt brand and hope that you will stay with us again soon at the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I did not like the way the room was situated. There was a small partition between the living and bed room where the TV sat. The bed did not seem to be a standard king because my friends feet hung off the end of the bed and he is 6'1".

Breakfast ends too early during the week. When you order room service you have to go to the front desk to pick it up. The food was not that great and it was expensive.

On my first day housekeeping didn't come to the room until 3 p.m. On the 2nd day they were there at 9 a.m. The hotel was not full of people so its hard to say why there was such a gap in the service.

Also we were put in a room at the end of the hall and no one else was around us.

The hotel was nicely decorated and close to the outlets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear blackwidowinsc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a four star review about our hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words and positive ratings about our nicely decorated hotel and close proximity to the Tanger Outlets. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our guest rooms do in fact have a small partition between the couch and the bed. While many of our guests do enjoy this privacy divider, we are very sorry that it caused an inconvenience during your stay. Each guest room offers either one King plush Hyatt Grand Bed or 2 Queen beds. Every room also offers an oversized flat-panel high-definition television and free wireless internet. Thank you for sharing your comments about our breakfast buffet as well. Our breakfast is available until 9:30AM every day during the week. While we do not have full room service options, we do have a 24 hour made-to-order menu that is available for guests. Travelers can order at the front desk or call from their room and pick up the food when it is hot and ready! We apologize for the confusion about our dining options! Finally, we would like to thank you for the feedback about our housekeeping services. Unless a ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign is hung on the door, our housekeeping team will get to each and every room as early as possible so that rooms are fresh and clean when guests return to their room after a day of work or site seeing adventures. Please contact our General Manager, Vicki Wilkins, directly to further discuss your stay so that we can better understand the housekeeping problems that you described above. It is our goal to offer excellent customer service and comfortable accommodations to each and every one of our guests, so we are thankful for all of your feedback! Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and hope to hear from you soon!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TICONDEROGA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We used this hotel because it fit the number of Hyatt points I had. It is not totally convenient to the historical area, although a good highway system gets you in and out of downtown Charleston in fifteen minutes. Our room was on the top floor, and because of whatever machinery exits on the roof of the building the floors in our room literally shook with the noise. It was also hard to get an acceptable level of air conditioning and noise, Otherwise, the service and the complimentary breakfast was about average for a Hyatt hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept a top-floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear rbarney1945,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the easy interstate access and quick route to historic downtown. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. It is our goal to offer comfortable guest rooms to each and every one of our guests, and we do apologize for the noise that caused an inconvenience on this particular visit. We shared this review with our maintenance team so that they could further investigate the situation and make any necessary changes. In the future, please contact our front desk immediately with any noise complaints so that we can do our best to fix the problem right away. In addition, if you or any of our guests are having problems with room temperature, please share this with our team so that we can assist you. Our General Manager, Vicki Wilkins, would like to follow up with you directly about your stay. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write this review. It is feedback like yours that allows us to make improvements and better serve our future guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

If you need to stay by the Charleston airport, I would highly recommend this hotel. It was my first experience at a Hyatt Place and I was very impressed. I heard they were nice and have a great rewards program, so we thought we would check it out.

The service is fantastic. The breakfast is great with a large variety to choose from. They also have Starbucks in the hotel and a free shuttle from the airport.

The rooms are very clean, modern, and comfortable. The beds are great! And the amenities are awesome. We just loved this place and I will definitely look to stay with the Hyatt family for future trips!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear conbonKR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a five star review about the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel. We would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to the Hyatt brand! We are so glad that you chose to give Hyatt Place a try during your recent trip to Charleston, South Carolina. We appreciate the kind words about our fantastic service, variety of breakfast choices, and free airport shuttle. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean, modern rooms and comfortable beds. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We hope you will visit us again soon at the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel!

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice hotel . . . modern, *clean*, comfortable beds, many thoughtful amenities, very helpful staff. Nice indoor salt water pool. ONLY downside was not much water pressure and water was just warm enough, but not hot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear HFE456,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a kind, five star review about the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback about our clean, modern look, comfortable beds, thoughtful amenities, and helpful staff members. We are also pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our indoor pool during your stay. In addition, we would like to thank you for the feedback about our water pressure. Our maintenance team checks the water pressure on a regular basis, but we will do a thorough inspection to ensure that this does not cause problems for future guests. Thanks again for all of your time. It is feedback like yours that allows us to make improvements and better serve our future guests. We hope to see you again soon at the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport hotel.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel before and after our trip to Myrtle Beach and the service was just amazing. Kenny and the rest of the staff were very nice and helpful while we were there. They took the time to explain the area and recommended places and restaurants since we have never been in that part of the States before. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear bewy1968,

Thank you very much for your five star review about the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us before and after your trip to Myrtle Beach. We welcome all guests who are looking for a place to stop and rest on the way to their final destination, and hope that you enjoyed exploring the Charleston attractions and restaurants nearby. We really appreciate the kind words and positive ratings about our helpful staff members, room cleanliness, and convenient location. We hope to see you again soon at the Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center hotel.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center

Address: 3234 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.