We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3234 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this Hyatt. This hotel is located in North Charleston, about a 10 minute drive to downtown Charleston. Less than 3 minutes to the Tanger Outlets. About a 20/30 minute drive to Folly Beach. We felt close enough to enjoy Charleston, but far enough away from the downtown chaos.

Appearance: looked very clean and modern
Check-in: pleasant and quick
Rooms: clean and nice---a closer look revealed some age in the bathroom and on the furnishings
Breakfast:variety of choices, decent, nothing to get excited about
Check-out: very quick
Mishap: room not cleaned one day, but overall a pleasant stay. Bed slept very poorly, it was too soft for us. (that is just a personal preference)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    37
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
46
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we are traveling along the east coast and after a number of hotels we arrived in this hotel for a stay of 4 nights. Everything in this hotel is in place but a special word has to be said about both housekeeping and the frontdesk.
Over the weekend the hotel was packed and the frontdesk girls - experts in multitasking and taking care of guests checking out, providing assistance and information and simultaneously looking after the breakfast room - remained calm and very friendly.
On another occasion one of them assisted us in getting free coupons via the internet and we could simply go on in our observations.
All of them are in our view very very valuable for the hotel chain and we hope management knows that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place is really nice. Tasteful decor, appealing bathrooms with granite counters, appealing amenities and a good breakfast that gets you off to a good start. My only issues would be that the scrambled eggs at breakfast - served both days of our stay - were terrible. And the indoor pool would be nicer if there was a hot tub/spa that came along with it. Other than that, everything was pretty wonderful. Very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel is pretty quiet, so all the rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was great - but it was the staff that pit this pace over the top. They made you feel as if you were a welcomed guest in their home. Their hospitality was sincere and welcoming. Hyatt need to give these kids raises or romote them! They are exactly ht you want representing yor brand.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel. The staff is pleasant, polite and helpful. The breakfast has a wide selection of quality options. The rooms are fabulous - clean, spacious, well laid-out, comfortable beds, AND (though I didn't use it) the ability to hook up just about any device you would want to the flat screen TV. AND free wi-fi throughout the hotel with a strong connection.

I took advantage of the free shuttle to and from the airport, which was nice, but you have to call for it. The Charleston airport has an information desk on your way out, and they will give you the number to call for the shuttle - then it's a 10-15 minute wait.

They have a nice swimming pool and a significantly above average fitness center. Most hotels have a treadmill, elliptical and a bike crammed into a small room. This one has an extra treadmill plus twice the space AND a weigh bench with free weights (and the space to do floor exercises). They provide headphones to use on the machines that have the TV built into the monitor. AND the fitness center is open 24 hrs.

I was absolutely thrilled to stay here, and I recommend it to anyone looking for an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed while on a business trip.

It was very quiet and the suite was immaculate with plenty of room to spread out.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay close to the Charleston airport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We landed in Charleston really late, so we decided it would be best to stay near the airport before we began our road trip.

Room:
We had a first floor room. It was very spacious and I like how they separated the sitting area with the big sectional couch from the sleeping area. The biggest downfall were the floodlights outside. Light poured into our room through the curtains and it was very bright in our room.

Breakfast:
It was complimentary and actually quite good. Selection was great. They had everything from fruit and yogurt to a breakfast sandwich with egg and cheese. Note - they do not serve complimentary coffee all day.

Gym:
Had a couple of treadmills, an elliptical and a bike as well as a whole set of free weights. They also had an indoor pool, we peeked in, but didn't have time to take a swim.

Shuttle:
The shuttle doesn't run past midnight, which was a bummer because the cab ride was just over $20. They also don't drive outside a five mile radius. So our rental car place, which was seven miles away, was a $40 cab ride.

Staff:
They were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center

Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Hotel
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Address: 3234 West Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center to your Saves list