We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dirty hotel - don't bother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2415 Mall Drive, I-26 and Montague, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tired and dirty hotel - don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and won't go back. As a big business traveler that stays at a lot of Marriott properties this one was very disappointing. It has the cool new lobby set up and the people were nice but the room was tired and dirty. It sounded like somebody was banging on a garbage can with a hammer when the air conditioner came on. Do your family a favor and stay at the Hyatt Place down the street on Montague instead. Much better and cleaner.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    24
    11
    0
See reviews for
28
29
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked my stay there through Priceline and I think it was a good deal. But, I heard other people staying there paid over $150 a night - I'd think that was too steep for this place. But at under $100, I think that's a fair deal.

The room was decently clean - could have been better to be honest. The pool area was great - loved the nice lounge chairs and the wam temperature of the pool. Rooms were a nice size, the beds comfy, and the staff was super friendly. The location was good and near the expressway, dining, and plenty of shopping (including a Wal-Mart and the outlet malls).

Room Tip: The rooms facing the expressway actually have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful third floor suite with all the amenities and subtle lighting turned on for arrival. I particularly liked the lighting idea as I was arriving late at 10pm. The exceptions were the table lamps between the two beds were burned out and the TV remote had stopped working. Also, I was surprised to find out that even with a suite I was going to have to pay $10.95 for the buffet breakfast in the morning. I skipped and just had coffee in the room. The hotel was lovely, but I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was my second trip to this hotel. The last time we had 2 beds, this time a king bed and sofa. The bed was comfortable except for my pet peave with Marriott: lots of small pillows instead of 2 or 4 big ones. Most of the pillows on the bed were smaller than a standard, twin size. The TV, while nice, was placed on the one side of the bed instead of at the foot. This made it hard to watch TV if you were on the far side. There is a small refrigerator , microwave and coffee maker in the room. Blow dryer and iron and ironing board are in the closet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nothing exceptional here, typical Courtyard. A remodeled lobby and new bistro snackbar. Yet, they eliminated free coffee in the lobby in the morning and "force" you to pay $6+ for two coffees. Of course they are selling Starbucks--like it matters. This is not a franchise. Marriott dictates the policies.

Room Tip: When getting a room for two at any Courtyard get a double bed room if you want to see the television...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean, spacious rooms here. Comfortable Marriott beds and pillows. The housekeeping staff does a really nice job here too. We didn't use the pool because it was too cold outside, but It looked nice. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you need a hotel near the coliseum/convention center that is pretty cheap it was good. Typical to Courtyards , breakfast is not included but, they did a minimal breakfast for our volleyball group that was basic but, hot. Room rates were reasonable ( $119) and the points needed for free rooms was only 15,000 so that was reasonable. It is 20 minute drive down to the historic part of town so I wouldn't have stayed there except that was where the volleyball team stayed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lobby was cool with the booths with private TVs that the kids loved. There is a movie theater right across the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum

Address: 2415 Mall Drive, I-26 and Montague, North Charleston, SC 29406
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Charleston North Hotel North Charleston
Courtyard North Charleston
Courtyard Hotel North Charleston
North Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.