We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Charleston North

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Charleston North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Charleston North
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2499 La Quinta Ln, North Charleston, SC 29420-4249   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we stayed here April 1st, 2013. the bed was amazing. even though the hotel is located next to a busy highway, we didn't hear a sound.
Breakfast was crazy as the eating area is very small. But even though I was late, the mgr was very accommodating.
It is an old hotel, which made me think it might have originally been a comfort inn at one time.
Very clean and close to amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    69
    47
    47
    63
See reviews for
99
77
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family stayed overnight here - the hotel rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and in close proximity to the outlet mall (5 mins) and downtown Charleston (10 mins). Since this is a pet friendly hotel, we were worried it would smell, well...like pets....but were pleasantly surprised at how clean & fresh the room smelled. Staff was friendly and professional. The only complaint I have about the hotel is that on one side it is close to the highway - but we were able to use their "soundscapes" on the TV for ocean and it blocked out any noise. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room that is not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and 1-year old daughter were headed to Charleston, SC for a few days of vacation. We wanted to stay at a hotel that was clean, relatively close to the sights of Charleston area, and was cheap. The La Quinta in North Charleston ended up being absolutely perfect for us.

Located right off I-26 and within a 15 minute car ride of the historic downtown area, this was the perfect hotel for our vacation. Our room had a microwave, refrigerator, and really nice flat screen TV. The room, as well as the grounds around the hotel, were really clean and well maintained. Although it was a little too cool for swimming, the pool looked great and very clean. The WiFi at the hotel was free and fast enough to stream videos on HuluPlus.

Some of the reviews here talked about the noise, which made us nervous, but we were placed on the side of the building near the Ruby Tuesdays and it was very quiet over there. This worked out perfectly as we had our daughter in tow and she needed an afternoon nap and went to bed early every night.

The free breakfast was really good and one of the better free breakfasts that I've ever had at a hotel. It's nothing special, but does its job at getting you fed quickly and on your way in the morning.

Overall we loved this hotel and definitely plan on staying here in the future when visiting the Charleston area. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling with kids and are strapped for cash.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First room, the toilet leaked so they moved us immediately. I understand that things happen. But the second room fridge didn't work and it took too long to get someone to work on it. We only stayed two nights so taking 24 hours to get someone was too long, in my opinion. Especially when I have to hunt for a "working" ice machine.

But that being said I was pleased with the room/price. Very convenient to everything in North Charleston and short drive to downtown Charleston. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a one king bed room.

Pros:
Clean
Thick walls - very rarely heard traffic, or other people
Nice TV
Good microwave
High water pressure- one of my pet peeves
Nice bed


Cons:
Fridge had a hard time keeping things cold.
AC was on a timer and because of that the room was very warm.
The blinds did not close.
Breakfast was underwhelming even for hotels

Overall was pretty good. We did not get to try the heated pool

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our room was OK, but outside noise was a big problem. Hotel is located right next to the highway (like 50 feet from the overpass), so traffic noise was noticeable, especially when emergency vehicles went by with sirens blaring, which happened more often than you would think. Also, people and vehicle noise from the parking lot was annoying. This is a hotel where you drive up to the outside door of all rooms on the first floor. There is not sufficient insulation so when people are just talking normally when they walk past the room, it sounds like they are IN the room. Our first night here, two people were arrested and hauled away in handcuffs. Seriously. The breakfast room is way too small for a hotel this size. Both mornings we had to deal with wall to wall people and had to squeeze through the traffic jam. Not fun. We cut our stay here short one day and would not stay here again. Not up to LaQuinta standards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
Pets Allowed, B...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
#30 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.9 mi away
North Charleston Inn
North Charleston Inn
#34 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge North Charleston
Econo Lodge North Charleston
#19 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & ...
#27 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Charming, Budge...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn North Charleston
Quality Inn North Charleston
#35 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Charleston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Charleston North

Address: 2499 La Quinta Ln, North Charleston, SC 29420-4249
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Charleston North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The La Quinta Inn Charleston North is just north of Charleston International Airport and Air Force Base. Easy highway access puts you close to all area attractions: Historic Charleston and Fort Sumter, Carolina Ice Palace and North Charleston Coliseum, the Performing Arts Center and ...see moreSouth Carolina Aquarium. In less than twenty minutes, reach the beaches, Patriot's Point/Yorktown, Fort Moultrie, and Magnolia, Middleton, and Boone Hall Plantations. Enjoy Frankies and Whirling Waters Fun Parks, and the woodland and wetland trails of Wannamaker Park. We are close to Northwoods Mall and Cinema, a variety of great restaurants, and plenty of challenging golf courses. The La Quinta Inn Charleston North provides spacious and comfortable rooms with free high-speed Internet access, a 27-inch television with movies-on-demand and available video games, a coffee maker and speakerphone with data port connection. King rooms feature a recliner and plenty of workspace. Our staff prepares a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM to help you start the day off right. We also have a refreshing swimming pool (heated seasonally). Centrally located with easy access from I-26 at Ashley Phosphate Road (exit 209). Convenient for visitors to the Citadel, College of Charleston, and Medical University of South Carolina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Charleston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Charleston La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Charleston North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.