We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much less than expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5045 North Arco Lane, North Charleston, SC 29418-7001 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Much less than expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

This hotel is probably good at times, but our stay was not pleasant. There is a pool, but when we arrived, the pool was "out of service". I asked specific questions about the pool prior to check in and was not told that the pool was out of service. In fact, we were told that as long as we were quiet, we could stay until 10:00 pm. The pool is a very small rectangle, so it really wouldn't have been much fun for the kids anyway.

The room to the pool was not locked, so we walked in and were disgusted by the half filled pool with stagnent water. I didn't need to see that!!

The room we stayed in was worn out and smelly. No breakfast (juice and coffee and oranges).

This hotel charges for Internet (4.00 for entire stay)

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
12
6
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days (8/6 to 8/11/06) with our 12-year old grandson. The room was small but comfortable, and the kitchenette was a big help. Because this is an extended stay hotel, we knew that daily housekeeping wasn't available, but the schedule provided at check-in didn't really have any relationship to the schedule they kept. The printed information indicated that stays shorter than a week did not include housekeeping services unless we specifically scheduled it with the desk. We opted not to do this, but on the next to last day they came in and made up the beds (no new linen) and replaced some of the towels. On the last full day of our stay, they came in and provided all new linen and towels (although not enough of the latter . . .). It was a nice gesture that would have been more meaningful had they done it earlier on.

My only real complaint about the Homestead Suites was probably a management issue. The kitchen in our suite had only 2 drinking glasses when we checked in; the desk staff promised to look into it, but we never got the other 2 glasses. The laundry room soap dispenser was empty on Sunday when I went to do laundry. The desk staff promised to look into it and get back to me. When we asked about it on Monday, a different person promised the same thing. On Tuesday I bought detergent at WalMart; then I discovered that one of the washing machines was out of order. That was fixed just before we left on Friday, but there was still no soap (I left the rest of mine). The staff was always very friendly and always promised to help, but at no time did anyone actually follow up on any of our concerns.

Still -- it was clean, quiet, and safe. I wouldn't be afraid to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2005

I'm giving this new review a Neutral/Average just because it is normally a good place to stay. Perhaps things will change in a few weeks of this review dated Oct. 1, 2005.

Some New Orleans evacuees were put up in this hotel. From reports from friends the noise all day and all night was terrible. Lots of yelling in the middle of the night, kids running all over the place, people trashing the place, etc.. Maybe this is what we get for letting our government throw money at a problem. Free everything.

This hotel is also used as a transplant hotel after surgery at MUSC in Charleston so patients can be monitored. I know someone who just had a transplant and was trying to recuperate and get some much needed rest.
Unfortunately the evacuees could care less. This is a very sad situation when people who get suff free have to be so ungrateful and inconsiderate.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2005

I had a successful kidney transplant March 14, 2005 in Charleston at the MUSC campus. After 3 days in hospital my caregiver and I were transferred to the Homestead Suites in North Charleston for recovery and checkups. We couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel and we return every other week for Sunday nights for my clinics, labs, and followups at the transplant center on Mondays.

The desk staff are polite and do a great job. They are always willing to please.

The rooms come in about three different configurations. We prefer two double beds. There are three floors with elevator. There is a large refrigerator (turn the icemaker on), toaster, microwave oven, stove, dishwasher, and plenty of dishes and utensils. You can go about a 1/4 mile down Montigue to a Piggly Wigley grocery store. The rooms are comfortable and exceptionally clean. You get plenty of towels and soap for the dishwasher. The beds are quite comfortable. The place is quiet despite being close to an air base. All exterior doors besides the front entrance are secured for your safety and are opened with your room passcard.

There are a few decent restaurants nearby such as Picadillys buffet, but you may want to go west a couple of exits on 26 for a lot more choices. There is a McDonalds at the beginning of the road to the hotel.

There is not much in the way of recreation as this is mostly an industrial area. We see several military personnel at the hotel as they work at the nearby air base. They are very polite and I always enjoy meeting them. There is a SAMs wholesale club close by

There is an indoor pool that is extremely small and I don't advise using it as the heater is broken. They are planning a new outside courtyard larger pool so that should be great. There is also a workout room with a TV, treadmill, stairstepper, and bike.

This hotel has a room where you can buy simple prepared foods that can be microwaved and also toiletries. This is on an honor system and you fill out a card showing your room number and what you selected.

Near the front desk there is lounge area with free coffee and tea and sometimes juices. They often have some free breakfast items like waffles and bagels and sometimes in the evening they have some free snacks. This is a very nice addition.

The drive into the city of Charleston takes about 20 minutes. The traffic at certain times can be busy so you should be sure of your route in advance. The traffic moves briskly. A nearby beach is called Folly Beach and is about a 15 minute drive from the city of Charleston. We went out there once and were not impressed at all.

I live in the Upstate of South Carolina (Anderson) which is about a 4 1/2 hour drive to Charleston. We are leaving tomorrow morning for our regular Sunday stay at the Homestead suites. Patients of MUSC get a special rate.

Overall, if you are in North Charleston on business, in the military, just passing through, or a MUSC patient like me you will enjoy this hotel. If you are a Charleston sightseer you may want to find a place closer in.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport

Address: 5045 North Arco Lane, North Charleston, SC 29418-7001 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Charleston / Airport Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.