We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Electrical Issues / Kitchen Issues” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5045 North Arco Lane, North Charleston, SC 29418-7001 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
1 review
“Electrical Issues / Kitchen Issues”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hi, I stayed at the Extended Stay Hotel in Charleston (Extended Stay America Charleston - Airport) from 7/18/2014-7/20/2014.....During the time of our stay, the electricity went out 2 times on 2 different days.....The garbage disposal didn't work and the sink was backed up. No attempts to move rooms for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the power disruption was an inconvienence to you. I was also disheartened to read about the problem you experienced with the sink and that it was not repaired in a timely manner. In response to your feedback, I am sharing this with the entire team to ensure that these situations are handled in a timely and considerate manner. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at chabbick@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
7
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Pros

- Standard Extended Stay room with full size refrigerator, microwave, range, etc.
- Room was clean for the most part and everything was in good shape (I inspect
with a flashlight), although there was some debris underneath the bed, including
someone’s lost slipper. I notified the front desk and they and promptly cleaned it, so
all good after that
- Good quality flat screen TV with good selection of cable channels
- Courteous and helpful staff
- Good location with easy access to the beach and Downtown Charleston
- Hotel is located right next to a Super Walmart and Tanger Mall, so plenty
of food and shopping near by


Cons

- Swimming pool was out of service

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Drew - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Our staff truly appreciates your comments regarding the overall quality and cleanliness of our hotel. We apologize that you were unable to utilize the pool during your stay; however, we are glad that you had a comfortable, convenient stay with us.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pittsburg, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I loved this hotel. From the moment we arrived, the staff was pleasant and extremely accommodating. They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy. They gave us directions to places, recomendations on sights, and asked us how our trip was when we returned. They were always pleasant, even at midnight. Deborah and Sharia were the two we encountered most frequently and they always had a smile on and were extra sweet. We would recommend this hotel and if in the area again, will most defintiely stay there again.
Also it was centrally located to almost everything we wanted to see and was easy to access so many places, it turned out to be the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Erica - We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We appreciate the kind comments and are pleased to hear that our staff, especially Deborah and Sharia, provided you with superior service. We are glad that we could provide you with a comfortable and convenient stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our room was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and most helpful.The first floor was quite.My husband and I will return. Keep up the good work.only one complaint. You are still advertising a swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with our location, our friendly staff and your clean, quiet room. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our team. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another great stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

In town for a college graduation and stayed 2 nights. Hotel is very well located within walking distance to outlets and restaurants. Rooms are nice size and have full kitchens which was a nice surprise. It only took me 15 min. to drive to the downtown area and the staff was helpful with directions to the college campus. I enjoyed my time here and look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the convenience of having a full kitchen in your room and our convenient location. We truly appreciated having you as a guest and look forward to having you visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

myself and my 2 friends booked here for 2 nights for a mini vacation. upon arrival we found out that they had given away our double room and we got stuck with a single. So one night we all had to sleep together on a queen the next night 2 of us slept on the floor! In the defense of the girl at the counter she tried to get us a room at a sister hotel but everyone was booked. However she could have pulled someone else's reservation that didn't need a double maybe with only 2 people like they did us just we had 3!!! we booked a double and I called and confirmed days after I made the reservation...The room smelled funky a little, the shower took forever to get hot, the breakfast was anything but...we had ants in our "kitchen" ...no pool....the lock didn't work ... no cups for brushing teeth... there was a bullet hole in the TV and in the corresponding spot behind the TV!...bed was hard as sh*% THEY DIDN'T EVEN OFFER ME A DISCOUNT FOR THE 2 HORRIBLE NIGHTS OF SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS!!....the location was the only good thing. I will never stay there again/

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel so your not on the floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for your experience including the booking issues that you experienced during the check-in process and the level of cleanliness in your room. In response to your feedback, I will meet with the staff to review our reservations policy and cleaning procedures so that these issues do not affect our future guests. Your feedback regarding our free grab-and-go breakfast is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel.

If you would like to provide any additional comments, please feel free to contact me directly at, nct@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

not clean as it should be. Its nice but dirty. Staff lazy. Thank God no bugs crawling around or i would have left. The hallways smell like smoke / other substance. We slept wit lights on looking for bugs crawling around. No bugs. we kept our bags on top of kitcken counter zip up so if they did have bugs that.Had to go out and buy clorox cleaner and spray shower / Toilet its was all dirty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Your review was recently brought to my attention. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the level of professionalism displayed by some members of our staff and the level of cleanliness in your room. I will meet with the staff to review our guest protocol and cleaning procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Your feedback is very important to us. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at, nct@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport

Address: 5045 North Arco Lane, North Charleston, SC 29418-7001 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Charleston / Airport Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.