We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, convienient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   5035 International Blvd., North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value, convienient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday while visiting Charleston. Our party included my wife, two college-age children and myself. We stayed in a suite with two separate beds in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa. The room is a decent size with a nice kitchenette. We didn't make much use of the kitchenette but it seemed adequately stocked with dishes and utensils. The room was clean and in excellent repair. Two minor complaints: the bed mattress was a little firm for my tastes and the TVs would not always get reception on the basic channels. Not a big problem except when you want to watch football. The lobby area was nice and there was always coffee available. The coffee was good with flovored creamers, tea and decaf also available. The hot breakfast every morning was excellent. The scrambled eggs every day were really good, the buscuits and gravy on Sunday were fantastic. There was always plenty of food and plenty of seats. The manager's reception was only available Thursday, which was Thanksgiving. Just salad, cold cuts and potato salad but it was plenty for Thanksgiving evening. The soda fountain machine was a hit with the kids. Plenty of cold beer and wine was available. The staff were all friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location is extremely convienient for visiting Charleston and the surrounding area. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    39
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
51
28
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is exactly what you'd expect - a clean, modern, airport hotel. In a city like Charleston, it can be a little frustrating to stay so far away from all the history and not be a part of it like you would in one of the historic hotels. But for what this place is (an airport hotel that is moderately priced), it can't get much better. It's affordable, clean, modern, and comfortable. And the price is hard to beat in a town like Charleston. If you want history and proximity to the sites, don't stay here, but if you're looking for something nice and comfortable and don't mind a bit of a drive, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location for us worked well. We were close enough to Charleston without paying the high prices. Easy to find the bus tours. The staff are very friendly. The room itself was smaller than we have had before but was more than sufficient. The bed was comfortable and it was great to have two TVs. The room was quiet but the toilet sounded like it belonged in outer space - it was so loud when it flushed and it seemed to go on and on. We only stayed one night but if it was more I would have asked to be moved.

The evening social is a light supper. The night we were there it was to be meatloaf but it reminded me more of salisbury steak. It also had mashed potatoes and gravy. It was very good. My husband and I did not need to go out for supper. The one issue was that there were several men staying at the hotel and the meat went very quickly so we had to wait some time for more. There was beer on tap and three types of wine.

Breakfast in the morning was the usual fare. Coffee was good.

Room Tip: We were in room 401, it was in a corner and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here only one night before moving to the RI Charleston Downtown. The location near CHS is great and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The one-bedroom suite is spacious, with two very comfortable queen beds and adequate linens. Breakfast is typical of RI properties, and there is a complimentary Airport shuttle (which we did not use). Would I return? Sure, but only if the property goes thru a complete remodel. If not, then I would book the North Charleston RI which is less than a year old, just a few miles away and should be a lot more pleasant on the eye than this property.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I wound up staying here for a two week business trip. The furnishings are a little dated but the hotel is still first rate. The breakfast was good and always fresh. The staff are first rate. They are always friendly and ready to help. They more than make up for any issues with the decor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was a bit stunned at some of the reviews on this site. We stayed here during the PGA golf tournament and had a very positive experience.

When traveling with our daughters or another couple, we like to stay at a Residence Inn. It is a fairly predictable experience and we like to have a living area and kitchen. We have stayed at a couple of other Residence Inns in the past year - this was by far the nicest one. There were stainless steel appliances and the room appeared to have been recently renovated.

Because of the golf tournament, it must have been a very hectic week for the staff - but everyone we encountered was friendly and accommodating.

I really couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrews, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Have traveled to Charleston sveral years in a row and LOVE to stay here. We are always treated very well and room is always very clean.
Breakfast selection is good and fresh.
Love the market - bailed me out of a jam many times.
Overall, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport

Address: 5035 International Blvd., North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport welcomes you to the beautiful city of Charleston. Located minutes from the Charleston Airport, Charleston Convention Center/Performing Arts Center, Boeing, Charleston Air Force Base, Naval Weapons Station, FLETC, Blackbaud, Port of Charleston, historic downtown Charleston, and many other exciting attractions. Our 150 suites offer separate living and sleeping areas, plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining or meetings and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast in our gatehouse, and join us for our weekday evening hospitality hour. Take advantage of our outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and sport court. We look forward to seeing you throughout the spring season! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Residence Inn North Charleston
North Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.