We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interior is a little dated, but a nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   5035 International Blvd., North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interior is a little dated, but a nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located near the airport and downtown. It's not the nicest part of Charleston, but it's safe. The interior of the hotel needs some updating (TVs are old, decor is old and furniture/carpets are worn), but it's a decent place to stay for a good price. They have free breakfast and a Manager's Reception with free beer & wine. The pool is decent, but the lounge chairs are very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    47
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
53
33
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

This hotel was so bad we checked out aftre one night. The room was dingy, the TV was at least 20 years old and the mattress was probably older. It was so worn and soft that you coudl not sleep on it. The lines at breakfast were so long that it was hard to get to the food. If you put bread in the toaster you could not get back to get it. It was a bust sold out weekend but management did nothing to control the lines at breakfast. No way was this worth the money the hotel charged.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for my niece's graduation from MUSC because they had a 2 bedroom suite to fit all of us comfortably. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The staff was wonderful, answering all questions and even staying on the phone to give turn by turn directions to the grandparents coming to the hotel. Would recommend this to anyone - it's only 5 minutes outside of the city.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

we came for the wine and food festival and did not want to pay the high prices of downtown, so we stayed in north charleston where there are outlets, lots of restaurants and the hotels are half the price and just 15 minutes away. The hotel is near the interstate and the convention center, and is very clean and nice. we asked for and got a corner room. these are a bit quieter and a little larger, but don't have fireplaces as some of the other mariott hotels do. only the middle studio rooms have fireplaces. on the top floor you can hear the airplanes fly over in the daytime, but we did not notice them at night.The beds were soft and had crisp clean sheets and lovely decorated rooms. the breakfast is in a large room off the lobby, so you aren't crowded in, and you can get a tray and take it back to your room. oatmeal, fruit, eggs, sausage, toast, waffles, cereals, juices, yogurt.. mmmm! the staff was top notch and we were told that if you have a handicapped plackard and your handicapped registration with your drivers license, you can park in the municipal lots for FREE! Which is a good deal since parking is tough and $1.00 every half hour. So bring your handicapped friends and relatives with you! And stay at this hotel. and there is a Denny's restauruant close by that gives AARP members and their entire party a 20% discount on meals if they pay and show their AARP card. such a deal!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howyoudoit, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come stay with us again next year during the Food & Wine Festival! Thank you so much!

Dawn Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Enjoyed stay immensely. Rooms were clean and large. Good breakfast and happy hour. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We were staying here for a conference and pleasantly surprised at the size of our suite. The staff was very friendly and attentive when we had questions or needed anything. Having the kitchen made our stay so much more comfortable while unwinding in the evenings. The cookies at the front desk each weekday evening were really a nice treat. Thank you. The breakfast buffet was always loaded with just about everything you could want for breakfast. Their dinner buffet was also a surprise for us; we ate on the nights we could and I must say it was delicious and filling and relaxing knowing we did not have to get in the car and drive anywhere to get a bite to eat.
While we were busy during the day with our conference we didn’t have the opportunity to use any of the other facilities though they looked to be centrally located for guests use.
We will definitely recommend them for anyone wanting to stay in Charleston that is centrally located to many of the sights.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

I would like to say the the staff at this hotel are great. They make the experience here a good one. I noticed that each staff member spoke a hello or good morning, afternoon or evening to me. All the front desk staff were very perky, friendly and efficient. The breakfast room staff were always stocking the breakfast and taking away dirty plates. Breakfast was actually really good. Where the hotel looses some stars is that the building is very cheaply constructed with cheap materials. The cabinets in the kitchenette and bathroom were very dated. The hallway carpets were faded, bleach stained and hadn't been vacuumed much while I was there. Housekeeping also missed some things in my room such as some dirt on the carpet and there was also also something stuck on the bathroom floor tile when I checked in. I think housekeeping might be rushed or not trained to well. They were not paying attention to the details. The beds were made sloppy with wrinkled pillow cases. A toilet paper roll with 1/4 roll left on it was in the bathroom upon check in. When I would come back from my day the kitchen cabinets where the trash can is kept were always left wide open. Wireless internet was also slow in the hotel. Televisions could use an upgrade with flat panels and more channels. My stay here was good even though there were short falls. I would recommend the hotel if some of these items were addressed and taken care of for the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport

Address: 5035 International Blvd., North Charleston, SC 29418
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport welcomes you to the beautiful city of Charleston. Located minutes from the Charleston Airport, Charleston Convention Center/Performing Arts Center, Boeing, Charleston Air Force Base, Naval Weapons Station, FLETC, Blackbaud, Port of Charleston, historic downtown Charleston, and many other exciting attractions. Our 150 suites offer separate living and sleeping areas, plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining or meetings and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast in our gatehouse, and join us for our weekday evening hospitality hour. Take advantage of our outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and sport court. We look forward to seeing you throughout the spring season! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Residence Inn North Charleston
North Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.