We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Charleston Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added North Charleston Inn to your Saves list
North Charleston Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2934 West Montague Avenue, Interstate Highway 26 and West Montague Ave., North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cheap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Price was reasonable but the hotel is definitely worn, the other guests many are there long term and hang out on the walkways drinking. I would not feel safe staying in this hotel if I was travelling alone. Rooms appear somewhat clean but there were stains on the bedding, carpet, curtains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCIGM, General Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found that our rates to be economical during your stay. We are currently updating all of our rooms with fresh paint and carpet. We hope you have a chance to visit us again during your next trip through Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    78
    38
    30
    60
See reviews for
79
64
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
louisville,ky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

after some of the reviews, I was a little unsure. But at 47.99 a night, I was glad we decided to stay. this inn was nice, as we only used it to sleep and shower with all the vacation activites that we did. It does need a update, such as new t.v's. They still have tube t.v's. also, I think the side they put us on was where most of the out of town contractors stayed. it also appeared that a few people were actually living their. On checkout, I was a little surprised to see quite a few people in the breakfast area who also looked to be on vacation. didn't see these people at all on our stay, If I had I would have felt a little better about staying. Room was clean, drain in the tub worked fine, no bugs, and no maids entering when I put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. all in all it was great for the price

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCIGM, General Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are glad you found that you received great price for your accommodations. We are conveniently located 10 minutes from Downtown, a 20 minute drive to the beach, close to the airport, and great access to plenty of local restaurants. I'm sure you were able to experience some of these destinations during your vacation. We look forward to having you return to stay with us on your next Charleston vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel could be a lot better than it is, but for the price it's fine. In our room was a flier for "room service" which was a place that delivered food, and when I called they were friendly and very quick. The courtyard pool was surprisingly nice for being a cheaper hotel. The hotel rooms are very outdated and could use some TLC and a thorough cleaning. The outside areas could use some additional cleaning as there were cigarette butts and small pieces of garbage that were obviously laying there a while. Again, for the price it's fine but just some extra detailed cleaning, updated bed coverings and curtains would really make this a very fine hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor that faces inside to the courtyard/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCIGM, General Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our large pool an sun deck area. I appreciate your feedback on the room as well. We are in the process of re-carpeting all of the rooms as well as freshening up all the paint in the rooms. We hope you have a chance to visit us in the near future to see all of the renovations that are happening here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've found it to often be true around the country that non-chain hotels are where the traveling construction workers are housed. If you don't mind being hooted at by guys hanging over the rails at night (and I'm a 60 year old woman :) then this is the place for you! The grounds are lovely, the rooms fair, but the atmosphere just wasn't comfortable for myself, my sister and the couple we were traveling with.

Room Tip: From here on out I stick with the chains unless reviews on line are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCIGM, General Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I'm sorry that you felt uncomfortable around some of the other guests that were here during your stay. We always strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I am sorry you were "hooted" at by another hotel guest. Had you let us known, we would have been happy to relocate you to a room that you felt more comfortable with. I hope that you give us another chance as your experience is not at all indicative of the accommodations or service we strive to provide all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

With a location right off the interstate, its easy to find and go to "old Charleston" about 15 minutes away. Fairly meager breakfast often depleted with a barage of construction workers or van load of travelers. Our room was clean though the carpet was deeply stained, bathroom very clean, towels were very small and threadbare. I'm not sure of the price as someone else was paying but it should be fairly low if I were to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCIGM, General Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are currently in the process of placing new carpet in all of our rooms. We just had them all painted and the carpet was the next project in line. I am sorry to hear that you did not find everything you were looking for at our complimentary breakfast buffet. There is a pretty wide variety of items including assorted danishes, muffins, fresh fruit, 3 different cereals, assorted bagels and cream cheese, juice selection,freshly brewed coffee, toast, and made to order waffles. Our breakfast's do tend to be busy and we apologize if there was any item that I listed that was not available during your visit. We hope that you have a chance to visit us again and enjoy the new room upgrades that we have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place is approximately 7 miles north of the city of Charleston. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are OK. The place is a little old and the smell of stale smoke permeates the premises. But for the money, the place is OK and I would recommend it to those who want to spend their dollars on fine dining, tours, and exploring the city.

Room Tip: Stay on the inside since it can be very noisy if you stay in one of the rooms on the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCIGM, General Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time write your review of our hotel. I am always pleased to hear from our return guests and that you enjoyed your stay once again. You can't beat the convenience of our location and we are glad you had a chance to take advantage of our great breakfast! We hope that we have the time to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

spent 2 days here again and this is a fine alternative to the high priced hotels around the block in north Charleston. a pleasant staff, clean rooms and a fine breakfast. what else is needed?? right off the highway and close to many cafe's and shopping

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCIGM, General Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I am glad that you found all of the accomodations and amenities to your liking. We are very close to a lot of the attractions and restaurants as well as 10 minutes from downtown. We look forward to hosting you again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Charleston Inn

Address: 2934 West Montague Avenue, Interstate Highway 26 and West Montague Ave., North Charleston, SC 29418
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Charleston Inn is ideally located and central to Charleston's treasures. A block from the Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, and Coliseum. Sit and daydream around our lushly landscaped pool area, watch the game at The Arena Bar and Grill, and enjoy a buffet breakfast for only 99 cents. As a pet friendly hotel, we welcome man's best friend as well as their feline counterparts. Each of our rooms feature free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Charleston Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Charleston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.