We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the Comforts of Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5048 International Boulevard, North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Cruise for 4
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Wading River, New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“All the Comforts of Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

This hotel is located close to the airport in North Charleston, and is about a fifteen minute drive to the historic area. It was also a short drive away to Magnolia Place and Middleton Plantation. We had a one bedroom suite with a living room, king bedroom, and kitchen with a microwave, full size refrigerator and dishwasher. There were two flat screen TVs – one in the bedroom and one in the living room. The hotel seemed fairly new, and our suite was very clean and comfortable. The man at the front desk who checked us in was friendly and helpful, and greeted us by name every time we passed by. The fitness room had several machines and weights, and the business center had two computers and a printer. We didn’t use the outdoor pool, but it looked very clean and well maintained. The complimentary breakfast was very good, and consisted of hot and cold items and make your own waffles. Every night the management put out cookies by the front desk. There were plenty of fast food places and restaurants nearby. A Tanger Outlet Center and a Super Walmart were also very close. One thing we didn’t like was that our room had a view of the parking lot of a strip mall next door. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
46
5
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Just had to post a glowing review of the new Homewood Suites in Charleston. The staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond in making my stay a comfortable one. They picked me up from the airport, shuttled me downtown, happily gave me new keys when I inevitably lost mine... The room was well-appointed, the bed comfortable, two flat screen TVs - just excellent. This is a new hotel, only 100 days old when I was there so it is top of the line. I had to leave town before a large grand-opening celebration the hotel was hosting, which was a shame since I had become friendly with the staff.

I was in town for a convention, so the location was great - near the airport and across the street from the convention center. The kinkos right next door was a life-saver. It is a good 20 minute drive to downtown Charleston, so the Homewood Suites would probably be best suited to those in town on business.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is a VERY nice Homewood Suites. I visit Charleston several times a year and usually stay right downtown or at IOP but needed an airport location for this trip. This place was great!
Check-in was very quick and easy. The staff was very nice. Room was clean and well stocked. The location was perfect for a North Charleston hotel. You could walk to several dining options, the outlet mall... The airport is very close. This was nice since it let me sleep in a few more minutes. My husband, who is directionally challenged, was able to drop me off at the airport for my 6am flight and find his way back to the hotel within 15 minutes easy.

  • Liked — New and clean!!!
  • Disliked — Kids hanging out in the business center for long hours
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

This was our first stay at a Homewood Suites and they have won us over from Embassy Suites, our former hotel choice.

Pros: extremely welcoming and friendly, smiling staff; beautiful pool area; breakfasts with varying menus; spacious home-like suites with full kitchens; impeccable cleanliness of entire hotel; light dinners Mon-Thurs (which were actually filling for us). The night the staff grilled out bratwurst and Italian sausage, we were in the adjacent pool area and it reminded us of being at a friend's backyard barbeque.

Cons: airport/airplane noise during daytime/early evening hours, fire alarms went off (falsely) twice in one night (both well after midnight) causing us lost sleep. The front desk staff reported that had never happened there before.

We just can't say enough about the service at this hotel, from the front desk personnel who addressed us by name during our 2-night stay, to the smiling meal hosts. They gave the impression that our family was their top priority even though there were plenty of other guests. When we return to Charleston there's no doubt we'll stay at this Homewood Suites again.

  • Liked — Everything - see comments
  • Disliked — If I have to pick one airport noise but that's expected when a hotel is adjacent to an airport
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center

Address: 5048 International Boulevard, North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton® Charleston Airport/Convention Center in South Carolina is an award-winning extended stay hotel near the North Charleston Coliseum and Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Tanger Outlet Mall and area businesses including Boeing. Near the Charleston Airport, our hotel provides the comforts of home, with WiFi, a kitchen in your suite, complimentary hot full breakfast served daily, and evening dinner and drinks* provided Monday through Thursday. Choose to stay for a short or extended stay and experience our award winning hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Hotel North Charleston
North Charleston Homewood Suites
North Charleston Hilton
Homewood Suites North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.