We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9280 University Boulevard, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Rochester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A wonderful hotel located on the campus of Charleston Southern University.
Easy access to the interstate without the noise. Made a great base to explore the area from.
The only complaint my wife had was she didn't like the eggs!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    217
    55
    19
    8
See reviews for
366
231
40
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

For the price, the hotel is a nice place to stay. Nothing extraordinary. It is fairly clean. We did point out a few things at checkout that needed to be addressed (caulking mildewed under soap dish in shower, hair dryer just about to come off the wall, tear in the fabric of the foot cover, slow draining sink, and rust spots on sheets that were on the sofa bed). There was a worn out rubbery blanket in the closet for the sofa bed that did not feel good to the touch at all(I did not use due to my latex allergy). I requested a different blanket like what was on the King bed, but staff was unable to accommodate my request the first night. The TV channels were limited. The breakfast was good, but not enough seating area during a busy morning. There is a small outdoor hot tub and pool. We had to take towels out of the workout room for the pool. The housekeeping staff and hotel staff were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel has the makings to be a outstanding hotel. It just needs to make a few adjustments. The 4 pm check in...there needs to be more than one person manning the desk. Breakfast needs to be revised. It was very bland and not a lot of selection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

When we arrived there was hair on the bed. Had to kill a roach one night. Not enough setting at free breakfast and staff was less than friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We certainly apologize for the lack of customer service you stated you received. We pride ourselves on great customer service and it is disappointed in seeing that was not the case.

We hope that you would give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutman, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Everyone there was very polite and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Address: 9280 University Boulevard, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is conveniently in the quiet western nook on the Charleston Southern University campus. Our Wingate by Wyndham provides exceptional customer service, luxurious guestrooms, 2000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, and an overall astounding facility. We are prepared to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure audiences. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.