We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9280 University Boulevard, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    217
    55
    19
    8
See reviews for
366
231
40
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've used this hotel 4 times since January, 2011. My last stay was October, 2012.. The rates are reasonable and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. A very nice variety of breakfast foods is included in the price. I am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham. We are grateful you took the time to share your experience and we are honored by you recommending us to others. We look forward to your next visit and we appreciate the opportunity to provide you with the best choice for lodging in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very clean and well kept. Friendly staff. extremely good price and I would say, the best value for money in the western emisphere!
The beds are large and comfortable and so are the rooms and bathrooms with plenty of toiletries and towels.
As a European the only thing that I found a bit disconcerting was that one cannot open the window to get a bit of fresh air but the air conditioning works very well and the insulation is perfect so you barely notice that the hotel is not far from the highway.
Will definitely try to stay at other hotels of the same chain, hoping they keep the same standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham. We are grateful you took the time to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the many things you liked about the room. We apologize if the windows not opening caused any inconvenience during your stay. Again, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We got a room here after searching a discount booking website. The 20 minute drive from our vacation attraction spot was worth it for the service and quality we experienced. Normally rates are a little pricy for obvious reasons. We enjoyed being fed like royalty each morning (sausage, eggs, bagels, waffles, muffins, oats, yogurt, granola, fruit, etc.) and geing given great tips as to where to grab a fun meal or get in on what's going on in the city each evening. The desk clerks and cleaning staff were all so kind and helpful. We couldn't help noticing that one of the staff members was on a first name basis with us and other guests before we left. They really seem to care.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham. We are grateful you took the time to share your experience. We are conveniently situated on I-26 to make for a quick 15 mile drive to downtown Charleston. This area is constantly growing and adding more and more choices for dinning. Our front desk has list of the many diverse restaurants that deliver. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at our Wingate and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel overall. My husband and I and a friend stayed here for one night on our east coast road trip. The place was a good 15 mins from the downtown Charleston, but was half the price of the hotels there. It was clean, beds were comfortable and the breakfast was decent. Would recommend for an overnight stay, but if you are planning on staying in Charleston for 3+ days, the drive might become a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham. We are grateful you took the time to share your experience. We are conveniently located on I-26 to make for a quick 15 mile drive to downtown Charleston. Because we are in North Charleston we are able to offer high quality lodging at a fraction of what you would pay staying downtown Charleston. We are happy for the opportunity to service you and we are pleased you enjoyed our Wingate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Address: 9280 University Boulevard, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is conveniently in the quiet western nook on the Charleston Southern University campus. Our Wingate by Wyndham provides exceptional customer service, luxurious guestrooms, 2000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, and an overall astounding facility. We are prepared to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure audiences. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.