We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend trip to see my daughter which goes to charleston southern university” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9280 University Boulevard, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    217
    54
    19
    8
See reviews for
366
230
40
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
WILMINGTON
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a long drive, we arrived about 1 pm and were pleasantly surprised to be able to check in early. The hotel is set back from the main highways and is very attractive with nice landscaping. The location is right off I26 which makes it easy to go into Charleston ( about 30 minutes). The room was large with 2 queen size beds and nice sized bathroom. Since it was on the 4th floor and faced a wooded area, it was very quiet. The staff member at the Front Desk was very helpful in providing us with a map of Charleston and suggestions for places to see and to dine. All of the staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite good with a nice variety - fruit, yogurt, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, sausage, pastries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for staying at Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham. We are grateful you took the time to share your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your complimentary hot breakfast bar, our staff, and your overall stay. We look forward to your next visit and we appreciate the opportunity to provide you with the best choice for lodging in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GETTYSBURG
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wonderful place to stay! Excellent in all regards, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for staying at Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham. We are grateful you took the time to share your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and we appreciate the opportunity to provide you with the best choice for lodging in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

pretty decent place to stay, breakfast was awesome & so was the service, we got there quite early and the staff let us checked in way before check in time. The sign for the Wingate needs to be bigger, past the Motel twice before I noticed it.....other than that it was well worth the stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing Charleston’s Wingate by Wyndham! The hotel can be a bit hard to find on your first visit since you have to turn onto Charleston Southern University’s Campus to get to the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your complimentary hot breakfast bar. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORDOVA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location of the hotel was great for us to move about the city. We enjoyed the breakfast as well as the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! We are conveniently situated on I-26 to make for a quick 15 mile drive to downtown Charleston. It does make traveling the area easy. We are pleased you enjoyed your complimentary hot breakfast bar. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Address: 9280 University Boulevard, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is conveniently in the quiet western nook on the Charleston Southern University campus. Our Wingate by Wyndham provides exceptional customer service, luxurious guestrooms, 2000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, and an overall astounding facility. We are prepared to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure audiences. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard Hotel North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.