We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below par for an Aloft” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Charleston

Save Saved
You added Aloft Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4875 Tanger Outlet Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #26 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Below par for an Aloft”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've stayed a number of Aloft hotels of late and I have to say this one is unfortunately by far the worst. The location isn't too bad - right near Charleston's airport - but the service and amenities have been very hit and miss. My room was not made up two days when I stayed here - one I understand because it was Christmas but the other time they just plain forgot. Toss into that they forgot to replace the used coffee one time when the room was serviced, and I feel like it was housekeeping falling down on the job.

Also of note to mention is the $6 breakfast buffet. Now I understand some hotels feel the need to charge for their breakfast offering, but what you get for what you pay is hardly worth it. A hockey puck like egg something, stale croissants and bananas at the tale end of their shelf life.

The room itself is fine - typical Aloft fare. The shower amenities are nice, bed is comfortable, etc. Parking is plenty. Service at the front desk generally good. It is unfortunate other items mar the overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    76
    66
    26
    25
See reviews for
59
78
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We are SPG platinum preferred members and I must say, BOOK ELSEWHERE!! This property was probably nice at some point...however could use some renovations. We thought the staff was nice, but the accommodations were shoddy and disappointing. We will never stay at this property again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I gave it 5 stars all the way around. Great rooms, pool, exercise room. Bar and nice meeting area in the lobby. Ultra modern look from the lobby to the rooms. Check the prices, I booked thru Priceline and the room was about $71.00 all told.
Its 1 minute away from the Tangers outlet stores and tons of places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

a really nice place to stay!1 pice is well within reason, staff is very competent and friendly, clean and just overall very nice place to stay. we went just to check it out because of the pool. we found amm the extras here at this hotel and plan to return many timein the future as we often travel into charleston for a two day or more visit! we already booked for new years eve ect and cannot wait ro return!!

Room Tip: do not miss out on staying here!! well worth being here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is obviously trying to be hip. Its playing off the W brand but its falling short in almost all categories. The check in person was busy on her cell phone, the rooms are SMALL and pretty simple and or low quality. The sliding door between the (small) bathroom and the toilet was broken and was never fixed. The bed was not very comfortable and the A/C is one of these old in-room units that blows uncontrollable all night, never getting the temperature right. The carpet felt sticky and dirty, the first night I tried to call for a wake up call but nobody picked up the phone. The next day I scheduled a wake up call with the desk, but the call never came.In the afternoon I tried to grab a drink, but the bar was not open at about 5 pm. I am a SPG platinum member and I usually enjoy staying in Starwood brands, but this one was a fail. There are better choices right around that hotel - go there....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First stay at an Aloft hotel. Stayed for one night. Everything was clean and standard as expected. I heard no noise from any neighbors. The hotel didn't seem overly busy though. Plenty of sitting room in the lobby and even outside. Even has an indoor pool.

The front staff was very friendly but not overly enthusiastic. The check in and check out could not have been easier. They were so nice to let us have a late checkout, so we could take showers after running a half-marathon in the morning.

Has a nice modern feel to it with a cool bar that's open in the evening. Play some pool for free if you like. Location is super convenient to the outlets and interstate access. No Charleston charm here, but we knew that ahead of time.

One fun oddity: You don't fill your ice bucket at the end of your hall. You grab a bag out of the freezer by the reception.

The only downside was the slow and buggy internet. Also, the door closing is exceptionally loud if you don't close the doors carefully. I would stay at this location again.

i would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here for the nights.

Here's what I noticed right off the bat!

a) Hallways on the 4th floor were filthy. When you walked on the carpet it felt like the carpet was sticky. The walls were scratched and marked as was the door to my door. By the last day the halls had been picked up.

b) The bathroom door in 402 is mirrored and there was a two foot crack on the mirror. Plain as day there it was.

c) The chair at my desk was designed for a very short person. Plus the desk was about large enough for my notebook laptop.

d) Oddly on the night stand were ear plugs...why you ask! Every one of the nights I was there a train with a loud whistle came by the hotel. For 15-45 minutes...all you can hear is the whistle.

e) Lastly the steam iron went from kinda sorta works to dead by the time I left.

So why did I stay there. Simple corporate travel sent me there as the nightly rate was only $89/night. So for that amount of money you got what you paid for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charleston

Address: 4875 Tanger Outlet Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charleston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the finer things, choose the Aloft Charleston - Experience true southern hospitality at its best. Drop by the WXYZ Bar to mix and mingle with some of our A Lister guests! Located just minutes from the historic district, shopping, dining,and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aloft Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charleston Airport And Convention Center
Aloft Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Aloft North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.