We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Feel. Nothing special. Nothing disappointing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Charleston to your Saves list
Aloft Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4875 Tanger Outlet Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern Feel. Nothing special. Nothing disappointing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First stay at an Aloft hotel. Stayed for one night. Everything was clean and standard as expected. I heard no noise from any neighbors. The hotel didn't seem overly busy though. Plenty of sitting room in the lobby and even outside. Even has an indoor pool.

The front staff was very friendly but not overly enthusiastic. The check in and check out could not have been easier. They were so nice to let us have a late checkout, so we could take showers after running a half-marathon in the morning.

Has a nice modern feel to it with a cool bar that's open in the evening. Play some pool for free if you like. Location is super convenient to the outlets and interstate access. No Charleston charm here, but we knew that ahead of time.

One fun oddity: You don't fill your ice bucket at the end of your hall. You grab a bag out of the freezer by the reception.

The only downside was the slow and buggy internet. Also, the door closing is exceptionally loud if you don't close the doors carefully. I would stay at this location again.

i would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    85
    76
    27
    28
See reviews for
60
88
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here for the nights.

Here's what I noticed right off the bat!

a) Hallways on the 4th floor were filthy. When you walked on the carpet it felt like the carpet was sticky. The walls were scratched and marked as was the door to my door. By the last day the halls had been picked up.

b) The bathroom door in 402 is mirrored and there was a two foot crack on the mirror. Plain as day there it was.

c) The chair at my desk was designed for a very short person. Plus the desk was about large enough for my notebook laptop.

d) Oddly on the night stand were ear plugs...why you ask! Every one of the nights I was there a train with a loud whistle came by the hotel. For 15-45 minutes...all you can hear is the whistle.

e) Lastly the steam iron went from kinda sorta works to dead by the time I left.

So why did I stay there. Simple corporate travel sent me there as the nightly rate was only $89/night. So for that amount of money you got what you paid for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As a starwood employee I expected more when I walked through the door. The staff were friendly but did not meet the standards of a starwood branded hotel. The front desk agent was very nice but looked a hot mess, nails dirty, clothes wrinkled, hair all over the place and it seemed she was still wearing make-up from the night before. She is the first thing guests see when they walk in the door, she should have fixed herself up before she came to work. The room smelled like a highschool boy's locker room but was clean. The beds are not comfortable as my friends and I all woke up with back aches. Besides that the room itself was in a perfect location on the floor so we heard no outside noise and slept peacefully. The next morning on departure we passed by a couple of housekeepers in the worse street clothes you could think of, why are they not in uniform? The hotel is in a great location next to shops and restaurants and only about 15 min to downtown. I would stay again but would like to see a little bit more class. Employees should be coached on appearance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are part of a group playing the Coliseum, this hotel is wonderful! Within walking distance and close to many restaurants and shopping. We didn't have much time to enjoy the restaurants and room service wasn't functioning when we were there. But overall, just a terrific stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeline R, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Charleston, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We where glad to hear you had a buzzing time at the Aloft Hotel. Please the next time your in town please buzz on in and we would be happy for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a change of pace and was not impressed. The hotel is fairly new but not maintained well at all. The door to my bathroom did not work and the outlet in the bath area was not in working order either. The hotel was also very noisy. I could hear the elevator all the way down the hall. They were nice enough to offer a set of ear plugs in the room. I am sure I was not the first to complain about it. Won't be back. They are a little too impressed with their image but don't deliver any value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeline R, Front Office Manager at Aloft Charleston, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
I am sorry that you ddi not like the Aloft Style with a Twist concept. We are sorry that we did not live up to yours and our standards and providing 100% customers statisfaction. We just wanted to let you know how deeply sorry we where. We do hope that maybe sometime in the future you might give us another shot.


Angeline Richards
Assistant General Manager
Aloft Charleston Airport & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The best part of the 3 week trip was the bar, go figure. Really, the staff was amazing. Especially Cody, one of the bartenders there who made the 3 weeks somewhat enjoyable. She provided great location to visit and always kept the atmosphere at the bar alive. The Hotel overall is retro, cool place to stay for a few days. The room is interesting if you are looking for a new take on a business trip stay then try this place out. I do warn the bed's are not comfortable at all. The breakfast is sort of a bust.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeline R, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Charleston, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are buzzed to hear you had a great time at the WXYZ bar and sad to hear about your other issues. I am sorry that the beds where not comfortable for you and that breakfast was not to your likeing. We do take pride in all our guest walking away happy and hope this does not stop you from buzzing on in the next time you our in town.



Angeline Richards
Assistant General Manager
Aloft Charleston Airport & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

It was hard for us to find at night - many of the exterior lights were burned out.

This is rated at a 2 star - normally Aloft runs about 3 star. The property is not maintained as well as the other Aloft properties we have visited - large crack in the rooms window, equipment in the room is battered, plastic instead of glasses for drinking in-room, carpet stained in places...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charleston

Address: 4875 Tanger Outlet Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the finer things, choose the Aloft Charleston - Experience true southern hospitality at its best. Drop by the WXYZ Bar to mix and mingle with some of our A Lister guests! Located just minutes from the historic district, shopping, dining,and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charleston Airport And Convention Center
Aloft Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Aloft North Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.