We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Nance Street, Newberry, SC 29108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Book Early
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lakeland, United States
1 review
“Hampton Inn Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have found consistent quality in our stays at Hampton Inns across the country. This one did not disappoint us. It is nice to have reasonable rates for above average accomodations. Plus,in most of the places we visit we can find a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hampton Inn stands for quality and cleanliness and we dedicate our time to making sure our guests feel comfortable, safe and taken care of when staying with us. We are so delighted that you choose Hampton Inns and that we deliver the kind of service that keeps you coming back and looking for us in every town you travel to. We hope your journey will bring you through Newberry again just so we can say hello again and but until then travel safely and enjoy the upcoming holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    76
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
72
74
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berry South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

after staying in choice hotels and being disappointed we stayed in a Hampton INN and loved it. The hotel was a little ways of the interstate but it was very nice. If you are staying in Newberry it is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are so excited that you found us and would love for you to stay in our Hilton properties. If you travel quite a bit you might want to check into our Hilton Honors program. It offers points with each stay that can be turned into complimentary nights. If you fly, you can earn points on your flyer miles and so many other benefits. The next time you stay at any of our properties, someone can assist you and answer your questions or you can call Hilton Honors at 1-800-548-8690. If your travels bring you back to Newberry, we would love to have you stay with us again. Thank you again for making it Hampton where we care about your stay with us! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were just passing through on our way to Charleston. Realized is was the area our daughter-in-law's revolutionary war ancestory's were from so we made reservation to stay there and see what we could find regarding her family. The chamber in Newberry was outstanding. If you are going to the Newberry Opera - great place to stay. Can walk to shops and bars. People in town were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your experience. Many people enjoy staying in our downtown location because we are within walking distance of the Opera House, shops and restaurants. I hope you had success in learning some interesting history about your daughter-in-law's ancestors. Newberry has a lot of interesting history and intriguing stories about many people. We would love to have you pass by again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is very clean and well-kept. The staff were all friendly and the experience was very positive. The ONLY thing that keeps this from 5 stars is that there is a railroad crossing nearby and the train horn blows at all hours. This is very unpleasant to be woken up to at 4am!

I travel often for business and this is one of the best I've stayed at.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your sweet review of our staff who work hard to make sure our guest receive excellent care and service while staying with us and provide a clean and positive atmosphere. The train, the train, the train.....why must it travel at night and blow its horn ever so loud at the railroad crossing while our guests are sleeping? We do apologize that we cannot make the train use it's quiet voice in the middle of the night, however, I will purchase some ear plugs and put them in the If By Magic Box at front desk and the next time you are in town for business ask the clerk for a pair. We wish you safe travels to all the places your business takes you and hope you will always make it Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The room was clean with a sink in the bathroom and another one outside. Room overlooked the pool area which looked very nice. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great with eggs, waffle maker and fresh bagels and muffins. I was woken up by train noise once. The hotel has available a booklet for a self-guided walking tour of the historic town of Newberry, which is useful if you're there on a weekend because mostly every shop, bakery and restaurant is closed. Most close by 2:30 on Saturday, but we did go into a couple shops that were open until 5. There are many vacant storefronts and almost nothing at all open on Sunday. And this was homecoming weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed staying in our clean and comfortable rooms, enjoyed the hot all American breakfast and utilized our information table and interacted with the staff. Newberry has several exciting novelty shops along our historic downtown where one is certain to find that one special treasure find they must have. Newberry is such a family oriented town and many of our local shop owners are closed to embrace that precious family time. Thank you for experiencing the beauty of our quaint little town and we hope you will come back and embellish the downtown shops when they are open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was sitting in the lobby of this hotel drinking a cup of coffee and heard the desk clerk and sales manager talking on the phone with a mother who was frantic because she had a daughter with a child stranded on the side of the road. The sales manager left to go get them. I sat around to see what would happen. When they returned, the sales manager came in and made them comfortable and fixed them a cup of hot chocolate. The daughter had a dog with them as well and since this Hampton Inn is not a pet friendly hotel, the desk clerk and sales manager helped them find one that was. The sales manager then drove the lady and her small daughter to that hotel. This is true Hampton service and hospitality. This act of kindness is why we love staying in Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your response. It was my pleasure to help this mother who was frantic and far away to get her daughter and granddaughter somewhere safe and off the road where they were broke down. As a mother, I tried to imagine if that were my child would there be an earth angel sent to help them? As a Hampton Inn employee we are always looking for opportunities to deliver great customer service while embracing hospitality, empathy, love, genuine concern and maybe a little unexpected delight even if it takes us beyond the walls of the hotel. I am delighted that I was able to demonstrate this kind of service to this woman and her daughter and granddaughter even though we had to find them other accommodations since they had a pet and my heart smiles that you were able to witness it and confirm that Hampton Inn cares about their guests when they stay with us. Thank you for making it Hampton and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newberry,sc, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel was remodeling. Had to wait to check in. No restaurants were open in town. The room was dusty and wife became sick. Train noise throughout the night made sleeping difficult. Left a day earlier than planned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
The General Manager and I appreciate your response. We do apologize that your room was not ready when you arrived early in the day.Housekeeping worked efficiently to get your room ready before check in time. We understand your frustration that the local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel are privately owned and are closed on Sunday and Mondays, but we do have several other wonderful sit down restaurants in Newberry that are open on Mondays. The train can be an inconvenience and we try to make our guests aware of this by listing it on our website and on their keys at check-in so they are aware of it. While we may not be able to fix the restaurant hours or train schedule, we take great concern when our guests are not satisfied when staying with us. It would be our pleasure to have you come back for a night on us and we would be happy to recommend a wonderful sit down restaurant for you. We look forward to having you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House

Address: 1201 Nance Street, Newberry, SC 29108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Newberry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House Hotel Newberry
Newberry Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.