We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel- a great stop on our way to the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Truman Ave., Newberry, SC 29108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel- a great stop on our way to the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stopped here for one night on our way to a weeklong vacation at Myrtle Beach. Located right off interstate but very quiet. Newberry (about 2 miles from hotel) is a great town with lots of restaurants and shopping. This is a fairly new property and the decor/design has more of an upscale feel. Wonderful breakfast, friendly employees and very clean room. We had a fridge which was great for items we wanted to keep chilled from our travel cooler. A great stop for families and would seem perfect for business travelers also. This is one of the best HI express we have found!

Room Tip: Very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
16
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife, daughter, and I were on our way to Charleston, SC and needed to find a convenient hotel to stay on our way to make our drive short for our ultimate destination. We had planned to stay in Columbia but instead stopped in Newberry and decided to stay at this hotel. I can't emphasize how nice this hotel was. Below are some observations:
THE STAFF, everyone we met was wonderful especially Phyllis who coordinated the entire breakfast.
This hotel is either brand new or is just very clean.
Nice flat screen tv in our standard dual queen bed room.
Mini fridge and microwave in our room as well.
There was an indoor pool, exercise room, and business center.
Free WIFI in every room. The pillows were also plentiful and even marked indicating soft or hard.
Finally I can't go on enough about the Express breakfast. You won't find a typical continental breakfast featuring donuts, juices, and cereals. Of course those items were present but there was also: eggs with cheese, sausage pattys, hardboiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, and the best was the pancake maker. The pancake maker you push a button and it automatically makes four pancakes!
If you need to stop at a convenient hotel while traveling or visiting Newberry don't miss this one!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stopped here late at night (after 10:30P) on our way back home during a long road trip (West Michigan to Cocoa Beach, FL) with our two tween daughters and in 5 minutes we were in our clean, comfortable room! This place looks brand new, inside and out. The room was spacious enough for the four of us and we had everything we needed for a quick, overnight stay.

The beds were comfortable and everything was nice and clean (a prerequisite for me!). Big screen TV (we didn't use) and plenty of space—even in the bathroom, too. The continental breakfast (6:30-10:00AM) was adequate and pretty good, with coffees, juices, yogurt, eggs, sausage, bacon, muffins, bagels, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, pancake maker and limited fresh fruit (bananas only, I think). But to me you can't ask for more for a quick breakfast. Everything was very good.

The location of the hotel was a bit strange to me; after exiting the highway, it's the only hotel in the immediate area, with some other industrial buildings and construction going on right next to it. But being right off the highway was a convenience to us since we were to get right back on the next morning and didn't have a reason to explore the area at all. This is not a negative, just an observation (in case someone is expecting to find retail or restaurants by their lodging). Perhaps there was more to the area farther off the highway, but we didn't find out.

Overall, a clean, pleasant stay and good night's sleep! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

While traveling from Ky to Myrtle Beach, we stayed at HIE in Newberry, Sc. Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff, great breakfast. comfortable beds. We got there last, so we didnt get to go to the pool, but it looked very nicely kept. I will brag on the staff. They were all so friendly. They really made you feel welcome. If you are traveling through SC, I would recommend staying at the Holiday Inn Express, Newberry :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We got to the hotel after 9:30 pm and they kept the pool and spa open late for my wife and I. We got an amazing nights sleep! Room was awesome! Great Breakfast! Great Staff! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

While traveling home from our vacation we had some car trouble and stayed at this HIE for almost four days. The general manager & staff were the most courteous & helpful, made us feel at "home". This hotel is located right off the highway, but still quite. The rooms were clean, the complimentary breakfast had a variety of items to accommodate everyone, and the indoor pool was warm. I even left my little boy's shoe behind and they were so helpful in locating and getting it back home to us! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! We couldn't have asked for anything more, except for our car to go home! ;) Bottome line: Great place, Great Service, Would stay again! : )

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newberrygm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
We appreciate your wonderful comments and we are glad that we were able to assist you in your time of need! We will look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry

Address: 121 Truman Ave., Newberry, SC 29108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Newberry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new, latest generation Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newberry, SC! This hotel was designed for the most discerning business or leisure traveler. We are located directly off of I-26 at Exit 76 (Hwy 219/Main St.). Amenities include wireless high-speed Internet access and hard-wired access for additional security for Govt. Employees or those needing secured VPN access. Our 24-hour business center has two computers and a laser printer. Purchase beverages, frozen entrees and treats from our 24-hour sundry shop, or use the 24-hour guest laundry. Begin your new day with our fresh, hot Express Start breakfast. Our fitness center offers gym-quality equipment, including Startrac treadmill, elliptical cross-trainer, and a multi-function cabled weight machine. Swim in our indoor heated pool sanitized through a saline system, which has no caustic or harmful byproducts. We even thought of the events people may have so call today to book our meeting/function rooms. Our business travelers will love the proximity to nearby companies such as Caterpillar, Komatsu and Schweitzer-Mauduit. Other nearby corporations include International Paper Company, Georgia-Pacific, & Louis Rich Company. There is plenty to see and do in Newberry, including: Historic Downtown (4 miles), the Newberry Opera House, Enoree River Vineyard, Newberry County Historical Museum, Carter & Homes Orchids, Newberry College, or tee-up a round of golf at Mid-Carolina Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newberry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.