We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the side trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pie

The Flying Pie
1506 Main Street, Newberry, SC 29018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 41 Restaurants in Newberry
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth the side trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

On our way to Charleston we stopped at the Flying Pie in Newberry, SC, it was a bit out of the way, but we were wanting a break. Nice restaurant in an older building, quaint tables that appeared to be second hand store type, but comfortable. Wife tried something new, Cream of Dill Pickle soup, she said it was wonderful. We both had paninis, mine was the Express, hers A Whole Lot of Portabello. We split and both were great. We travel this direction fairly regularly and will stop again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    8
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great possibilities but doesn't follow thru”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here looking for somewhere to eat on our way home from HHI. Didn't want fast food really, but nothing was open but The Flying Pie.

Went in and had to walk through the dining room to find the hostess stand. Standing there was a guy that took a few minutes to acknowledge us standing there. As I was waiting I look around and on each empty table was piled with dirty plates. Didn't think much about it, it's the only place open on Sunday and they offer brunch. Must have been a busy morning.

We were seated and it took another 5 or so minutes to get our drink order taken... Then we were told they were out of ice. That's ok, we ordered water and coke. I ordered a grilled chicken salad and my boyfriend ordered shrimp on a cloud. Shrimp with grits and a tomato vodka sauce. It came out and looked nothing like what we expected. It was soupy in a bowl. Check out the picture. He complained it was bland. My salad was ok. Not the best or worst I've ever had. Waitstaff seemed overwhelmed and exhausted. There were only two servers for the place.

The restrauants interior is shabby chic, but the furniture was uncomfortable and felt as if the booth was going to break at any point.

Tables didn't get bused and service was ok. It's almost as if someone had a idea for an awesome resturant and can't iron out the details. It wouldn't take much. That's what's upsetting.

This could be a really great resturant. Food looked great, but there were just minor issues that can be fixed easily. I just wouldn't come back until the "bugs" get worked out.

    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow. Desserts to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stopped in last Saturday for a cup of coffee and tried their cupcakes and gelato. WOW! The gelato was velvety smooth and the flavor was incredible...a chocolate orange i think. They use a local dairy to hand craft their own gelatos. And the cupcakes, well let’s just say we had to get seconds! Very cute presentation too, baked in a teacup, served warm with a surprise of melted white chocolate in the center! I can’t wait to try their pizzas given the quality of their coffee and desserts.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Geat Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Good Food great atmosphere! Really great family resturant! Not just pizza to choose from and prices are good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Casual, friendly atmosphere--great food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is not your usual pizzeria, so don't let the name fool you. Yes, they do serve pizza, but they also have a variety of items on their menu. The atmosphere is very casual, friendly, and relaxed. The wait staff appears to be mostly students from the local college. The owners are a couple. The wife is the chef and the husband is the manager. We had a nice conversation with him while we were waiting for our food. We actually ate there twice--for lunch and again for an after-the-concert snack. The sandwiches were better than average, with very fresh ingredients. We just had some appetizers at night. The crab cakes were divine. A new addition to the menu was pepperoni points, and they were out of this world--lots of cheese and pepperoni in a very thin wrap of what tasted like a homemade dough. The beer selection is large, and has very interesting selections. The Coney Island Lager was delicious. This a treasure of a restaurant for a small town. It's unusual to find the combination of great food, a creative menu, and modest prices.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Pie also viewed

 

Been to The Flying Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.