We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year's Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blue to your Saves list
Hotel Blue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Tropical Winds)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up To 50% Off Winter!
Ranked #107 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Chatham, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a great New Year's stay at Hotel Blue. Check-in was in Room 214, great that the hotel is adding even more amenities, therefore the usual "check-in desk" was unavailable. There were signs pointing all guest in the right direction for smooth check-in.

Staff were all very nice and accommodating, from desk staff to housekeeping. Room was very clean and housekeeping kept our room stocked with clean towels. Awesome job to the housekeeping staff!

Great value for the money!!! Wireless internet worked very well. In other reviews guests had noted problems with hot water, no problems during my stay.

If you are heading to Myrtle Beach give Hotel Blue a try :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to write such a wonderful review for us. We are so excited that you rang in the New Year with us and would like to thank you for your outstanding comments on the staff, we are excited to pass those along. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    269
    141
    120
    273
See reviews for
381
371
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I live in Surfside Beach, and he surprised me with an ocean front room at Hotel Blue for my 25th birthday. Everything was wonderful! I loved everything about the room...the comfy king sized bed, the balcony overlooking the ocean, the tile floors, the heat light in the bathroom ceiling, the beachy curtains, a ton of counter spce in the bathroom. The room also came with a fridge big enough for a birthday cake, a case of beer, and two boxes of Miyabi leftovers...AND a microwave and coffee pot. There was also plenty of storage for people staying longer than one night and our room was available as a suite, although we only rented one room. We had some friends over and there was a little table we could all sit at... again... every single thing was perfect for what we needed...very clean. Great experience! We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for that outstanding we review. We are so excited that you stayed with us for such a special Birthday. Happy Birthday once again! We are glad that you enjoyed your room and agree cant beat the views. We look forward to seeing you again, hopfully very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Spent the holiday at Hotel Blue. Nice getaway. Staff friendly and attentive to a slight maintenance problem. Hot water was a problem...took forever to run hot in the shower but never ran hot at the sink to wash dishes. I never go to be beach in the summer so If you aren't expecting luxury but want a great view and a comfortable bed this place works....

Room Tip: Higher up better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy day to post a review for us. We would like to apologize for any issues you had while staying with us. We are glad that you decided to stay with us for your holiday escape and thank you for your comments on the staff, we strive to do our very best. We hope that you will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Hotel Blue for my birthday Dec. 15th-17th. Upon arrival there was construction being done so we had to go up a ramp to a room on the Second Floor to check in. Check-in was done in a matter of minutes, and the rewards card was explained before we left to our room (That free card comes in handy.) The King Oceanfront Room seemed smaller than hotel I've stayed at in the past, the room showed some wear-and-tear, and the water took forever to warm up, but the VIEWS WERE AMAZING. I can't speak for housekeeping because we didn't utilize it, but parking was great. The only sketchy thing about my stay was that Monday night my boyfriend sat in the car to talk and smoke a cigarette at 10:30pm (since the hotel charges like 250 for smoking in the room). When we began to walk to our room we heard talking on the garage floor below us. After going back to our room, my boyfriend walked back to the car, only to find a staff member walking the hall and entering a room. All in all my stay was okay, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment out to write a review for us. We are so excited that you spent your birthday with us. We are re-doing are lobby with a new lobby bar and starbucks but we are are glad that your check in was quick..In the winter months we utilize staff to assist us in inspecting empty rooms (more eyes are better than one) this is to ensure everyones stay is outstanding and helps the staff familiarize themselves with the layouts of the rooms for reservation purposes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and coudlnt agree with you more, the views of the ocean are outstanding. We hope to see you again very soon. Happy Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel Blue is well located. Furniture is past due and need to be updated. Getting only 4 dishes and sets of spoons-forks-knives is not enough specially when we don't have a dishwasher.

Main problem is the lack of hot water, somedays I needed to let the water running before getting "warm" water from the shower or sink. And even after getting some hot water in the shower the water would go from hot to very cold to very hot temperature.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for posting a review for us. We would like to apologize for any issues you had while staying with us and have passed your comments onto the appropriate manager. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Hotel Blue a few times and every time I love it! The staff is very friendly the views from the room are amazing! Great place to come for a girls weekend get away!! Love the pool and the easy beach access!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review for us. We just love our returning guests and look forward to seeing them again and again. We agree cant beat those views of the ocean. Give us a call on your next girlfriends weekend. Hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Pros:
-Great price for value
-Excellent, incredible view
-As close as you can get to the beach shore
-Our room came with a well-stocked kitchenette -- we made a 2-person Thanksgiving dinner in here ;)
-There is a pool bar and a cafe. We visited in November, so both were closed, but I'm giving them some benefit of the doubt here for the summer months...
-Most room furnishings were nice
-Our room was clean and in nice condition

Cons:
-Stingy on some supplies -- one bar of soap, in the bathroom only. Would have appreciated some soap or dishsoap for the kitchen sink, esp. considering the room supplied dishes! Coffeemaker, but no coffee.
-Very firm bed and pillows. If you like firm sleeping, this is the room for you! But we'd have preferred way softer. Blankets were kinda scratchy, too.

Room Tip: There is a drive-up parking deck so you can park on the same floor as your room. The deck only goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy day to write a review for us. We would like to apologize for any issues you had while staying with us. We are always improving our resort and are currently working on getting new mattresses. Thank you for your comments on the kitchen and the views, we agree you cannot beat the ocean front views. We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.