We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blue to your Saves list
Hotel Blue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Tropical Winds)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up To 50% Off Winter!
Ranked #106 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Anderson SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family won't be staying here ever again. At first glance it looks okay, but take a closer look....Roaches in the kitchen, itchy beds with nasty bases and top covers with holes in them, cloudy nasty pool and hot tub, and the terrible shower. Be careful if you have kids; the shower went from ice cold to scalding hot over and over and no water pressure at all. I never felt clean the whole stay here. Towels and in-room coffee were hard to come by.
The only thing this place had going for it was the location....for the expensive price, I expected a lot more. We wasted our vacation funds on this place. I'll find a different place to stay on my next trip. Not impressed at all!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review for us. We would like to apolgize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less than standard experience you had while staying with us. We strive to do our very best and take guest satisfaction very seriously. Please be assured that appropriate steps are beign taken to correct any issues and improvments are always being done. We are aware that an experience such as yours gives an impression of our resort that is difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that this is not the normal experience of a guest staying with us and ask that you try us again in the future.
Comments such as yours are hard to hear but vital to our continued success and improvements and for that we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    269
    141
    120
    273
See reviews for
381
371
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Everyone at the hotel was courteous and the facilities were perfect for us.the wifi was spotty at times but it always has been that way in Myrtle wherever we have stayed.That is the only thing that was wrong at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for such a great review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all the ammenties. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband booked our reservations as a surprise for a weekend trip and boy was it ever. When we arrived as I always do I asked to view the room and thank goodness I did because it was the one of the worst places I've ever attempted to stay in. To start with, there were pubic hairs all over the bedding and when we pulled back the sheets there was a large brownish/yellow stain on the bed. The bathroom smelled and had flooded at some point because the cabinetry was all warped and rotten from water damage. The drawers had all broken handles and wouldn't shut. The cover to the AC was hanging off, and the furniture and floors were dirty. I told my husband after a 6 hr drive that I would go home before I slept there. We went back to front desk to speak with the "manager" who was a 20 year old kid who told us that we could change rooms but that they were all the same and "you get what you get". He refused to refund our deposit which was $174 and refused to give us the name of his supervisor saying "I don't know who he is he just signs my paychecks." When we realized this kid had no moral fibers in his body we decided to leave and find a clean place to stay. We did find another place to stay but we are out a lot of money. I cant imagine how the owner of this hotel tolerates the staff being so rude and flat out lying to customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less than standard experience you had while staying as a guest. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level. We can assure you that steps have been placed to correct any issues. It is always disturbing to hear fo a dissatisfied guest and we would like to hear more from you about your stay. At your convenience you can reach the Assistand General Manager or Manager at 1-800-843-3466. Comments such as yours are painful to hear but vital to our continued success and improvements and for that we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After we overcame the initial shock regarding the condition on the hotel and it's furnishings we had a good time. This place needs a major updating. The staff was friendly & helpful. The breakfast buffet was awesome! The pool party was fun & very entertaining. Loved the location & proximity to shopping and attractions. Definitely not a place for the kids but we liked that it was more adult oriented.

Room Tip: Ocean front will have more noise from the pool parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review for us. We would like to apologize for any issues you had, we are upgrading and consistantly improving and appreciate your comments as they are important to us. We are glad that you enjoyed the ammenties and we hope to see you again the next time you come to the Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was just like everyone else on this site reading the good and bad reviews. I should have listened to the BAD ones. This place was disgusting! The pictures must have been taken when the place frist opened because it is no where near as nice and clean as the pics. I didnt even want to touch the doors because they were so dirty! It smelled in the hallways, the elevators are super slow, the beds were full of sand from previous visitors, there was a huge hole in the sleeper sofa because the murphy bed doesnt actually fit in the room and I had ants crawling on me when I sat on the couch. The pool was constantly packed by young kids and honestly it was so dirty, I wouldnt have stepped foot in it anyways. Its nothing but dirty and loud and a dump. All of the good reviews must be from young college kids who dont know any better and dont care because theyre always drunk but trust me, this is not a nice place to stay. We checked out after 1 night. Will never stay there again or recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy day to post a review for us. We take our guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level and for this we apologize. We can assure you that steps are being taken to correct any issues. We strive to do our very best and exceed our guest expectations and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we may show you this. We have an opportunity to grow and become better and for that we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we git our room very fast.. but as we were looking around the room was dirty..we called frobt desk and they didnt have another room..so tey sent naid up to clean..we always had to wait on bath towls but being beachfront that could be why..the hotel needs many updates but was ok for the money..its a very nice location and parking was nice...when we checked in and out everyine was nice but my 17 year old forgit her purse in one of the desk drawers and when we went back to get it all her mobey in her purse was gone..the maid said she didnt see any money...it was only 30.00 but still it was gone..but i guess thats what she gets for forgetting it..this hotel isnt all that kid friendly u have to go ti her sister hotel down the street for the kids to play...but all in all it wasnt too bad!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We would like to sincerly apologize for any issues you had while staying with us. We would like you to know that we have passed your comments onto the appropriate managers and can assure you that we have investigated your situation thoroughly and have taken corrective action. It is our goal to ensure that every guest feels welcome during their stay and we use every comments both good and bad as ways to constantly improve. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely the adult place to be in Myrtle Beach. The staff and guests are great, fun pool parties and entertainment BUT the hotel itself is very poorly maintained. The rooms, bathrooms and kitchens are old, the pool towels are a joke, no shampoo or conditioner are provided and so far we've been here two days and no one has cleaned our room. The swim up bar smells like a dirty foot, not pleasant at all. For the price I would've preferred staying in a Marriott and just coming here for the pool parties. Went to Masters gentlemen's club and it was great. Hotel Blue get a makeover and do it quick, the little things are the ones that count, cleanliness goes a longggg way.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review for us, We will certaintly pass on our comments to the appropriate managers. We listen to all our comments both good and bad, and use them as a way to constantly look for way to deliver an outstanding experience. We thank you for your comments on the staff and will pass those on as well. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.