We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tharp great location excellant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blue to your Saves list
Hotel Blue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Tropical Winds)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$60 Food Credit!
Ranked #109 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
“Tharp great location excellant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have no complaints and we have another trip planned and will be staying here then. The staff was very nice. The housekeepers were extremely nice and were very accommodating to our needs. The room was clean. The view was fantastic. We enjoyed our stay so well we recommended Hotel Blue to them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind words about your stay at hotel blue. We will share your comments with the staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your return.. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    307
    160
    139
    301
See reviews for
435
407
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our 2nd stay at Hotel Blue. Great room on the 14th floor and very nice housekeeping staff and front desk staff. We will be back next year for another stay. Nice hot tub. Very relaxing. Nice parking deck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for us. We just love our returning guest and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are excited to pass your comments onto the staff as well. We look forward to your return.. Call us when you are ready for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my family first time residing at Hotel Blue, and it was a great experience. The bed was comfortable; the room was spacious for my family. The kitchen was small but cozy; my family and I enjoyed our visit, and will come and visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for posting a positive review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is nice and was perfect for our family this trip. Our only complaint was that we did not get the daily maid services usually provided. Granted we were there during Thanksgiving, we still expected housekeeping to bring new towels, make the beds, empty garbage cans...etc. We called the front desk the first morning and they said that house keeping got to go home early due to the Thanksgiving holiday.. thats fine, we understand that. But, the second morning, we still did not recieve the service! Both days required calls to the front desk for clean towels and trash removal. For what we pay to stay at hotels, you at least excpect better housekeeping services.

Room Tip: We had a ocean view 1 bedroom suite for 5 people. We were very comfortable and the kitchen was handy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review for us. We do apologize that you didnt receive houskeeping and have passed that onto the housekeeping manager.. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

First time staying here and probably wouldn't come back. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights, our suite was spacious (bed could be more comfortable), the bathroom wasn't tidy clean. The kitchen was tiny but totally functional, living room was spacious as well but carpet had a large amount of stains, our porch was oceanfront so we did have a great view. The elevators and halls smell smoke, the pool could be cleaner but the island bar is a plus. Hot tub was my favorite, lazy river was always full of kids so I just enjoyed a little. The private gate in the pool area that gives access to the beach was great but overall I think I would rather stay somewhere else when in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for us.. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool bar and hope that you will stay with us again in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our second time staying at Hotel Blue. Both times were good.Housekeeping was spot-on with plenty of towels,t,p,,coffee and always clean .Check in and out was a breeze and front desk staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we just love our returning guest and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.. We look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, N.C.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We always have a great time at Hotel Blue. We will stay here every time it is possible. This is the BEST place for us to stay. We love it here. The front staff are always very friendly and knowledgeable about everything. They always go above and beyond the call. Housekeeping staff are very efficient and are always friendly and make our stay more pleasant. The rooms are always spotless and in perfect order. We have never had any problems with our stays at Hotel Blue. We SHALL return.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a great review for us. We are exicited to pass this along to the staff... We love our returning guest and look forward to seeing you as soon as you can come visit us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#104 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#105 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#111 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#110 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#12 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.