We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were in MB looking to buy a home..... April 5th-8th 2013 Busy Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef at South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Reef at South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Reef at South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We were in MB looking to buy a home..... April 5th-8th 2013 Busy Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

So, we have stayed at four other places over the years we have been coming to MB. Some good, some bad. What I have learned is even if I post a great review you really have to be your own judge because we have stayed at places that people can not say enough great things about and had a horrible experience. That being said..... We are moving to MB in June 2013 and we came last minute April 5-8 2013 to look at houses. We were on a very tight budget and found a different place online very close in name to this one. We had planned to book there and then found a site that had bed bug complaints listed in MB.... Be it true or not, I would not be able to sleep if I knew there was a chance of what someone put was true about that. So we actually seen someone else put a review on that site about The Reef so we checked out their web site. So, after everything we read it seemed that yes, it may be a bit older, but that it was still very well taken care of and very clean and that was what mattered the most to us. So, they had a special going on at the time we needed to book, pay for two nights and get the third night free....... YES.... Great deal. We had a suite that had a queen bed when you first came in with tv then you entered the galley kitchen and bathroom area then you entered the living room that had another queen bed as soon as you entered. Then a couch, table, and tv....

So we paid $220 and some change for this room for three nights at a busy time of April.

I say we got a steal of a deal...... Bathroom had two sinks and had the toilet and shower separate from the sinks and that was very nice. The kitchen was perfect for what we needed, full size clean frige, micro, and small stove. Had all the kitchenware we needed. The beds were clean and comfortable....

The view was amazing. Yes, some of the stuff in the room was older but was still kept in good shape, nothing broken, no rust, no mold, no smells...... Those are big things that other places do have.

We did not use the pools but did go to see them. Very clean and nice size. Had a game room. Had very reasonable vending machines.

When we checked in late Friday evening the gentleman working the check in desk was very friendly. He stated that they were fully booked so parking might be a bit tricky. He told us to go ahead and leave our vehicle at the front door, get unpacked and into our room and then come down and if I need help finding a parking spot he would help. They had three different lots to park in. We actually found a spot no problem in the under parking area, actually we had no issues the entire time with finding a space.

So if you want to listen to me then I would say stay here. We enjoyed it very much. The people working at The Reef were all so very friendly. It was very clean. And one of the big things for us that we sometimes have problems with, we had tons of bathroom towels......

I don't think you will be disappointed staying here. Very reasonable prices. We got more than our moneys worth.

Room Tip: We couldn't imagine a bad room because they are all oceanfront from what we seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear THMP2013,
Welcome to Myrtle Beach! We hope that your relocation goes smoothly. Thank you for taking a chance and staying at a different hotel. We also appreciated you taking the time to write an honest review of your experience. We hope to serve your family and friends when they come to visit you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    79
    36
    41
    73
See reviews for
156
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ingleside, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Reef for the winter for the third year and totally enjoyed our stay. The staff are most accommodating, especially the housekeeping ladies Sandra and Lupa, who are more than willing to go out of their way to insure that your visit is comfortable. The desk staff are also very kind, especially Ed and Glen. The hotel is always clean, the rooms modern and well taken care off and the pool area is also clean. Thanks to all for a great time. Pat & Mike

Room Tip: Ask for Ed or Glen. They will both try their best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Patricia S,
Thank you for being our extended guest. Our team was so pleased to have earned a positive review from a valued guest who stayed with us for several weeks. On behalf of all of the staff, it was our pleasure to serve you, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

When I read a bad review here that the room was dirty I am shocked and wonder if they stayed at the Reef we stayed at. We stayed for two month last year and again this year and are booked for next year. The facility is older but very very clean. We had a two bed suite and just love it. The cleaning staff are great and always there to see you have everything you need. The Lobby is always clean and the staff are great...all of them.
They put in new furniture this year and it was great. It is ocean front. all the rooms. I would recommend it to anyone.
Canadian snow bird

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Janet D,
Thank you for writing a review of the Reef. Having stayed at the hotel for two months, you certainly have an insight into the cleanliness and customer service that we strive to deliver. To earn a great review from a long term guest is very rewarding. Thank you, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Nc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in a Suite and found it to be clean and maintained. Had ample accommodations. to sleep all in my party. The staff was friendly, courteous and very helpful. I had trouble with my door card, and the desk person made sure my problem was resolved. I would diffidently stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Suites are situated so that one bedroom area may be closed off from the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Gary B.,
Thank you for staying at the Reef and for taking the time to write a review. Gary, your review is a good reminder that we should spread the word about the importance of identifying the number of people who will be in your room when you make the reservation. This allows our front desk agents to assist with the best room to meet a guests' needs. We're glad that you and your guests were comfortable. We hope that you return real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I must love it I always come back! I have stayed at the Reef many times since the early 80's. I have seen it go through only one reovation that i can recall so it is pretty out dated. I can recall the pool area redone once and it always seems to have sewer trouble in the lower garage but let me tell you the great stuff! Everyroom faces the ocean only yards away. There is a very large pool between the sand and ocean! Everyone gets a balcony that you can sit on to watch the waves, sun come up or folks shell hunting! There is an inside pool where in the summer months you can swim from the bath warm water to the cool outside water! Two jacuzzis and a shallow kiddy pool! You can also use the neighboring properties lazy river! everyroom has a stove microwave frig and sometimes dishes and cooking utinsils. My kids loved it when they were little and i love it now that i am older! I have even met guest returning and all grown up whom i saw as children. The Reef is locacted at the lower part of South Myrtle Beach on the grand strand so you get to get miss most of the traffic when you want to head for Murrels inlet for some good seafood. They have a laundry, bar, place to eat or just walk across the street to a store and stock your room fridge! Yes shes a little worn but hey so am I! I watched her survive Hurricane Hugo, She has location and a price that can't be beat! Can't wait to stay again next month! See you soon! Jim Montgomery

Room Tip: Elevators are a little slow so if you are in a hurry get a lower room! Otherwise they have a room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Jim M,
Thank you for being a loyal guest of the Reef! Often, it really is like welcoming old friends back with us. We realize that there are many choices in lodging, so we will strive hard to continue to earn your business. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We checked into the reef for a spring break vacation with our kids. We got to the room and found it to be extremely small, outdated, unkempt, dirty, and overall just disgusting. As if that wasn't bad enough when we pulled the top covers back off the bed there were hairs all over the bed.
We called the front desk an were informed by the manager, Ed, that the housekeepers had left and if we wanted we could move to another room. We went to look at that room before moving and found hair on the bed, again, and dried blood on the sheets.
We opted to just cancel the rest of our stay and move to another hotel.
We spoke with two other managers, Andy, and another one upon checkout and the customer service was appalling. I have never experienced such a lack of care and concern and lackadaisical attitudes towards the guests. We have since moved to another property (the Sandy Beach Resort) and are thrilled with the new accommodations. The staff has been lovely, the rooms are immaculate and spacious, and we are extremely happy that we moved.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Macally81,
We deeply regret that you were unhappy with your stay at the Reef. While we do not claim to be a new hotel, the entire staff and management prides ourselves on providing clean, comfortable lodging. The front desk staff works hard to strive to make sure that all guests have a wonderful vacation experience, and it is rare that we receive complaints about guest service. Again, we regret that we did not meet your expectations. When we read your review, we immediately consulted with the Executive Housekeeper and the housekeeping log. Regrettably, we were unable to identify the source of your complaint. We are glad that you found a hotel that better suited your needs. We wish you and your family a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Alan and Glenn were extremely nice and pleasant. I didn't have a reservation and Alan recommended a special to me which was great since it saved me money and was a bigger room than i expected. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear LeslieC121112,
Thank you for staying at the Reef! We know that it can be a little uncertain when you don't have prior stay experience with a hotel. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful as it lets them know that during non peak demand times, we offer Walk In rates. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef at South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#92 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#92 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef at South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.