We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirtiest rooms I have ever seen.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef at South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Reef at South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Reef at South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dirtiest rooms I have ever seen.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We checked into the reef for a spring break vacation with our kids. We got to the room and found it to be extremely small, outdated, unkempt, dirty, and overall just disgusting. As if that wasn't bad enough when we pulled the top covers back off the bed there were hairs all over the bed.
We called the front desk an were informed by the manager, Ed, that the housekeepers had left and if we wanted we could move to another room. We went to look at that room before moving and found hair on the bed, again, and dried blood on the sheets.
We opted to just cancel the rest of our stay and move to another hotel.
We spoke with two other managers, Andy, and another one upon checkout and the customer service was appalling. I have never experienced such a lack of care and concern and lackadaisical attitudes towards the guests. We have since moved to another property (the Sandy Beach Resort) and are thrilled with the new accommodations. The staff has been lovely, the rooms are immaculate and spacious, and we are extremely happy that we moved.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Macally81,
We deeply regret that you were unhappy with your stay at the Reef. While we do not claim to be a new hotel, the entire staff and management prides ourselves on providing clean, comfortable lodging. The front desk staff works hard to strive to make sure that all guests have a wonderful vacation experience, and it is rare that we receive complaints about guest service. Again, we regret that we did not meet your expectations. When we read your review, we immediately consulted with the Executive Housekeeper and the housekeeping log. Regrettably, we were unable to identify the source of your complaint. We are glad that you found a hotel that better suited your needs. We wish you and your family a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    79
    37
    44
    74
See reviews for
160
65
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Alan and Glenn were extremely nice and pleasant. I didn't have a reservation and Alan recommended a special to me which was great since it saved me money and was a bigger room than i expected. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear LeslieC121112,
Thank you for staying at the Reef! We know that it can be a little uncertain when you don't have prior stay experience with a hotel. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful as it lets them know that during non peak demand times, we offer Walk In rates. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our 2nd year at the Reef We stayed Jan. & Feb this year. the front end staff were friendly and helpful (especially liked Ed) who also ran our bingo night. The cleaning staff is Terrific!!! Sandra, Luba and Julia were one of the reasons we stayed there. They were always friendly, helpful and saw to our needs. We always stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. The only thing we aren't thrilled with is the living room furniture which was not the most comfortable but, the friendly staff make up for it. We also loved Makos. We are looking forward to our next Winter and are hoping to stay 3 months. Lou & Shirley Calabrese

Room Tip: Talk to Front end Staff they are very Helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear ShirleyC,
Thank you for being a winter guest at the Reef. First, we miss you all, and can't wait to see you next year. We appreciated you taking the time to write a review and for mentioning our staff members. We feel so fortunate to work with a great team. Take good care, and consider liking us on Facebook so that you can keep up with all the Reef news.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton ontario canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Reef Resort Hotel in Myrtle Beach SC during the months of January and February 2013. We found the front desk staff charming, funny and accommodating during our entire stay. The Housekeeping staff, especially Sandra and Luba, we awesome and very personable. Oh yes, funny gals too. They met our needs with a smile and greetings whenever we needed anything. We will miss them very much. The Hotel was always clean and quiet, which we like most of all. Also, the beds were very comfortable. We have stayed there two years in a row and already have our reservation for next January & February. Keep up the good work y'all. Oh yea, even the Maintenance staff were funny and most helpful whenever we needed a helping hand. Thanks George and Walter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Maggie C,
We so appreciated you returning to the Reef again this year, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were kind to mention our staff, and in particular to acknowledge the housekeeping team. We are so fortunate to have such wonderful team members. Can't wait to see you next year. We miss our winter guests!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

NEVER STAYED IN PENTHOUSE !!!!! but what the heck sure glad we did r
eally nice huge kitchen and living room w/fire place nice beach front 3 flat screen tvs 2 bed rooms .indoor pool,hot tub,game room,great resturant,very friendly staff, we have allready booked a stay for our anniversary

Room Tip: penthouse one has large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sherriek0616,
Thank you for celebrating your birthday at the oceanfront Reef Resort, and we appreciated you writing a review on the Penthouse. Myrtle Beach is a great destination for girlfriend's weekends, birthday celebrations and other fun events. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I travel quite a bit, I've stayed at many hotels in the Myrtle Beach area and I must say this is by far the worst! Let's start with the pros!

-Good location.

Now on to the cons!

-Horribly dirty rooms (found old cupcake wrappers, molded bread, what looked like cocaine, and even a thong in the room right in front of the TV.)
-Unkept bathrooms (toilet wouldn't flush, sink handle broke off, no hot water for shower)
-Dirty beds (stains of sheets, pillow covers, etc.)
-Horrid room service.
I cant even go on, it's making me sick to think about it.

It was so dirty, and the employees were so lazy, we went to the closest department store and bought out of our own pockets a vacuum cleaner, air freshener, and a little safe. It took my family of 5 that was there 2 1/2 hours to clean our room into livable status. We left early, left a nasty complaint, and they never even acknowledged our presence. We ended up paying half the price at a Holiday Inn down the street for 100x better room and service. We stayed there for the week.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Isprintz,
Upon reviewing the housekeeping and manager on duty logs, as well as speaking with the team leaders, I could not find documentation of the complaints that you have noted on this review. I apologize that you indicated cleanliness issues in your room, and this is highly unusual, as you will note from the reviews of others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our group booked this facility for our golf trip. It was satisfactory for our basic needs, as out of room most of time. It is well worn and should be considered for demolition and rebuilt. After all, there are no more beachfront lots. However, every staff member we encountered was of great attitude and helpful. I would return as a golf group, but my wife would turn on her heels and retreat quickly. For golfers: Our first day was about 45 minute drive to Oster Bay, we played 36 and it was a nice track. Second day was Heritage, no complaints there either. Next was Legends Heathland and finally Legends Parkland, two of three 18 hole courses there. The facility was exceedingly busy but well run except for one little hiccup. Upon arrival, we were told there was an hour and 15 minute frost delay. After a great breakfast, we scattered, some to pro shop, some putting green, some to cars. They later shortened the delay, but no staff told us and no loudspeaker for calling out. One of us went to the starter after an hour and was asked "Where have you been?" So they had sent out others ahead of us and the result was we were delayed guite awhile. Then when we got to the first tee, again was asked the same question. Hint, play the forward tees, and you may all want to agree to drop out of the volcano deep and high walled bunkers.

Room Tip: I noticed the elevator had a button for PH (penthouse?) Being costlier, it may be less worn and upd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Terry W,
Thank you for staying at the Reef of Myrtle Beach. We regret that your golf outing was not satisfactory, but hope that you will return to the beautiful Myrtle Beach area again in the future. We appreciated you acknowledging our staff and their winning attitudes. Again, the Reef does not claim to be new and our prices reflect that. We appreciate our guests, and will continue to strive to not just meet, but exceed expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef at South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef at South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.